We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and fantastic in every way!”
Review of Lindenwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lindenwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming and fantastic in every way!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

As first time visitors to Maine, the charming Lindenwood Inn nestled in the quaint Southwest Harbor community is certainly one of the best B&Bs experences we've had in our many travels. We arrived late on a rainly evening and felt as if we were coming home as we entered the door on the front porch. The decor nicely maintains the lovely character of the inn with tasteful updates. A cozy fire blazes in the living room hearth with a scented candle lit on nearby table - the perfect spot to a sip a glass of wine and reminisce after a long day of travel or enjoying the outdoor actvities of Acadia National Park. Our pleasant second floor room was clean and bright wth an extra-comfy bed, clawfoot tub, and small balcony from which the high and low tides in the harbor could be observed. Breakfast each day was a gourmet treat, includng a served hot entree complemented by a self-serve bar with fresh mixed fruit, scrumptous baked goods, and beverages. Fred was most accommodating of dietary restrictions (which we hadn't mentioned prior to our visit). What a nice surprise it was on our second day to come to breakfast and find that he had already modifed the main entree and set aside a specal bowl of fruit - the blueberry crepe (wthout an egg) was scrumptious and most appreciated. The owners and other staff members are genuine and friendly - the nicest folks you'll ever meet! Tthe location of the inn makes access to the park easy, as well as travel on and off the island. Southwest Harbor is a delightful town with good local restaurants, a fine bakery, and shops, but not the congestion of the more "touristy" areas - a true treasure. Many thanks to all - we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Advise from the owner about room selection was most helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roctraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    37
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
139
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Wow; I feel compelled to write a full review after reading a prior one which seems oddly "off."

First, understand (if you don't know MDI/ Acadia) that Southwest Harbor (town) is THE hidden gem of the island. One goes here for "quaint" mixed with ocean, quiet morning strolls, late-night ice cream, and a feel of "real" Maine. There is one of the islands best hikes (FM), one of the island's best views (FM), best freshwater swim spots (EL), best sandwiches (EaP), best bakeries (LN), good bike rental, kayak rental, sail and power rental, a (overpriced yet excellent) French Bakery, best tidal sluice dam with occasional daredevil kayaker, and best wine stores (S) within 5 minutes of this spot. Yes golf. I could stay busy here without car for 4-5 days. A little restaurant nearby (S's) packs bands in with some frequency and has very good eats. There is a charming underlying culture of real tradesmen and real fishermen here- like Nantucket in the 1960's before the investment bankers bought everybody out.

Want tacky t-shirts, Apple Vacations, and packed tour boats? DON'T GO HERE. Go to Bar Harbor. Old people with more money than brains? Go to Northeast Harbor and related club. Have you been to Paia on Maui? SW is the Paia of MDI before the silly Keith Richardson's and "hip" Calif women with Benz's discovered/ruined it. In the summer FREE LL Bean buses take you where you need to go (but a car is preferred).

There are several good-to-very good (one gourmet-RS) restaurants within walking distance- each with it's own charm. Prices are a bit lower here; that's the "hidden" part. (Except remember: these folks have to earn a year's survival $$ in 3 months time)

We visited in May, and our experience was nothing short of fantastic. Owners are indeed casual, amusing Australians (which a prior reviewer seemed to object to). If you seek privacy, they will respect; if they sense you enjoy interaction, they will greet you with a drink when you return at the end of the day. (We found ourselves skipping dinner one evening just to enjoy a folk "jam" session on the front porch.) No, they do not stand at the front desk 19 hours per day, but this is part of the charm. At times you feel like this beautiful old lady is YOUR mansion, as you sit by the welcome fire (in May at least)!

The structure itself is entrancing- an extremely graceful, historic "mini-mansion" (whaling??) which has been restored to perfection inside, and all rooms gutted and upgraded while retaining an old-world flavor. (There was a rebuild project underway on an upper deck- remember, this was preseason) Very clean kitchen. During the day, unoccupied rooms were left open, and I can tell you (from snooping) that each of them were meticulously and beautifully restored and upgraded, while retaining old-world charm (e.g. tubs and old fixtures with shower surround). No "grunge" here! (I am a sensitive sleeper; I would avoid a room on the road side in mid-summer.)

Water pressure great, hot water great, no blow dryers (bring one!), no wide screen TVs (go to a Marriott!), free internet, music playing downstairs. We liked the mattress comfort enough to check the brand. Eclectic Pacific and Polynesian art blends well throughout. Some hand-painted floors in rooms. Room views of harbor, historic home roof-tops, trees. Beautifully decorated small pool and separate hot-tub, well-maintained. (Where can you get those in Maine??) Water landing just behind the Inn where you can catch a charming boatride to several enchanting locations. Brochures in the lobby and free internet make it impossible to NOT figure out boat timings etc. (Hint-hint)

Breakfasts truly ARE near-gourmet (owners are former restauranteers) and Fred even designed one breakfast around our suggestions the 2d morning!) Uses local ingredients where possible. Good snacks left out throughout the day. Daily cleaning of rooms is very thorough and -best- they air each room out so when you return it smells wonderful! (who else does THAT?!)

Whew; I hope that covers it all. Return? You bet. Best deal? Low low off-peak rates. Me? Demanding 55yo Mid-Atl (and some NY) guy who appreciates charm, value, food.

Room Tip: Top floor room is huge and spectacular. I counted small pool/large hot tub as "fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryHoratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our last stay at the Lindenwood Inn was our third. It gets better each time. This time we stayed a full week. When we arrived we found a note from Fred that we were upgraded to the suite and to make ourselves at home; an easy assignment. Breakfast: you start with the self serve buffet of fresh fruit, juices, cereal, nuts, granola, yogurt, muffins or cake, great coffee, and tea selection. Then you get breakfast; something different each day; eggs, omelets, blueberry pancakes; all done with a special herb, sauce, syrup, or jam.
Jim, Fred, and Mario create a friendly and relaxed accommodation. We love the jacuzzi and heated pool. You are welcome to bring lunch or dinner in and eat on the porch or dining room. We only had one day of bad weather which we spent in front of the fire reading. It was a welcome rest after the 8 mile hike the day before.
Southwest Harbor is our favorite town on the island. Great restaurants, friendly residents, and hometown feel. We are ready to go back for another week.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and I took a lovely drive up the Maine coast to stay in the Bar (Bah) Harbor (Hahbah) area. We decided to stay at the Lindenwood to make the trip a little more romantic.

Jim and Frank were absolutely wonderful hosts. While Frank's breakfasts were certainly no Applebees chicken fingers - they were creative, filling and delicious. I talked to Jim on the phone after we got hung up in Freeport (an ironic name for the area) longer than expected and he couldn't have been more inviting.

While many bed and breakfasts are nice and cozy, they can often be outdated and gaudy. The decor and bedding at the Lindenwood was updated, clean and comfortable yet still authentically charming. The common space was welcoming and relaxing.

It was an absolute treat to chat with the other patrons who have been coming to the Lindenwood for years. After staying there ourselves, I can understand why many guests make the return trip. Jim and Frank make it easy to want to come back.

The only negative comment we have about our stay is that they have raised the bar on our expectations, and anywhere else we stay will now be compared to our stay at the Lindenwood.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

So to start with the positives ....the location is great & the common areas are comfortable and well kept. The fireplaces were welcome on cool evenings, and the honour bar is a good idea. The room we had was one of the smaller ones & very compact. Getting in and out of the bathroom was a squeeze. There was no remote for the very tiny TV and no hair dryer available - not great in the cooler weather! Generally the room needs a bit of a spruce up as the bathroom was a little grungy!
Breakfasts were OK if a little pretentious, sometimes being fancy isn't a replacement for being good.

Also, when we arrived the owners were not present. The young lady who showed us around tried her best but was not very aware of the local area and not able to answer our questions (not her fault if she has not received guidance in this).
We met one of the owners the following morning (Fred) he was pleasant enough without beng over welcoming. We asked for advice on a local boat trip and he gave us inconsistent information, thank goodness we had looked it up on the web as if we had followed his advice we would have missed it! We only met the other owner as we checked out, he seemed friendlier if a little jaded by the B&B business. He commented on us being on a budget as we had picked a small room....we felt that was a bit personal. Maybe if the properties pricing was a little more realistic we would have upgraded when we saw that they had other vacancies on the Columbus Day weekend (hardly anyone else in the local area did!). Or maybe they could have suggested ths to us?
All in all, impressive property (public areas) , a B&B not a hotel - and needs work on the welcome / service from the owners. Would we return? Probably not, we'd try elsewhere in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blondehairrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We arrived at this lovely inn to find a note on the counter telling us that Fred was out, and to ring his mobile. I did this, and he told us that he was at the bank and would be back in ten minutes. In the meantime, we should take the key for our room and move in. I know that some people don't like it when someone isn't there to greet them, but for me, this said two things. Firstly, that the owner is relaxed, and secondly that I am trusted.

Once we were installed in our (lovely) room, Fred returned and introduced himself. He seemed a really nice bloke, and in the next two days did nothing to change my opinion. There is an honour bar with beers and wine, which again I thought nice, and although Fred went out one evening when we decided to have a pizza on the porch, he allowed us free reign of the kitchen to use glasses, crockery and cutlery.

The inn is beautifully decorated. The public rooms have glistening wooden floors and fireplaces with comfortable sofas by them. There are also tables on the porch if you want to sit outside with a drink (or, like us, a drink and pizza). We had a first floor room which looked on to the street, although the sea was visible. It was immaculate and comfortable.

There is a small private pool and a whirlpool in the garden.

Breakfast was served downstairs with a good choice of food and was delicious.

The Inn is within an easy walk of Southwest Harbor's shops and restaurants, and an easy drive of Bar Harbour, the loop road and the other attractions of Acadia. I would really recommend the Inn and it would be my first choice of accomodation on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My fiance proposed to me at this Inn two weekends ago, it was that charming! A true value for what is offered, great stone hot tub, clean and comfortable beds. The breakfast is very good as well. The rooms are Jim the Inn Keeper is so welcoming and very nice. We have stayed at some very nice places and this ranks at the top. We want to make it a tradition :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 531TabithaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
1.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
90 reviews
9.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
288 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
9.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenwood Inn

Property: Lindenwood Inn
Address: 118 Clark Point Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4414
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindenwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Sea Captain's Home turned into a unique harbor side Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lindenwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenwood Hotel Southwest Harbor
Lindenwood Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing