We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Harbour Cottage Inn
Nearby Hotels
Lindenwood Inn(Southwest Harbor)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimball Terrace Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seawall Motel(Southwest Harbor)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Hotel(Southwest Harbor)
Harbor Ridge(Southwest Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Asticou Inn(Northeast Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Seas Motel(Bar Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
240
46
13
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
46
13
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseb bcrepesbar harborprosciuttoeach morningquiet sidebreakfast was deliciousshirred eggsfresh fruitgranolaacadia national parkcorner roomprivate entrancespent nightsquiet respitebed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Harbour Cottage Inn far exceeded our hopes of a clean, quiet, and friendly place to stay, with plenty to do, but away from the crowds of Bar Harbor. About the essentials . . yes very clean rooms, nice bathrooms, plentiful parking, quiet setting, cozy common area, and great breakfasts. But what made Harbour Cottage most memorable and pefect was the warm hopsitality of the innkeepers who treated us as their special friends. We would and will go back again! Note to nature lovers and birders. Its really is a short 20 minute drive to the main part of the Park-the loop road, Jordan Pond, etc. But what is even better is that SW Harbor is only a few minutes from the wilder SW portion of Acadia with the scenic trails at Seawall and Bass Harbor area. Jeff & Chris

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFF N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Jim and I spent 6 nights at the Harbour Cottage Inn B & B. The owners were gracious, pleasant, and kind. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. They were eager to help us plan our days, and had wonderful suggestions for dining. The rooms were clean, and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast menus were good and the service personable. This is the quietest Inn I have been in. The Inn is in a lovely neighborhood within walking distance to Southwest Harbour. The location is within easy driving distance to everything we had planned to do in Acadia. We will be returning to to Harbour Cottage Inn the next time we visit Maine. Carolyn

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Our first visit to the Harbour Cottage Inn was to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We wanted everything to be special. The accommodations and ambience born of tasteful furnishings, tasty breakfasts, and knowledgeable innkeepers far exceeded our expectations...and we are seasoned travelers. We weren’t expecting to make the HCI an annual affair, but this year it will be for our 40th anniversary, and we haven’t missed one in between. Over the years we’ve met many interesting guests at the inn. Some make it their headquarters for a busy, activity-packed vacation. Others look to HCI as a quiet respite from busy, activity-packed lives back home. Based on our experience, it seems to work for everyone.

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of HCI's abundance of information resources for Acadia National Park, as well as sailing, biking, hiking and kayaking adventures nearby.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in the carriage house, which is a converted carriage house. It rained pretty heavily while we there so it was pretty loud at night. It's a great bedroom with kitchen and living space but the bedroom does lack some privacy to the living area because the walls don't reach the ceiling - a point to note if you were thinking of sharing the space with another couple or friend. It was well maintained with a small porch with chairs that overlooked the parking lot. As the carriage house is on the road you will hear street traffic at times.

This B&B is a short walk to downtown Southwest harbor which is small and not as bustling as Bar Harbor. If you don't mind the drive to BH or don't want that scene then this is the place for you.

Breakfast was ok, I wondered if one our meals was previously frozen. Service was great and we had no complaints.

Next time we visit we might stay in Bar Harbor to be closer to the action, but would return here if we wanted the quieter side of things.

Room Tip: carriage house can be noisy but is spacious. bedroom not as private to living area.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfo314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djoel, Owner at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

As always we appreciate candid feedback and see it as an opportunity to be better. Overall this guest had a great stay and we appreciate that they chose to stay with us. The Carriage House cottage is one of our nicest and most spacious units. It has cathedral ceilings for a wonderful feeling of openness. The bedroom walls do in fact not go all the way to the ceiling but they are over 9 feet tall. Leaving them open above 9 feet just gives the cottage a dramatic and airy feeling. The unit is ideal for just 2 but it does have a sleep sofa in the living room for a family that might have 1 or 2 kids. We do not rent the unit to 4 adults. It would just be too crowded and we want our guests to have the best possible experience. The cottage does have a tin roof and most guests thoroughly enjoy the soothing sound of the rain at night.
Our breakfasts are all home made and offer something for everyone. We do not serve frozen food with the exception of sausage which we cook but does come to us frozen. We would love to have these folks give us another try at breakfast as most guests tell us how unique, fresh and enjoyable our service and food is. This is also reflected in most of the reviews here on Trip Advisor. It is our goal to make each visit perfect for our guests but occasionally we miss the mark. All we can do is ask for another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Did someone really write a review complaining about staying in a working harbor town. For me, it was heaven...and I never heard any noise from the boats. Southwest Harbor is one of the few places where you can go and stay and enjoy being a part of the ebb and flow of the sea, with lobster boats coming and going all day, great walks, fun shops great restaurants...you can take a boat over to Cranberry island. I felt like a local! I really liked that the inn was on a quieter street, but close enough to walk to the shops. My room was nice, not fancy, but wonderful, spotless, and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and filling, and the breakfast room is spacious and full of light. The owners Don and Javier were very friendly and they were lots of help deciding what we should do. There was so much, we couldn't fit it all in. Definitely plan to go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the harbor. I loved watching the boats.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodivg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews