We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT POPOVERS PAY fORWARD!”

Common Good Kitchen Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT POPOVERS PAY fORWARD!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Visit The Common Good near Acadia National Park, Seawall Campground 102A & discover a jewel in Manset, Maine. Piping hot popovers all summer with cold butter or blended cinnamon/maple butter native blueberry/strawberry jams, and bottomless cups of Wicked hot robust coffee, among the best items we have ever tried in Boston or Maine including Anthony's Pier 4 and Jordan Pond. A steaming crock pot of whole grain oatmeal accompanied with brown sugar, raisins and walnuts made for a complete breakfast delight and then on Wednesdays and Sundays they add live music. All this excellence, by donation only, fuels resources for a meal program that feeds the hungry during cold winter months along the Atlantic. The crowd is humming with good will and good deeds and it was an honor to be among the heroes of this volunteer operation. Don't miss this one. Ray and Margaret R.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“POPOVERS!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

That is the word! Best popovers you could ever get! Stop by and get some, with a cup of coffee or tea. They had jam there when I went. I was even going to take the popovers that were sitting in the basket but they told me to wait a minute because they wanted to give me hot ones. I buttered them up, some jelly and ran them over to my family in the hotel. You see plenty of people stopping by this place...why you ask??? They are FREE! Yes, you can just come in and have some popovers BUT here's the deal; the Common Good Café feeds the hungry throughout the year but mostly in the winter when times are tough in Maine. You can have them for free but I would be more inclined to give a donation. What a great place! So stop by, eat some delicious popovers and give a little back to help your fellow man.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Popovers for a Good Cause!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Cafe is located in the former Seawall Restaurant, a restaurant I frequented as a child. My husband and I decided to try the popovers and relive some memories and we are so glad we did!
Outstanding coffee and popovers! (Had my coffee out of an old Seawall Restaurant mug). And the oatmeal was great also! Can't beat the view. We went back again a month later and vow to return next summer. Friendly people and we love the fact that our donation goes to help fund the food kitchen during winter months.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenGrc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go ahead give them a try”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great popovers, great coffee, great atmosphere. We like the idea that our "donation" goes to help others.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iangillamoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing place and great cause!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We just ran into this place unexpectatedly on our way to bass harbor light house. This place is cozy and welcoming. And once you hear all this is community service and for the great cause -it feels even more good. Popovers are great same as you get in Jordan Pond House. Stop by if you can to support a great cause and to enjoy some delicious hot popovers.

Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Common Good Kitchen Cafe also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Common Good Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing