We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Food”
Review of Fiddlers' Green - CLOSED

Fiddlers' Green
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fiddlers' Green provides: - outstanding quality of food and service in a warm, casual and fun atmosphere overlooking the ocean in Southwest Harbor, ME The cuisine is prepared daily using: - the finest seasonal ingredients - local and organic produce - farm raised meats - the very best fish the oceans have to offerThe culinary style: - celebrates New England traditions without being bound by them. - Influences of Italy, Spain, France, Austria, Asia and the Southwest can be found throughout new menu items introduced dailyWe offer: - a wide range of classic cocktails, specialty martinis, wines by the glass, aperitifs and a complete wine list with over 100 selections as well as cognacs, single malt scotches and digestives - Online Ordering for "ToGo" ordersOur goal: - is to make you feel welcome. We look forward to your visit! NOW OFFERING GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS!
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Food”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I toured New England for the two weeks September 23rd to 7th October 2013 to view the fall foliage. We travelled from Boston up to Bar Harbor, across to the White Mountains, down through Vermont, the Adirondacks and onto the Berkshire Hills. We selected our accommodation and eating places from Trip Adviser Reviews. We have reviewed each of the hotels, motels and bed and breakfast places that we stayed in and also many of the places we ate and drank in along the way. If you would like to view our reviews for the rest of the places on this trip click on my screen name on the left.
We ate at the Fiddlers Green Restaurant the evening of the 25th September.. I had spicy ribs for a starter followed by the 18 hour cooked pork. My wife had smoked mussels with mushrooms for a starter, followed by a creamy pasta with lobster The service and the food were excellent. The portions were just about right for British appetites and we both felt replete. We did make a mistake in asking for a cup of tea. As is usual in the USA, were given a pot of hot water and then had to put the tea bags in. We thought that as the meal and service was so good that we would get a proper cup of tea, but sadly no. We loved the Fiddlers Green and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area.
Good Points. Excellent Service and food.
Negative Points. They do not know how to make a proper cup of tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    63
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A disappointing meal”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate tonight (notice I did not say dined) at Fiddler's Green. This is a mediocre restaurant at best, one that wants patrons to think it's fine dining when in reality it's only a notch above Outback or some other chain restaurant that doesn't really put the effort into their entrees. I say a notch above because the service was good and their wine list was decent and we enjoyed a nice bottle of Pucini Zinfandel. My wife ordered the scallops (bland would be giving the dish too much credit) and I had the short-ribs (which were on special and should have been on life support...way over-cooked and too much spice). Having read many of the reviews before eating at this restaurant, I know the owner responds to all critical reviews. My advice is to put more effort into your kitchen than spending time on your computer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jr43528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always great food!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Have been there a few times now, over the last couple years. The food has always been a little unique, very flavorful and interesting. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkillamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“pretty good place”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We drove to this restaurant from our Clark's Point Inn "base." Could have walked it in about 15 minutes, but didn't know that when we set out. This restaurant was quite up to par with what we are accustomed to in the DC area, our home. Good, but Red Sky was a bit better over all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would retur N”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice dinner. Lobster and the salmon special were both excellent. Enjoyed the bread and salad also. Atmospher was relaxing and we could hear one another easily. Service was good. Would definitely come back if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiddlers' Green also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing