We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour Cottage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
stevedore25
1 review
“The best”
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We could not have had a better stay. It is a very comfortable and relaxing spot. I can not even describe how great the breakfast was.
Trust me you will love this place.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stevedore25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    44
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
163
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Pros:
The location; the rooms.

Cons:
Poor breakfast, considering the reputation of the Inn. None of the food appeared to be homemade. This was disappointing because during our tour of New England we had some superb breakfasts; another Inn of this size in Blue Hill [The Blue Hill Inn] even offered a menu of hot breakfast choices.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inchgarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djoel, Innkeeper at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2008
We always welcome feedback from our guests and see constructive comments as opportunities to improve. We appreciate the positive comments regarding our rooms and location.
Although we try our best to please 100% of our guests 100% of the time we sometimes fail to do so. In this case we somehow missed the mark at breakfast according to these guests. If only we had been made aware that they were unhappy during their stay we would have taken immediate steps to make things right for them. As innkeepers we see breakfast as a top priority and start very early each morning preparing our dishes with the freshest available ingredients, from scratch, right here in our own kitchen. In fact our breakfast is very highly rated according to the vast majority of the reviews written by our guests for Trip Advisor.
We will continue to make every effort to strive to be our best in everything we do. Our guests are number one to us and we pledge to strive to get things right 100% of the time. We welcome any feedback that will enable us to reach that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOUNT PROSPECT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We just spent a week at the Harbour Cottage Inn. From the moment we walked in and were welcomed by Don and Javier, our stay was everything we had hoped for! We stayed in the charming and spacious Southwester which was perfect for our family. Our cottage was very comfortable and cleaner than any place I have ever stayed. Each morning we were treated like royalty by the friendly, fun staff as we enjoyed breakfast on the cheerful front porch. The homecooked breakfasts were delicous and the service was exceptional! We were especially grateful for Don and Javier's excellent recommendations for hiking spots, sightseeing, restaurants and anything else we needed. They treated us like friends and we were sad when it was time to leave. When we make our next trip to Maine, we will definitely stay at the Harbour Cottage Inn.

  • Liked — The comfort of our cottage and the hospitality of the owners and staff.
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie2531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2008

This very pleasant, very clean, well-decorated, freshly painted, exceptionally comfortable inn is staffed by very attentive, cheerful attendants and managed by two very capable, friendly and helpful owners.

The rooms, while not huge, are quite comfortable and well-furnished. Our bathroom had a new jacuzzi tub and was fresh and sterile clean everywhere.

The common room is like our living room, and as comfortable and personal. Even a wine cooler is provided for our private bottle. A great place to come home to after an inspiring day in Acadia.

Nearby are several very good resturants, negaing the need to head into Bar Harbour. Be sure to visit the Deckhouse. The entertainment is great.

All in all, highly recommended... and we do not recommend often.

Tom & Jess

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank THBaldwin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, NH
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We found the inn to be exactly what we were looking for in a weekend away to celebrate our first anniversary: peaceful, romantic, and relaxing in a beautiful, quiet setting. We stayed in the Clipper; our room was clean and fresh, the bed was amazingly comfortable, and the soaking tub was nice and deep. The only thing missing was some bubble bath! The breakfasts were delicious and filling; we appreciated the variety of foods from one morning to the next. We had never been to Acadia National Park, but innkeeper Don was very willing to help us plan our activities. The front reading room was a very relaxing place to sit and read or poke around the books on the built-in bookshelves. We enjoyed our stay immensely--it was just too short! We definitely plan to return. At the Harbor Cottage Inn, a traveler would be able to enjoy their vacation, rain or shine.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank jorgie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2008

A calm, professional atmosphere. We stayed in the Harborside Suite (you can see the harbor before the trees leaf out in late May). Clean, comfortable room and superb breakfasts. They were also kind enough to let us stay there with our normally well-behaved toddler. We will stay there again if they'll have us!

  • Liked — Room size/Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RicksterTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2008

My stay at the Harbour Cottage Inn was a wonderful experience. Don and Javier are very gracious hosts, and the Inn is a beautiful place-each room is unique, with a historic, nautical flare.

Breakfast each morning was more than filling, with fresh fruit, cereals, fresh baked goods and a main entree. Definitely right on the mark for all of the hiking and biking I did.

It's a definite recommend and on my "must return to" list!

  • Liked — Very quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NH_Izzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
9.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Cottage Inn

Property: The Harbour Cottage Inn
Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4454
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbour Cottage Inn, a premier bed and breakfast providing very private and elegant lodging in the quiet and historic village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Our beautiful location is steps away from a picturesque working harbor, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, which makes many great adventures possible. The inn is furnished with museum quality art and antiques, and all of our 11 incredible guest rooms and suites offer cozy, comfortable and well-appointed spaces to relax, refresh and renew. Choose from a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suite offering relaxing accommodations for 1 couple 2 couples or even a family of 6. Unlike most bed and breakfasts, some of these suites have private living areas, decks and kitchens. Imagine starting your day over a lovingly prepared breakfast on the porch, or in the living room by the fireplace. Explore restaurants, shopping, marinas and lobster wharves near our Mount Desert Island lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Harbour Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Harbour Cottage Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing