We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Thomaston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weskeag Inn - B&B at the Water
Tempe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost perfect B&B”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We loved the location and the old house. One reviewer complained about the "spooky decor", but we found it pleasant and quaint. Our room (Carmen) was small, but adequate with an included modern bathroom and a somewhat limited view of the water.

Breakfast was excellent each day -- Hazel puts a lot of thought into it and we ate as much as we wanted, and plenty of coffee. There were few guests when we were there, so I don't know how well they do with a crowd. They can sleep up to 20 people, and said that they often have that many in the high season.

The surrounding area was also very nice and pleasant to walk or drive through. As an engineer I found the "reversing falls" fascinating, as the tide rushes through under the bridge, reversing direction twice a day. We looked at other B&Bs in central Maine, but Google Street View showed them on busy streets or far from water. This one is as nice as it looks on Street View.

The price is a little high, but seems to be normal for the area.

The only caveat I would mention is that if you like a quiet breakfast reading your newspaper or chatting with your companions or the other guests, you might be frustrated. The owner is full of stories and likes to tell them. But you can learn lots about the area and get good advice on where to go, and lots of people will enjoy the stories.

Room Tip: Any room would be quiet, but the view is better out the back. Third floor rooms have a slightly bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

You will probably love or hate the decor -- flowered wall paper and lacy things everywhere. The house is very old but the bathrooms are totally modern and very clean. We found the beds to be very comfortable. Beautiful view out of many rooms and off the back porch. The pictures and descriptions on their web site give you a good sense of the property. The owners extend a great deal of hospitality - perhaps more than you bargained for. They like to talk to their guests and it can be difficult to politely excuse yourself. Compared to other Inn's this seemed a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This B&B needs updating ! When you enter is smells like old smelly grandma who needs her depends changed. The decor is spooky and gross. There is a wedding dress and creepy old photos hanging on the walls along with other outdated looks. Our room was a blast from the 1980's and so was the bed, god my back hurt for two days after. The towels are kmart specials and the handtowels don't match, they look like rags. There were more creepy old people on the walls that stared at me all night. The view of the water was marginal the best view was the parking lot from our room. The breakfast is at 8am and runs until the food runs out, great if you are down at 8:30am you could have no food becasuse they ran out, what the heck am I paying for, overpriced in my opinion, $150.00 a night, ha. We decided not to have breakfast, eating in their kitchen was not appealing to me, they should have served it in the dining room, too informal the kitchen, felt like I should make my own breakfast. The hosts are elderely and we arrived at 9:30 pm clearly past their bedtime, the owner was sleepy and gave us one set of wrong keys, and pointed to where our room was instead of escorting us there. They seem nice but boring and really are to casual about running a business, if the price had been lower this would make sense. When we left the owner was hovering over us to pay, we wanted to pack the car first becasue it was trickey and took time, we wanted to say a proper goodbye and pay but without the luggage getting in the way, she made us feel like deadbeats. Over all this is an average B&B but I felt the price did not warant what was offered.

Room Tip: The Savanah room is the better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cauliflower_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Weskeag is a great B&B not too far from Rockland, ME where the Maine Lobster Fesitval takes place. The owners of Weskeag- Hazel and Gray- are very nice and hospitable. The homemade breakfast was yummy and our room was clean and comfortable room. The porch in the back has a great riverside view too. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skowhegan, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The Weskeag Inn B & B was very attractive and comfortable with a beautiful view of the river, as well as, the harbor. Gray and Hazel were very gracious hosts and so interesting to talk to....we enjoyed hearing their stories. Our delicious breakfast included fresh blueberries, melons, etc., crabmeat quiche, yummy muffins, juice, coffee or tea. Our room was well decorated with many cute personal touches. This is a wonderful B & B to visit!!
Anna & Ron

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arwilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Thomaston
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
3.4 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
112 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,278 reviews
5.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
5.1 mi away
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weskeag Inn - B&B at the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weskeag Inn - B&B at the Water

Property: Weskeag Inn - B&B at the Water
Address: Route 73 (14 Elm Street), P.O. Box 213, South Thomaston, ME 04858
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > South Thomaston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Thomaston
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1830's and filled with antiques, the Weskeag Inn has a very romantic charm. The location, at the edge of the salty Weskeag estuary at the reversing falls in South Thomaston village, is unforgettable! It is on Route 73; described as one of "Maine's Most Scenic Roads" in a book by John Gibson. The St. George Peninsula, reaching out into Penobscot Bay, between Thomaston and Rockland is the best! There are spectacular ocean views, access to beaches, art galleries and beautiful things to inspire an artist to paint or photograph and two lighthouses that you can go right up to. The villages of Owls Head, South Thomaston, Spruce Head, St. George Tenants Harbor and Port Clyde are wonderful each in their own way, and, at the end, the ferry to Monhegan Island waits for you. The reversing falls behind the Inn is a constant source of fascination! In winter, we love to watch the ice breaking off and flowing by - often with a seagull or two along for the ride. In the spring when the stripers come in, the banks are lined with fishermen; and in the summer we swim there and sometimes ride the current in an innertube. The rest of the time we watch the birds that fish here - great blue herons, egrets, eagles, osprey and of course many kinds of sea gulls. We hope that you will join us on your next vacation or long weekend. There's a deck with a view, a spacious back lawn that ends at the Weskeag River's reversing falls, lots of books and videos to enjoy in the library, and a piano waiting to be played. This setting also makes a perfect spot for an outdoor wedding! We also offer high speed wireless internet access so you can check your e-mail or do some online shopping. Cable TV is available in every room. We hope you'll come and stay with us while you enjoy "Maine the way life should be." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weskeag Inn - B&B At The Water Maine/South Thomaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing