We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning home and incredible setting...”
other travellers have booked this property
Your picnic view of Duck Cove from the patio at Blue Heron Tide.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your picnic view of Duck Cove from the patio at Blue Heron Tide.
Blue Heron Tide Seaside Cottage. Fabulous cove views await you! Blue Heron Tide as you come up from the shore. Windows maximize the view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Your picnic view of Duck Cove from the patio at Blue Heron Tide.
Blue Heron Tide Seaside Cottage. Fabulous cove views await you!
Blue Heron Tide as you come up from the shore. Windows maximize the view.
The dining room is adjacent to the living room in this open concept living area.
The main sitting area of the living room, with ocean views, game table, couches.
A view from within the screened porch looking over the water. There is also a comfortable glider
A view of the kithen. The stove is right of the peninsula; more counter & pantry are past the fridge
The Rec Room has comfortable cottage seating by the outdoor patio and grille.
A view of the Rec Room with a sneak peak of the ping pong table - endless fun.
Master bedroom 4-post mahogany bed. The master bedroom has a private en suite full bath.
One of two sitting areas in the master bedroom; a bank of oceanview windows are on the right
The second sitting area of the master bedroom, featuring a beautiful ocean view
The 'Cottage' queen bedroom upstairs, with its own full en suite
All rooms have an ocean view in Blue Heron Tide; this is from the Cottage bedroom.
The upstairs hall leads to a private reading nook hidden around the corner, also with ocean views
The double mahogany 4-poster in the 'B&B' style room on the first floor.
Twin bedroom on the first floor, also with mahogany beds.
Private steps bring you to your shoreline at Blue Heron Tide (low tide).
A view from the cove. You can see Placentia (owned by the Nature Conservancy) and Swan's Island.
Another view from the shore of your cove.
A view from Cadillac Mountain on a misty day
Schooner in front of the Bar Harbor Inn
Bass Harbor Marsh, good for canoeing
Jordan Pond House view of The Bubbles
A view of Bass Harbor Head Light
A hiking trail view inside the Park in autumn.
Typical boats in the harbors all over the island.
A view from a carriage path inside the Park - there are 50 miles for walking, cycling, skiing, etc
A lovely corner in one of the Rockefeller gardens.
The classic Maine coast of Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park
A classic view of Southwest Harbor, typical of the area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathy A
Charleston, Illinois
1 review
“Absolutely stunning home and incredible setting made this an unforgettable experience for our family!"”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The support in planning our vacation provided by the owners, Joy and Peter, made this vacation stress-free in every possible way. All directions and information were clear and thorough and every possible amenity was available for our family of 8. The house was lovely, spotless, and spacious and exceeded our expectations. There are simply no words adequate enough for describing the gorgeous setting. The views from every window were breathtaking. We enjoyed the yard, the beach, and the sunsets. We are already planning our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Wonderful! This is everything we want our guests to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back! - Joy & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views.
Liked least: There was nothing I could find fault with.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience, Juliet! We hope you can return to Acadia some day. We'd love to have you - and are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Happy memories! - Joy & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MissyB51
home
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location; comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We prefer "the quiet side" of Acadia National Park, away from the traffic and bustle of Bar Harbor. This was our second stay at one of Joy and Peter's Southwest Harbor cottages. Even when the outdoor temperature dipped to 40, we were cozy. The cottage offers all the comforts of home: large, equipped kitchen; three and a half baths; two televisions; washer and dryer; couches positioned to catch the sun set over the cove in your backyard; even a ping pong table in the basement where your son can repeatedly embarrass you. I wish I could return here each and every autumn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn I
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The home was cozy and great for our vacation. Owner had detailed instructions on pretty make everything which was help.
Only downside for us was that the kids in the neighborhood, made my kids very uncomfortable, made some racial remarks to them on a number of occasions. Seemed to me they had never seen people of color, but i can't do much about their ignorance.
Otherwise we had a time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy W
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
1 review
“great”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The house was neat and clean. The view was wonderful and ever changing with the tides. What fun when you come from the Midwest. Lots of sights to go see. The autumn leave were beautiful. We would go back if we get the chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the veiw
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewAng...
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Family Vacation”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect place for our family. Great location. Our 20 month old twins were able to explore down by the water. House was very nice, perfect size for us all to spread out. We had 7 people in our group. Tons of space to run around in the basement. Great screened in porch. Very nice and clean. Owners very helpful with recommendations for activities in the area. Highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
We're so glad you had a wonderful time - and thank you for sharing your experience with others. Come again anytime! - Joy & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 May 2014
We are so glad the cottage was comfortable for your party. We designed it to be family friendly and being right on the shore has advantages too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing