We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute best in Southwest Harbor”

Acadia Fishing Tours
Ranked #3 of 8 Tours in Southwest Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Combine all that is spectacular about Mount Desert Island, and you will see it from another angle on this ocean fishing trip. Not only do we offer a great ½ day or ¾ day trip for you and your friends and family, but we also haul lobster traps for each person on the boat (weather and time permitting). Legal Lobsters are divided or raffled, yours with our compliments! Yes, That is right! Most likely free lobster with your trip! This also gives our guests an idea how lobsters are caught on our Maine Coast. Enjoy seals, porpoises, eagles, osprey, sea birds and ducks. The 3/4 day fishing trips can take you to Mt Desert Rock Lighthouse (weather permitting). This unique area is where the the Lighthouse is the furthest offshore and the first place the sun rises in the USA, as well as the home to large population of seals, and near the migration area of whales. This trip is a great trip for kids
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The absolute best in Southwest Harbor”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We did a private family charter for a memorial service. The captian and his crew were incredible! We had a number of special requests that were all accommodated. After the serious business was taken care of, the Capt. and crew assisted with the fishing and fun. The most fun was taking part in the fisherman experience......filleting the catch, pulling the lobster traps and cleaning the boat after a great day! You will not be disappointed and no other fishing boat "gives" you all the catch of the day, including the catch from the lobster traps!! We all had a great dinner cooked for us at Beal's dockside!! The best ever.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarolsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    1
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent fishing and scenic trip”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Jon the captain is so nice and accommodating. You catch a lot of fish and get lobsters too. Can't beat this Vagabond!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Libearty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Lobster and Fishing Experience”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I think that my husband and I were the only people out of 26 or so that did not catch any fish, but we still had a really great time, based largely on the lobster experience part of the trip. The captain takes you out about an hour's trip to the fishing area. You probably spend about an hour to an hour and a half actually fishing. He moves the boat several times to try to get to a better location to catch the fish. A few people caught cod, and a few caught mackerel, but the majority of the fish caught were small to medium sized pollack. Barb was amazing. Just watching her fillet the fish was a real experience. At the end of the trip, the smaller fish were divided among those who wanted them for cooking. Those who caught cod and larger fish were allowed to keep their own catch. After the fishing we went to pull the lobster traps. Barb and the captain must have pulled at least 15 double traps. Most of them had several lobsters in each of them, but some of these had to be thrown back due to various factors, such as not a legal size, females with eggs, and tail-notched females that had at one time had eggs. Some of the traps were empty, but not many. One lobster was 1/8 inch over the legal limit and had to be thrown back, but it was really a site to see such a large lobster. Barb put a regular sized lobster on the back of the large lobster for comparison and let us take photos of it, before releasing it back into the water. As the lobsters were being hauled in, we were given a very good educational lesson in lobsters and lobster trapping. Last, but not least, the lobsters caught were divided among those on the trip, and there were enough so that everyone got a lobster to take home with some left over. I truly think that this was the highlight of a trip of wonderful activities that we had in Acadia, and it is certainly worth the time, money, and effort to take this trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank GrandmaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“barb is the best!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

i was disappointed at first to see the crowd that were going on this trip. the day before we were told that they needed a minimum of 12 people and that they only had 8. we arrived to find 30 people. we were very pleased with the personalized attention and barb was a wonderful educator as well as deck hand. she took the time to show everyone how lobsters must be measured, breeding females notched, how to bait hooks, etc. charlie was sweet too! on the way back to SWH they pull lobster traps and then everyone is given a number. whatever is in your trap you get to keep. barb was also nice enough to give me the filets of a cod she caught. wonderful people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cydney04106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Trip, Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Leaing out of Southwest Harbor, right next to Biel's Lobster, this was a nice trip that I would recommend. I knew ahead of time the type of fish we would catch, and we got mostly pollock, and mackeral, and I caught 1 cod. The fish were not that big, the cod was maybe 3 pounds, the rest were the size of very large perch. The fishing was easy, these fish will bite an empty hook, and everybody on the boat (17 people) was catching fish, even those that had very minimal experience. The Captain and his son, Charlie, and the mate, Barb, were very helpful, knowledgeable, and nice. These are real fisherman, who know what they are doing. Barb said she worked for years on commercial boats, and you can tell, she caught the biggest fish of the day, and seemed to always have one on the line. They were very attentive, offering tips, helping those that needed to put bait on, etc. We mostly stayed in the bay, as the water was unusually rough, which limited our fishing locations. The mountains of Acadia in the background were beautiful. After fishing, we went and hauled in lobster traps, and they split the lobsters between whoever wants them. The people that helped the mates got the biggest lobsters, which was nice. We got 2 lobsters, and because of the timing (we had 1 day left before leaving to go home) we gave them to a couple who had just gotten engaged on their trip. The crew told us that the water was unusually rough because of a storm coming in, and they were absolutely right. I would trust them over the weathermen, they told us a storm was coming, and sure enough, it did!

Even with the rough water while hauling the lobster traps, (the water was calm as could be where we fished) this was still a great trip, and I would recommend it for the experience and scenery even if you are not a fisherman. Barb told us all about the lobsters, how they catch them, showed us how they bait the traps, how to tell if they are male/female, what they do with the breeders, etc. This was a great experience, and i'm glad we went. The captain always had a pleasant smile on his face, and was very helpful and quick to answer any questions us noobs had. They showed people how to work the poles, as these types of reels can be tricky for someone that had never used them, but everyone caught on right away and I didn't see anyone having problems. The bigger fish will be found jigging off the bottom, and if you have experince, and can tell when your weight is on the bottom, and know how to keep it moving to not get snagged on the abundance of rocks, you will have a better chance of getting a bigger fish. If you don't care about getting a big one, you can just drop your line in, and if you drop it slowly, you will have fish on the line before it hits bottom.

Great experience, and I'd recommend this boat to anyone looking to go out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acadia Fishing Tours also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Acadia Fishing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing