We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Southwest
Nearby Hotels
Lindenwood Inn(Southwest Harbor)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimball Terrace Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seawall Motel(Southwest Harbor)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Hotel(Southwest Harbor)
Harbor Ridge(Southwest Harbor)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wonder View Inn(Bar Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
263
22
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
22
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesfire pitb bpemaquid pointegg rockquiet sidebar harborcape elizabethtwo courseslovely daysfresh lemonadebay roomwrap around porchplace to staywere greeted warmlybruschettafrom scratch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

While the Inn at Southwest is decorated throughout with wonderful vintage furnishings, and immaculate curios; you feel right at home in front of the fire on a cool morning, or while sitting on the wrap around porch on a warm afternoon.
Sandy and Ester are the perfect hosts-they are there for questions, if you would like information on activities in the area, but also stay respectfully in the background if you are in need of quiet time.
The breakfasts are (for lack of a better word) YUM! The Blueberry French Toast is such a treat! And the plates are always colorful and inviting.
If you're looking for a comfortable place to enjoy the beauty of Mount Desert Island, without the touristy trappings Bar Harbor,The Inn at Southwest is a great get-away, right in the center of "downtown" Southwest Harbor. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineDdx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Inn at Southwest. It is in a perfect location for exploring Acadia - and the accommodations were great. Sandy and Esther and the rest of the staff ensured that we set off on just the right hikes, found all the good restaurants, and started the day with amply sized and very delicious breakfasts! Their enthusiasm for the work was much appreciated as well! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spent our anniversary at The Inn at Southwest over Labor Day weekend. Aside from the superb breakfasts, clean, comfortable room and friendliness of Esther and owner, Sandy, the assistance we received on Labor Day Monday truly saved the day. When returning from dinner Sunday evening, the exhaust system on our car broke just as we turned into the driveway at the Inn. It separated at the front and was dragging on the ground such that the car could not be driven forward. A call to AAA Monday morning produced a flatbed, but the driver was unable to contact anyone open on Labor Day who could help us. After his departure, we relayed our tale of woe to Sandy, who called around to some of her friends and was able to get a mechanic to come to the Inn with a jack and lots of wire (!) to strap up the exhaust system so we could get home on Monday and go to work as scheduled on Tuesday. It was a loud trip home, but we made it without any further issues. Thanks, Sandy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caymanbessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a well-kept Inn with a great breakfast and friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable keepers. We love this quiet side of the Island, and both Sandy and Esther have given us tips on great hikes nearby. We had car difficulty, and Sandy got us to a great mechanic. When we were looking for lobsters and wild blueberries to take home, Esther knew where the best prices and packing was to be found.

We have been enjoying visits here most every year for more than a decade. The breakfasts are large and delicious, and they are good at working around food allergies. If there is too much food, they are happy to put a muffin in a baggie for later. Water bottles can be filled for hiking at from the filtered water in the refrigerator. Wine glasses and refrigerator are available for any treats one might bring, which is good because there is an excellent wine and cheese store down the block.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at The Inn at Southwest this past weekend and can highly recommend it. The property is lovely - rooms individually decorated, all with a deft hand. The owner, Sandy, and her staff could not be more accommodating - we arrived several hours past our expected time - they left the door to our room open and the lights on and the key and a note in an obvious place. Breakfast nicely done - perfect B and B experience. And Southwest Harbor and the rest of the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island certainly worth a visit - weather and landscape particularly nice at this time of year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimeezing1NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews