We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Visit To Maine”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbor View Motel And Cottages
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Totally enjoyed my stay at Harbor View. I stayed there October 2013. Stayed in room 201. Very Roomy and Comfortable. Absolutely Gorgeous view off of the covered deck which I was glad it was covered since it rained for part of our stay. Only downside is privacy. Walls are thin and we could clearly hear our neighbors when they were speaking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We came to Southwest Harbor for a few nights in October to see the park. Unfortunately it was closed due to the shutdown, so we only stayed for 2 nights instead of the 3 we had planned. The motel was very accommodating with cancelling the 3rd night, and did not charge us for the cancellation.

We had room #1, which was at the end of the row. It wasn't a great situation, as the walls seemed quite thin, and on both mornings we could hear our neighbours moving around and doors opening and closing. The decor of the room was also quite outdated, with a very small bathroom. The sink in the bathroom had a black patch in the plughole where the enamel had worn away, and was quite unappealing. The shower was also very small.

Of the staff at the motel, there were two members in the reception area who were quite friendly and helpful, and one who was a bit grumpy both times we saw her around.

Not sure that we would come back to the motel unless it has a bit of a re-furb.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mozarella45, Owner at Harbor View Motel And Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your review of the Harbor View Motel and Cottages. Room 1 is part of the North Units which are the most affordable and hence, as you said, in need of an update. We pride ourselves at the Harbor View Motel in providing a clean, friendly, and comfortable environment, and I was particularly disappointed to hear the room was not up to standard in regards to cleanliness. You can be assured we will address this matter in a prompt and effective manner. This winter we will be making some major updates, and I encourage you to try the rooms in our main building, or rent a cottage to your liking the next time you come to Southwest Harbor. We appreciate your concerns and we will do our best to make the Harbor View Motel and Cottages a pleasant and satisfying accommodation.

Sedge Saunders
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Located on well-manicured grounds at the end of peaceful town harbor and a five minute walk to fine restaurants, the ground-floor motel rooms are rather small with dated furnishings and TV (squeaky beds with ancient blankets and sheets). The motel rooms, though very clean, still need major upgrading. The breakfast rates a six out of 10 and the daytime desk staff could be more friendly and proactive. A good place to sleep and not linger while spending the days touring beautiful Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park.

Room Tip: Stay in Main building or in cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in Room #6 which is on the end of a row of single floor motel style rooms. Our room was more like a cabin than motel room. The living room has huge windows that look out over the front deck and harbor. It is so picturesque that I thought I'd just stepped into a New England painting.

The rocky beach is great fun to look for treasures when the tide is out, Fox our Border Collie found a crab hiding in seaweed, he jumped a foot when he got pinched! Great fun!

This room has a fully equipped kitchen which is great for saving money on eating in. I recommend Sawyer's market in the area, pricey but their deli bologna is best I've ever had.

Although blueberry muffins are for motel guests only, they let us sneak some, and man were they good!

Staff was super helpful in booking this room online and the place did not disappoint! The staff were so friendly, we fell in love instantly. They have free wi-fi in the main building so folks like me who have online businesses can keep up while we are away.

We'll look no further for a better place to stay in the area, as we can't imagine one.

Room Tip: Room #6, can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a quiet place, not very expansive, in Southwest Harbor. We stayed in room 202 which is on the 2nd floor (no elevator) and has a deck over looking the harbor, a sitting room and a large fridge. Breakfast of cereal, muffins and bagels is included and really good coffee. SWH is about 26 miles from Ellsworth and about 15 miles from Bar Harbor, close enough for a visit but far enough away from all the tourists. Most of the stores stay open until Oct 15th and then close for the winter.

Room Tip: Ask for room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEP_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I have been going to this place for many many years and keep coming back because we love the location and price.This time we stayed in a first floor room in the main building which was spacious and comfortable and had a deck facing the water with table and chairs. The day we were there it was too chilly to have breakfast on the deck but it was perfectly comfortable to have it in the room. Back when we spent a week here we would reserve cabin 19 (which only rents by the week) often a year in advance, putting up with the sloping floors and tacky decoration for the wonderful location near the water but I believe it has been renovated since then. We had just spent two nights in a very elegant and much more expensive inn which also had a wonderful staff but would just as soon have spent the time here. No amenities like the little shampoos and lotions or hair dryer that fancier places have.

Room Tip: The top floor of the main building only rents by the week but is a fabulous place with good kitchene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nobscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is the second year in a row that I've visited the motel. Room 201 is spacious, comfortable and clean. There is a king bed in one room separated by french doors that open to a comfortable room with a fold out couch, arm chair flat screen TV and desk. The room has a deck that overlooks the harbor and is very quiet and peaceful. It is an easy walk into the town of Southwest Harbor, a perfect place to stay if you want restaurants and services but want to avoid the crowds of Bar Harbor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Not the place for you if you are looking for luxury, but definately worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
9.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Motel And Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Motel And Cottages

Address: 11 Ocean Way, Box 701, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4426
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: £49 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Motel and Cottages is a family friendly accommodation that has motel units, efficiencies, and cottages, and is located right on the water just outside of Southwest Harbor. We have a million dollar view overlooking the picturesque harbor and it is walking distance from the village which has many restaurants, cafes, and galleries. Please come visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbor View Motel And Cottages Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbor View Motel And Cottages Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing