We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

When you first walk in to this hotel, it looks gorgeous. However, looks can be a bit deceiving. We were checked in to a room that should not have been rented out at that time. The room had just had preventative maintenance done and the sofa in the sitting room was still damp. I pulled back the sheets on both beds only to discover hair. The front desk clerk I spoke to could only apologize and said there was not much he could do. He did offer to move us, but not after unpacking 3 nights worth of luggage for 3 people. The next morning, I did speak to the hotel manager who took care of everything.

The next evening I happen to pull back the shower curtain only to find hair in there. Was the bath tub ever cleaned? There were also stains on the carpet near the sink.

The hot foods on the breakfast, eggs, sausage, and biscuits, tasted horrible.

Needless to say, I was not impressed. I will be finding another place to stay the next time we visit Portland.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Mark B,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guests. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good points:
-Convenient location. The hotel is near everything but off the main road therefore away from traffic noise. South Portland is a great place to stay for those who don't want to pay the exorbitant hotel rates of downtown Portland.
-Quick, easy check-in with friendly and efficient staff.
-Well-equipped room with refrigerator, coffee maker, plates, silverware, lots of pillows and towels.
-Tote bag with snacks and water included. (We were unclear if it was free at first but clarified with reception.)
-They fulfilled my IHG rewards account request for a room on a high floor away from the elevator. However, it was right across the hall from the ice machine which was noisy but it didn’t keep me awake or anything.

Bad points:
-Breakfast, which was included in our stay, ends at 9:30. I'm a late riser but that just seems unnecessarily early, especially on the weekend. As a result, we missed it.
-The room had some design flaws. The sink was outside of the shower/toilet room. That's fine, but as a result the shower room was quite small. Also, since there was a living room and bedroom separated by a half wall they put the TV in the middle between the two, so no one has a good angle to view the screen. The TV does not swivel and you have to move the whole thing.
-We didn't watch much TV anyway because it took several seconds to switch from one channel to the next. This may seem minor but is pretty annoying over time when you do not have a TV guide and must flip through the channels.
-There was a mildew stain on the tile grout just outside the shower. Some bleach and a scrub brush could fix that.
-For most of our stay (2 nights) there was a housekeeping trolley parked in the vending/ice machine room. It blocked the vending machine almost entirely. It seemed a little careless and inconsiderate.
Anyway, not a terrible stay, not a great stay, just o.k.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Not_from_here617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Not_from_here617,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is great to hear that you have not encountered any problems at check in. On the other hand, I would like to apologize that some items are not working in the room. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One exit from downtown Portland, this hotel was clean and comfortable, with an accommodating and friendly staff. Prices were MUCH better than staying in Portland itself. Breakfast was the typical HIE fare, but plentiful. We stayed 3 nights, no problems at all. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vpmad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights this past week. Everything went well! The breakfast was pretty good... the only problem was that they ran out of a few items... but it was still good. Our room was big and spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJF549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The worst experience I've had at a Holiday Inn. Started with the receptionist at check in. What a grouch!! Them she stuck us in the room by the elevator! Noisy!!! I'm sure there were plenty of other rooms, the lot wasn't even half full!!Bed was as hard as a rock. This was not what I expected when I decided to stay there. For the money we spent we could have gone to a cheaper hotel and gotten a better room and saved money. Very disappointing since we have stayed at Holiday Inns before and had fabulous experiences. Won't stay there again, will go to the Marriott next time.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Stephanie K,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We would like to apologize for the issues you had during check-in and the room accommodations you had was less than satisfactory. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived with 3 grandkids in tow. Requested roll away. It arrived with no bedding. Pull out sofa had no bedding. Had to call front desk. Bedding arrived still very damp. Called front desk again. Blankets provided for roll away and pull out had holes in them.....appeared to be cigarette burns. Had to make the beds myself. No mattress pads on either pull out or roll away. Mattresses very iffy. Sheets and pillowcases, as well as bedding were well worn and not the crisp bedding I have experienced in other Holiday Inns. I paid for a suite and felt as though I was at Motel 6. Cannot recommend this particular Holiday Inn

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Deborah W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I don't recommend staying here. There are several good things about this hotel, but they are all useless because of the cleanliness and smell of the room. Although the staff was nice when I complained, the room was "cleaned" twice more by someone who obviously had vision and scent issues because it only slightly changed from thoroughly disgusting to less thoroughly disgusting. I can't say I would ever stay there again and they have soiled (pun intended) our family's view of Holiday Inn hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisatravels4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Lisatravels4608,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our staff commendable. However, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again here in South Portland.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
862 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#7 of 13 in South Portland
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: £66 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing