We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Southwest
Certificate of Excellence
Sodus
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Inn at Southwest is beautiful and the innkeepers very accommodating. They took us in on a busy weekend when the original place we had booked was suddenly unavailable. Our room was comfortable, sparkling and pleasant. Breakfast was a feast for the eyes and palate, with veggies right from their kitchen garden. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return if our travels bring us back that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
184
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Would highly recommend the Inn at Southwest. We found everything 5 star. Breakfasts were excellent. Esther was very helpful in helping us fine tune our Acadia travel plans as well as our return trip home thru New Hampshire.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Jane and I chose the Inn at Southwest for our end of August visit to Akadia because we wanted to stay on the "quiet side" of the Island. We were looking for comfortable surroundings and a relaxing breakfast as a counterpoint to all the hiking and kayaking we were planning. What we found was pure delight. The warm living room with beautiful antiques and soft, mellow music, was the perfect setting to enjoy coffee and cookies when we returned from our activities. Our room was also a perfect blend of antique furnishings and a really comfortable bed. The breakfasts were spectacular--fresh fruits, home made muffins, french toast, pancakes, omelets--all delicious and artistically presented. Sandy and Esther were outstanding hostesses, making us comfortable with conversation and attention to every detail. We really feel like we made two friends, and we will want to visit them as much as their wonderful Inn. We wouldn't even consider staying any place else and we will go back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are probably quieter, but the sitting room was a nice bonus. Make sure to al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Jim and I stayed here for 4 nights and were totally pleased with our experience. Sandy & Esther were a great team and prepared delicious breakfasts each day. It was ideal to be on the "quiet side" rather than in Bar Harbor. We totally enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone who looks for a quiet, but friendly, place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolandjim733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed two nights at this beautiful B&B. Sandy and Ester were great! The food was delicious and the atmosphere relaxing. Nice place away from the business of Bar Harbor but close enough to go for the day once or twice, like we did. Beal's is a great easy place to walk too. We would go back again! Thank you both.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banksbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was wonderful and different each morning, we enjoyed eating on the porch. Sandy and Esther were so helpful--they went above and beyond during our stay and made us feel at home. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Fresh baked cookies in the afternoon was a plus! Overall, a great experience, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmtrees16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walpole
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were wonderful. Sandy and Ester were so nice and provided good suggestions. The additional amenities--walking sticks, wine glasses, continual coffee--were a pleasant addition. We would certainly go again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank car0lyn95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
191 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
90 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Southwest

Property: The Inn at Southwest
Address: 371 Main St, PO Box 593, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4404
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed properties on Mt Desert Island and overlooking beautiful Southwest Harbor, the Inn at Southwest combines elegant Victorian charm and gracious hospitality. The inn is within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, the marina, and lobster wharves. The inn is located only 5 minutes from Acadia National Park and 20 minutes from Bar Harbor. Enjoy gourmet breakfasts, afternoon tea and beautiful Acadia National Park on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Southwest Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing