We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, easy, fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fiddlers' Green - CLOSED

Fiddlers' Green
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fiddlers' Green provides: - outstanding quality of food and service in a warm, casual and fun atmosphere overlooking the ocean in Southwest Harbor, ME The cuisine is prepared daily using: - the finest seasonal ingredients - local and organic produce - farm raised meats - the very best fish the oceans have to offerThe culinary style: - celebrates New England traditions without being bound by them. - Influences of Italy, Spain, France, Austria, Asia and the Southwest can be found throughout new menu items introduced dailyWe offer: - a wide range of classic cocktails, specialty martinis, wines by the glass, aperitifs and a complete wine list with over 100 selections as well as cognacs, single malt scotches and digestives - Online Ordering for "ToGo" ordersOur goal: - is to make you feel welcome. We look forward to your visit! NOW OFFERING GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS!
Vermont
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quiet, easy, fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We try to get to Fiddlers' Green each year we go to Mount Desert. Last year we missed, this year we made it. Even in late June they are not yet in full mode, being only open a few nights a week. But we managed to fit an open night into our schedule and theirs. The menu is much the same from year to year but it remains well done with calm and competent service. There is the promise of a view just beyond the trees but only a corner of the harbor is really visible from the big windows. No disappointment as the food makes up for that.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMLVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    63
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Food is excellent-we eat here every year when visiting MDI and are never disappointed. Everything from burgers to fresh seafood specials is delicious and they have many gluten-free options if you require such things. Wait staff, to a man, were personable and efficient. Wine list is great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fiddler's Green is our number one favorite restaurant in Southwest Harbor. It's within walking distance of the inn where we always stay - that's a plus. Food is excellent. Make sure you try the lobster strozzapretti pasta. It's usually pretty full so be sure to make reservations. But even crowded the noise level is good. There is a screened in outdoor seating area as well as air conditioned inside dining. The wait staff is more than courteous. Looking forward to going there again in August 2014.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTWRUBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GF options galore!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Yippee! They are open and have added lots of gluten free options. I counted 18 GF and 6 GF optional items on the menu. And ciders in bottle and on tap.

I had Poblano Chile Relleno - oven roasted and packed with Cotija cheese with chile romesco, black eyed peas and seared garnet yam. Fantastic!

My lovely wife had the gluten free Eggplant Lasagna, with almond/pecan basil pesto, peppers, onions, fresh tomato, spinach, mushrooms, chevre & mozzarella cheeses. Yummy!

The chef/owner told us he did an elimination diet this winter and learned he had some food intolerances. So lots of new recipes!

Helpful?
Thank mmmbeer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love the stroganoff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have been here a few times over the last year. The staff are easy to get along with, the food its self reminded me of a place in Ireland. Went in twice over the St Paddys day celebrations and was good to taste some proper creamy Guinness away from the Emerald isles. All in all it hit the spot

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mancheltland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiddlers' Green also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing