We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic summer escape by the ocean!”
Review of Harbor Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbor Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Harbor Ridge, overlooking Somes Sound as it enters Southwest Harbor, was the perfect spot to visit Acadia National Park and all that it has to offer. The "Quietside" is such a beautiful area from which to start your daily adventures. Hiking, biking, sailing, boating, dining, shopping, sight-seeing are just some of the offerings available to you. Another whole year until we return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_Don_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Harbor Ridge lies peacefully on a quiet street in Southwest Harbor, Maine. Its three story units offer space and privacy. Units have all basic necessities, even a lobster pot if you want to cook the lobsters yourself. They provide outdoor BBQ grills and picnic tables if you want to do your own grilling. There is a deck outside the living room and one off the upstairs master bedroom. There is also a trail through the woods if you want to walk the shortcut into town. The clubhouse offers several areas to sit comfortably and enjoy the ocean views. The heated indoor pool allows you to swim even on cool Maine nights.

Southwest Harbor is nicknamed "Quiet Side" as it sits on the less busy side of Mt. Desert Island. It is definitely an easy gateway to Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, and other beautiful ocean towns. The Island Explorer Shuttle Service provides free transportation throughout Acadia and surrounding towns. Park your car in the free parking areas and let someone else do the driving while you sit back and enjoy the scenery to your destination.

Room Tip: This is a timeshare property. All units are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank cgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I love this place and We just finished our week here. The only reason it is not getting five stars is the first unit we were in the decks railings are not up to safety standards. My 17 month old could run right out and off the deck. Thankfully we were sitting there right beside her as she stuck her whole body between the posts. We talked to the front desk and they moved us. We walked around and for some reason only this one bldg had this issue with all the decks. They hopefully will fix this issue before long but if I was staying there I would double check with them first. Other than that I loved it very clean great views. And so close to everything but also very quiet. Can t wait to go back. Kids had a blast

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maineinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We really enjoyed our first trip to Maine, and staying at Harbor Ridge was part of the reason. The staff was very helpful in suggesting things to do, and our unit was very nice with a harbor view. We especially enjoyed the three hour Island Cruises boat trip where we saw bald eagles and dozens of seals, learned first hand about the lobstering industry, and visited the quaint town of Frenchboro on Long Island. And, of course, Acadia National Park is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have come here for >15 years and have always had a great experience! Staff is available and helpful. Acadia is magical! Beat for outdoor activities... hiking, biking, kayaking, nature tours by land or boat, beach (fresh water and salt) and reading! Beautiful Gardens nearby in Northeast Harbor,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JFD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We love Harbor Ridge and have been going there for 16 years. The staff is very helpful & accommodating, creating a family-like atmosphere. Numerous amenities & proximity to Acadia National Park provide opportunities to keep busy or just relax. You can enjoy outdoor activities such as hiking, biking, kayaking or going on one of the many boat rides available nearby. Or you can explore the many stores and museums in Bar Harbor, as well as the surrounding towns.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our family enjoyed a very pleasant week at Harbor Ridge in Southwest Harbor. The resort is welcoming, clean and the staff very helpful. Location is five minutes from downtown Southwest Harbor where you'll find very nice shops and restaurants. Be sure to visit Little Notch Bakery for lovely pies, tarts and scones as well as breads and pizza. XYZ Restaurant (XYZMaine.com) is a fabulous and unexpected find - an authentic Mexican Restaurant on par with any in Manhattan. Thurston's Lobster Pound (Thurstonslobster.com) a few minutes east in Bernard is a quintessential Maine experience. Finally don't miss Common Good Coffee House on Seawall Rd where you'll enjoy delicious popovers, slow cooked oatmeal and coffee as well as live music. Your donation supports a soup kitchen that operates year round to help folks through the Maine winter.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestaurantReview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
1.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
9.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
9.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Ridge

Address: 39 Freeman Ridge Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: £88 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Ridge is a 40-unit vacation ownership luxury condominium in Southwest Harbor, Maine. Most of our units are two-bedroom, sleep 6 townhouses that span three stories. There are also three one-bedroom, sleep four townhouses that span three stories. Each three-story, two-bedroom townhouse has a fully equipped kitchen, 2 1/2 baths, washer, dryer, and a cozy living room with TV and DVD/VCR. Each story has a private balcony with most of our buildings having an ocean view from the top floor. The resort also has a one-story handicap accessible unit (Unit 51) that has two bedrooms, one bath, a kitchen, and a living room with a balcony. Our clubhouse has an indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, and on-site DVD/VHS video rentals. We have a playground, an outdoor tennis court, horseshoe pits, and charcoal barbecue picnic areas. The resort is affiliated with the exchange company Interval International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbor Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Ridge Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbor Ridge Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing