We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, great beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harbour Cottage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Very pleasant - all the typical b and b ammenities. A few minute walk to town so we mostly drove. Great beds - viscoe foam, yum. Breakfast however was only average to us though many others were raving - we thought too sugary and heavy. Well run.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mlandgarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2008

My wife, son and I stayed at Harbour Cottage Inn for seven nights during our vacation at Acadia National Park. The inn is spotless; the rooms are lovely; the staff is friendly; and the breakfasts on the porch were delicious. We especially liked the little conveniences like the butler's pantry where Don and Javier keep wine glasses, coffee mugs, a selection of teas, coffee and hot cocoa and two mini-
refrigerators - one for food, one for wine (with different temperature controlled sections for red and white) - available for use by the guests. Some of the other inns in the area are located on main roads (warning: you can't tell this from their Web sites), but Harbour Cottage is set back into a residential section of Southwest Harbor, a block from the harbor itself, so there's no road noise. Compared to the other inns and hotels we considered when booking our trip, Harbour Cottage offered more of what we were looking for at what we considered to be a very fair price. As a bonus, Don's restaurant recommendations were spot on (Sips and Thurstons are great!); and he also knows the hiking trails, whale watching companies and sea kayaking firms in the area - so when in doubt, ask him for a recommendation. We did, and discovered parts of the island we would have missed otherwise. We'd definitely return to Harbour Cottage Inn..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nationalparkslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

What a wonderful surprise to find this great inn. We shared with friends one of the cottages and enjoyed every moment of our stay.
Very nice floor plan to accommodate 2 couples, updated bathroom and kitchen. I am a not a fan of the" rustic maritime design", therefore I appreciated the tastefully decorated rooms. Calming pastels( Martha Stewar's style) with great attention to details mostly found in 4 star hotels. Rooms are large and have nice views. The Inn serves a wonderful breakfast. Overall, everything exceeding my expectations and look forward to another visit. Congratulations to the innkeepers for creating such a retreat!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bythewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

My wife and I needed a place to get away from it all for a few days. We googled Inns in the Maine coastal area and picked Harbour Cottage Inn in Southwest Harbor, Maine. It was a wonderful three days on the "quiet side" of the island. The gracious hospitality provided by Don, Javier and staff was exemplary. Our room was cozy and well appointed, breakfast was "five star" each morning, and we were torn between relaxing at the Inn and exploring the wonders of Mount Desert island and Acadia National Park. The Inn has been beautifully refurbished with an eclectic mix of art, furnishings and antiques - all combined to provide a welcoming and relaxing setting. We highly recommend the Harbour Cottage Inn and hope to return many more times.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petersholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We could not have had a better stay. It is a very comfortable and relaxing spot. I can not even describe how great the breakfast was.
Trust me you will love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stevedore25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Pros:
The location; the rooms.

Cons:
Poor breakfast, considering the reputation of the Inn. None of the food appeared to be homemade. This was disappointing because during our tour of New England we had some superb breakfasts; another Inn of this size in Blue Hill [The Blue Hill Inn] even offered a menu of hot breakfast choices.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inchgarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djoel, Innkeeper at The Harbour Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2008

We always welcome feedback from our guests and see constructive comments as opportunities to improve. We appreciate the positive comments regarding our rooms and location.
Although we try our best to please 100% of our guests 100% of the time we sometimes fail to do so. In this case we somehow missed the mark at breakfast according to these guests. If only we had been made aware that they were unhappy during their stay we would have taken immediate steps to make things right for them. As innkeepers we see breakfast as a top priority and start very early each morning preparing our dishes with the freshest available ingredients, from scratch, right here in our own kitchen. In fact our breakfast is very highly rated according to the vast majority of the reviews written by our guests for Trip Advisor.
We will continue to make every effort to strive to be our best in everything we do. Our guests are number one to us and we pledge to strive to get things right 100% of the time. We welcome any feedback that will enable us to reach that goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We just spent a week at the Harbour Cottage Inn. From the moment we walked in and were welcomed by Don and Javier, our stay was everything we had hoped for! We stayed in the charming and spacious Southwester which was perfect for our family. Our cottage was very comfortable and cleaner than any place I have ever stayed. Each morning we were treated like royalty by the friendly, fun staff as we enjoyed breakfast on the cheerful front porch. The homecooked breakfasts were delicous and the service was exceptional! We were especially grateful for Don and Javier's excellent recommendations for hiking spots, sightseeing, restaurants and anything else we needed. They treated us like friends and we were sad when it was time to leave. When we make our next trip to Maine, we will definitely stay at the Harbour Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie2531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
99 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Cottage Inn

Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4454
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: £172 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbour Cottage Inn, a premier bed and breakfast providing very private and elegant lodging in the quiet and historic village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Our beautiful location is steps away from a picturesque working harbor, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, which makes many great adventures possible. The inn is furnished with museum quality art and antiques, and all of our 11 incredible guest rooms and suites offer cozy, comfortable and well-appointed spaces to relax, refresh and renew. Choose from a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suite offering relaxing accommodations for 1 couple 2 couples or even a family of 6. Unlike most bed and breakfasts, some of these suites have private living areas, decks and kitchens. Imagine starting your day over a lovingly prepared breakfast on the porch, or in the living room by the fireplace. Explore restaurants, shopping, marinas and lobster wharves near our Mount Desert Island lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Harbour Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Harbour Cottage Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing