We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a piece of Maine...only way to stay is at the Inn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Southwest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staying on the quiet side is the only way to go when visiting Mt. Desert Island. The Inn is very charming with great breakfasts and afternoon snacks. You will really feel like a member if the family with Sandy, Daniel and Dora. We highly recommend hiking Acadia which is so conveniently close and you won't pick a bad place to eat within walking distance. The Inn at Southwest Harbor is beyond special! From sunrise to sunset, every turn around this side of the island is breath taking. R-e-l-a-x!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dipearl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay at The Inn at Southwest was a great end to our vacation. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The Inn has a warm home like feeling to it. And the best part was Daniel. Weather it was welcoming us to the Inn, trying his afternoon snack of homemade lemonade and cookies, or asking him about eateries around town, he came through in a big way. And breakfast, it was amazing! Thanks Daniel. The owner is lucky to have you there running the show. We can't wait to come back for a longer visit. I strongly recommend The Inn to anyone looking to stay at Southwest Harbor.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank preindl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We had really great time staying in this place.this was feel like home very warm and welcome environment.And breakfast we enjoyed every morning was not only very tasty,it was a work of art.
We would recommend this hotel to any one who wants to enjoy their time in this area.
Personal thanks to housekeepes Dora and Daniel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zhanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at The Inn at Southwest in Southwest Harbor Maine. It has been a great place to stay. This is a bed and breakfast located in a quiet town near Acadia. The rooms are large and nicely decorated and the house is beautiful with lots of nice artwork and antiques. The best part of staying at the Inn, however, is the friendly service and fantastic breakfasts. The breakfast that Daniel makes are works of art that are creative and taste great. In addition, he is very friendly and helpful and will do anything within his power to make your stay enjoyable. We are just lucky we found this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diver_Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've been travelling around the states for a month now (moving on each night). This is undoubtedly the best place we have stayed so far.

The location is great and the rooms are beautiful, unique and very clean.The house has got so much character and the breakfast room/lounge was a wonderful place to spend the evening.

The hosts (Daniel and Dora) were fantastic! They made us feel really welcome and suggested a wonderful restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was outstanding, and they went above and beyond by giving us some brownies and gingerbread to take with us on our journey!

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddingtondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This Inn is as close to perfection as you can gwt. Innkeepers Dory and Daniel have w wonderful way to make you feel welcome and special. The food was excellent. Only only was the taste delicious but the presentation made us feel like we were royalty. This is truly a gen in Maine. Beautiful inn. Immaculate. .classy..it is all you could ever want in a B&B. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ybatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Thank you all for giving your wonderful stories and experiences. We enjoyed having you stay with us in 2014 , and look forward to seeing you again this upcoming season.

Dora & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

From check-in to convenience to charm and friendliness, the Inn at Southwest provided the right matrix for our pleasant stay on Mt. Desert Island. The people who run this Inn are friendly and helpful, and the vibe here is relaxed and smart -"chill but attentive". A return visit is not a matter of if but when, and we hope it is in the foreseeable future :-0.

Room Tip: Try "Pemaquid Point" or "Pumpkin Island".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leem1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
9.5 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
#3 of 30 in Bar Harbor
637 reviews
1 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor Ridge
Harbor Ridge
#1 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Southwest

Address: 371 Main St, PO Box 593, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4404
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: £91 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed properties on Mt Desert Island and overlooking beautiful Southwest Harbor, the Inn at Southwest combines elegant Victorian charm and gracious hospitality. The inn is within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, the marina, and lobster wharves. The inn is located only 5 minutes from Acadia National Park and 20 minutes from Bar Harbor. Enjoy gourmet breakfasts, afternoon tea and beautiful Acadia National Park on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Southwest Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing