We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fiddlers Green” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiddlers' Green - CLOSED

Fiddlers' Green
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fiddlers' Green provides: - outstanding quality of food and service in a warm, casual and fun atmosphere overlooking the ocean in Southwest Harbor, ME The cuisine is prepared daily using: - the finest seasonal ingredients - local and organic produce - farm raised meats - the very best fish the oceans have to offerThe culinary style: - celebrates New England traditions without being bound by them. - Influences of Italy, Spain, France, Austria, Asia and the Southwest can be found throughout new menu items introduced dailyWe offer: - a wide range of classic cocktails, specialty martinis, wines by the glass, aperitifs and a complete wine list with over 100 selections as well as cognacs, single malt scotches and digestives - Online Ordering for "ToGo" ordersOur goal: - is to make you feel welcome. We look forward to your visit! NOW OFFERING GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS!
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fiddlers Green”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Right across from Acadia cottages. Nice old fashioned "Maine" style restaurant. Food was delicious and there were many choices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank whitesands226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    63
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated. Poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

#1: Mediocre food. Two tough steaks, bland pork, and a "medium" burger that was bordering rare. The vegetable medley tasted sour. The food sounded amazing on the menu, and was reasonably priced, but did not deliver.
#2: Terrible service. We asked for butter and oil to go with the bread, and only got oil. Then, we asked for more bread WITH BUTTER for the meal, and got neither. We could have asked again if anyone came to check on us during the meal, but they didn't. Our waiter took forever to do anything. We wanted to order dessert, but didn't want to wait for it. If it was anything like the dinner, it would have been a disappointment anyway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrenchCruller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I had our 31st anniversary dinner celebration here; The entire experience was wonderful. The service was great, the atmosphere lovely, and the food and drink phenomenal. We did not have reservations, nor did we read anything about the establishment beforehand, so it was a terrific surprise to find this restaurant right in Southwest Harbor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, RI
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed on Southwest Harbor during our vacation to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The service was very good. Servers and support staff were very attentive. Food was also very good. I would recommend Fiddler's Green

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yakuza744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
“pleasant service, good entree, terrible salad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Three people and semi-vegetarian. Ordered eggplant lasagna, Trout Livornese, and roasted squash salad. The eggplant and trout were okay. Trout was a little dry but personal preference. The salad was horrible: squash was not evenly cooked, pecans were burnt, dressing was uneven and minimal, and serving way too small for $8. We also had asked the server if the kitchen can make an entree size salad and he brought out two plates of regular size salad. It was really disappointing. The waiter was attentive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maple T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiddlers' Green also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing