We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They've got it all -- great location, beautiful accommodations, and THE BEST staff!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Southwest
Certificate of Excellence
New Gloucester, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They've got it all -- great location, beautiful accommodations, and THE BEST staff!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We tried to decide whether to stay in Bar Harbor or Southwest Harbor. So glad we chose the Inn at Southwest! Daniel and Dora were so gracious and accomodating. It is a lovely inn with fantastic porches, common rooms in the house, and a great fire pit! Our room was clean, comfortable and charming. The food was terrific. Can't wait to bring friends to visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
186
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

A last minute change in plans led us to stay at the Inn at Southwest and we are so glad we did. Lovely house, friendly inn keepers and a great breakfast that had my son asking for seconds (which was served right up)!!! Will definitely return again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

While vacationing in Southwest Harbor, my partner and I were out for cocktails one afternoon. In conversation with another couple at the bar, we discovered they are the innkeepers at the Inn at Southwest. We were talking about good breakfast places in town, because our accomodations did not provide breakfast. Dora and Dan immediately invited us to try out the breakfast at the Inn at Southwest - as their guests. Such a gracious offer could not be refused, so the next morning we showed up for breakfast. I now must warn the reader that the following is going to sound over the top hyperbolic but I promise you, it is an honest assessment of our experience. Breakfast began with pears baked in a mascapone sauce - light, lucious, just enough sweet, utterly heavenly 'first course'. Next, the light, fluffy triple berry pancakes, with sausage wrapped in bacon - and a slice of avocado to cut the heaviness of the meal. We have been singing the praises of Dan and his cooking since we returned home, and encouraging anyone headed to Mount Dessert Island to stay at this lovely property. After breakfast, we were given a tour of the house - the rooms are large, spacious, beautifully decorated with big, comfy looking beds. At least two of the rooms have alcoves which house twin beds or a pull out sofa - perfect for a couple with small children. But the best part is Dora and Dan, the innkeepers. Gracious, friendly, funny and accomodating. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Southwest and oh by the way, did I mention the remarkably reasonable rates? Check them out on line. Can't wait to visit again and stay at this remarkable inn. Thanks Dora and Dan - you gave us a wonderful vacation memory!

Room Tip: They all looked fabulouse to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A beautiful Victorian B&B that is a must stay! The inn keepers, Daniel and Dora make you feel at home the minute you arrive! They are both warm, generous and go out of their way to accommodate your every need. Daniel does a fabulous job at preparing delicious breakfasts, always with fresh fruit and special scones, biscuits or muffins..all freshly baked. The room was very quiet despite all the construction happening on the main street. All rooms were decorated with unique furnishings that are period to the house. The area is small, quaint and quiet and their recommendation for lobster at Thurstons was the best. I highly recommend staying at this quaint B&B with the friendliest innkeepers in town!!

Heidi,
Pasadena, CA.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi12394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My wife is mad that there's no option to rate it 4.5.
Pros: Beautiful Porch, Decor, Breakfast, Staff
Cons: Old house room sizes.
Wonderful place - converted old house with charm galore. The bathrooms are a bit small. The rooms are just big enough. The staff is great - very helpful and friendly. They promote an atmosphere of meeting other travelers and sharing experiences. Breakfast was excellent. The patio and outdoor fire pit provide conversation-friendly (or book-friendly) spaces. Excellent launching point to explore Mt. Desert Island, especially the western half. Just steps to several nice restaurants, bakeries, and shops.
If you want a TV in your room, look elsewhere. But the wifi is very good and free.
This is what a B&B should be.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BSchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

First time staying at a B&B. The experience was absolutely amazing. Daniel and Dora made us feel like this was our home. They are warm, friendly, gracious and made us feel like family while still maintaining a professionalism. The room was clean, bright and so quaintly furnished. Food was amazing. I was a little hesitant about staying at a B&B but within a few minutes of talking to Daniel and Dora my fears were alleviated and it was better than staying in a five star hotel. I would not hesitate to recommend THE INN AT SOUTHWEST to anyone staying in Southwest Harbor, Me. We will be back.

Room Tip: I believe that all the rooms at the Inn are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3754Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

In town on business, my wife & I were pleasantly surprised with a quaint and friendly B&B in Southwest Harbor, ME. Being one of only a few experiences staying at a B&B, I was instantly caught up with the warm and sincere greeting we received from innkeeper Dora. The charming Victorian Inn's rooms were more than satisfying, each one unique and inviting. The accruements were tasteful, from the teas and cookies to the selection of morning juices to greet each day.
Most memorable were the fabulous breakfasts, each one more delightful than the day before. With fresh fruit selected from local markets and masterfully prepared by housekeeper/chef Daniel, we began each day feeling energized and healthy.
Delightful, charming and always helpful, Dora's attention to detail left no request unfulfilled. The only disappointment came when we packed to leave.
We look forward to any opportunity to return to the inn and advise any traveler to MDI to treat themselves to a genuine hospitality experience of days-gone-by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper593, Manager at The Inn at Southwest, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Thank you all for sharing your wonderful stories and experiences. Enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the upcoming season 2015.

Dora & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
191 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
90 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Southwest

Property: The Inn at Southwest
Address: 371 Main St, PO Box 593, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4404
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed properties on Mt Desert Island and overlooking beautiful Southwest Harbor, the Inn at Southwest combines elegant Victorian charm and gracious hospitality. The inn is within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, the marina, and lobster wharves. The inn is located only 5 minutes from Acadia National Park and 20 minutes from Bar Harbor. Enjoy gourmet breakfasts, afternoon tea and beautiful Acadia National Park on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Southwest Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing