We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I would go back”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There was a group of 6 of us who went to Portland for a one night stay. Two adults were in one room that had a king size bed and the remaining 4 adults stayed in another room with 2 double beds and a roll away cot.
We booked the room on hotels.com so we got a small discount. On our way up to Maine we called the hotel to see about an early check-in and they said right away that that would be fine. They couldn't seem to find our reservation at first because instead of the last name we booked it under it was simply the last name of "S" in their system (not even the first letter of the name). Not sure how that happened but they found it right after with no additional issues. The check-in process was quick and pleasant and we made it up to our room in no time. Although the front desk crew consisted of 1-2 people they seemed quiet, but pleasant (didn't speak much).
We went up to our room right near the elevators on the 2nd floor. It seemed cleaned and well stocked for items we would need. There was a mini fridge and microwave, though we did not use them. We quickly found an ice machine as well in the hall.
The bathroom was well kept....the only thing I did notice was the yellow coloring right around the back of the upper toilet tank. We were thinking it might have been cleaning chemicals mixing with wall paper after some time. Did not look "dirty". There were plenty of towels, washcloths, and small toiletry samples.
We went into Portland that night via the hotel shuttle. The driver was nice and showed us a couple places to go out to. We ate the Sebago Brewing Company which was great. We went to a couple bars/pubs around the area but did not find one we really liked. It was a lot of college kids and "hipster" places. We did not stay out long and called the driver's cell phone to come get us again. He was pleasant and timely and offered a lot of help and information about the area.
The only major issue we seemed to have was the roll away cot kept collapsing on the adult male that was attempting to sleep on it. He ended up taking the thin mattress and putting it on the floor instead. We did not let the staff know as it was late and not a huge deal....but it definitely was not the safest cot in the world.
Breakfast in the morning was a buffet with pastries, fruit, eggs, sausage, bagels, cereal, coffee, juices. It was all hot and well stocked. The staff were attentive to refilling any of the food/beverages and keeping on top of the tables for cleanliness.
This hotel is right across from the Maine Mall (walking) although we did not go over there. If in the area again however, I would definitely try that hotel again. We did not have really one bad complaint and enjoyed ourselves and our stay.

Room Tip: There is no good view from any of the rooms. Really you are looking at a parking lot on any side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamFam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    245
    83
    46
    6
See reviews for
246
244
55
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed at this Hampton Inn because my flight was cancelled (a common occurrence in the summer), and I wanted someplace close for an early morning departure. The front desk staff (Josh) was patient and helpful, the hotel is walking distance to the Maine mall and also provides a shuttle to local restaurants. The linens were soft, the breakfast was out already when I hit the lobby at 5:15 am, and I saw there were breakfasts to go for other early risers. (I didn't know about this, or I would have ordered one.)

I definitely recommend the hotel, whether for easy access to the airport or a comfortable stay in the suburbs while on business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Went up for a golf weekend. Didn't realize that it was the same weekend as the Old Port Festival. Hampton Inn Waterfront was fully booked so settled fort he Hampton Inn Portland-Airport. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Staff was friendly and informative. Hot breakfast was included and was quite good. I drove up so I did not experience their shuttle service. A free ride to Downtown Portland would have been the icing on the cake... overall, no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank BCK_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Conveniently located for the Portland mall and the Portland airport. Very easy to find. The staff were not very friendly. We did the park and fly and had given our keys to the front desk. We quickly realized one of us left their carry on in the trunk. When we went back to the front desk the staff member tried to say it was "too hard" for him to find our key because he had "already filed it". It literally took him two seconds to reach into the drawer behind him and find the keys after we insisted. BAD SERVICE.

Also, for $230 for a one night stay and under 7 nights park in Maine, you would expect better service and queen size beds rather then double beds would be nice.

Breakfast and facilities were stand for Hampton Inn.

We love Hampton Inn and have never really had a bad stay at one before this. We will probably not ever stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This Hampton Inn is a very central place to stay if you are traveling on the I-95 or coming here for a shopping trip. The front desk staff are very friendly and check in is a breeze. The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed with comfortable beds and pillows. The hotel is also quiet and we stayed there on a Friday night. The breakfast which was complementary was everything you need to start off your day. The cookies at night were yummy and I really appreciated the selection of teas- both herbal and regular that were available. The location you cannot beat! You can walk to the mall and many restaurants. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again when staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delightedtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were traveling to Brunswick Maine with our kids for a college graduation. We were very happy with the Hampton Inn. Very nice accommodations, comfortable bed, nice large tv and beautiful bathroom. Very impressed with the selection at the complementary breakfast, both hot and cold foods. We would definitely stay at a Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hampton Inn in Portland Maine at the Airport was very comfortable and friendly. The rooms like always were clean and very well keep. The staff was tremendous and would go out of their way to make sure you stay is as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors and away from elevator are much more enjoyable & Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.6 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Address: 171 Philbrook Ave, South Portland, ME 04106-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#2 Family Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel South Portland
Hampton Inn South Portland
South Portland Hampton Inn
Portland Airport Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing