We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good for breakfast...just coffee”

Milagro Coffee & Espresso
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not good for breakfast...just coffee”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good coffee, but not a place for food. We went here hoping for a quick breakfast and coffee on our way to our activities for the day. My expectations were to be able to get a cinammon roll, muffins, bagels and other baked goods for a quick light breakfast. The place is small with limited choices on the baked goods. They were out of cinammon rolls, so our sons opted for a blueberry muffin (we were in Maine after all), but the muffin was dry and you couldn't taste the blueberries. I also tried a scone and biscotti, both not that good. My husband wanted something heartier so ordered the egg/sausage breakfast burrito they had listed on the menu. It was pretty bad...very small, hardly any egg or sausage, mostly potatoes, smothered with what tasted like jarred "pace picante" salsa and too much sour cream. Coffee and cappuccino were both good though if you are just looking for some coffee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsmiths4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilagrosSWH, Owner at Milagro Coffee & Espresso, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
This traveler is missing the whole point of the appeal of Mt. Desert Island. Here on MDI we pride ourselves on all of the small independently ran business. No McDonalds, no Burger King, no Walmart, etc. The facts are we have 18 seats inside our shop and several seating options outside. We would have to say this is an average size for a coffee shop (or even a bit bigger). In regards to baked goods, in August we offered 5 varieties of muffins, 5 varieties of bagels, 3 varieties of scones, 3 varieties of gluten free baked goods, granola, at least 6 varieties of sweet treats and even dog biscuits. All of this baked fresh daily in a kitchen that is roughly 5x5…pretty incredible…no? Considering Southwest Harbor has a year-round population of around 1,700 people we feel this is a pretty extensive menu.

Fact…our blueberry muffins (made with low fat yogurt) are loaded with Maine blueberries. So much so that they often “fall” after baking because they are too moist. Now, if this traveler selected our gluten free blueberry muffin then the texture would have been more like a crumb cake (yet still loaded with Maine blueberries).

Fact… our breakfast burrito is made on a 12” tortilla. In the burrito mixture you will find two scrambled eggs. It is a vegetarian burrito (keeping things healthy) and meat is optional for those who desire it. If you opt for sausage then a 1.5oz pork sausage patty is added to the burrito. According to the ADA our burrito is actually two portions. We are not sure how many more portions this traveler would require to call our burrito “regular size”.

For future travelers, we strive to provide the freshest baked goods using as little salt and sugar as possible. We also try to use local fruits and when possible organic products in our baking. If you are used to a high sugar, salt and/ or fat diet than our food might not be your cup of tea (or coffee)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    14
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sailor's dream”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We always look forward to Getting off the water to good coffee and this great bakery. We've been doing it for many years and wouldn't miss it. Great place to stock up on treats and breads to take back on board.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGM3841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great cup of joe!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great place to hang and figure out your day! Great food & coffee at a very reasonable price! It sits on the edge of town so you can't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yummy morning treats!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I recently was in Maine vacationing in Bass Harbor/Southwest Harbor/Bar Harbor. My friend who was traveling with me is a coffee drinker and I'm not. She loves trying new little cafes so the second day we were in town we stopped in so she could get coffee. Instead of coffee I got a yummy treat. The first day I tried their gluten free macaroons. Delicious!!! I believe we stopped here three additional times. I tried the lemon bar and it was also yummy. I also got bag of the gummy bears for my hubby. They were a nice sweet treat for the road. I didn't drink the coffee by my friend said it was excellent! The customer service was also very good. I looked forward to our morning stops and treats.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ustravelgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee & muffins!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Tasty muffins along with excellent coffee. Perfect pitstop for a morning of Acadia sightseeing. Just north of southwest harbor, but worth the drive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ldeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milagro Coffee & Espresso also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Milagro Coffee & Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing