We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have a craving for carving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wendell Gilley Museum

Wendell Gilley Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover where people, art and nature meet in Maine. The Wendell Gilley Museum is a community center that celebrates the life and work of Wendell Gilley, a pioneer in the field of decorative bird carving. It teaches the art of bird carving and presents art exhibitions and educational programs with a special focus on people, nature and art. Enjoy a casual visit, enroll in a workshop, or join our members' carving club. Discover one of the "hidden gems" of Mount Desert Island.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you have a craving for carving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This is not only a wonderful museum if you like carvings of birds, decoys, etc., but if you'd like to try your hands at carving as well, with help from their carver-in-residence. They also have excellent carving supplies, books, and blanks to help you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklin, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing avian art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a lovely, welcoming and utterly un-stuffy museum. The bird carvings on display are so beautiful, so life-like; the bald eagle is life size and spectacular.

There are carvers in a back area which visitors are welcome to visit and if you have the time, they will put a carving tool in your hand and you can try to carve something yourself!!!

They have a lovely gift shop where we got some of our most treasured Christmas ornaments.

For anyone remotely interested in birds, this museum is a must see, and it is an added bonus that it is located in one of MDI's nicest, quietside towns.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just a great story about a local artisan -- wonderful display and knowledgeable curator on site. Wood carver was working while we were visiting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Glad we stopped at this cute museum. There is not a lot of rooms to go through, but it is very interesting and worth the price of admission.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilleyMuseum, Nina, Executive Director at Wendell Gilley Museum, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We're glad you stopped in too! Most of our visitors find our size makes us more personable and enjoyable than larger museums. Even those initially just looking for an indoor haven on a rainy day or relief from hot weather in our air conditioned galleries discover that we have much more to offer. After strolling among the exhibits of "cool birds" and other currently featured art (Out of the Woods: The Art and Nature of C. A. Porter Hopkins through 8/3/2013), visitors can enjoy a nature film or documentary about Wendell Gilley, assemble a unique 6-sided owl puzzle, visit with our Carver-in-Resdence, look up a bird sighting in our specialized library or browse the Museum store. Carvers and would-be carvers are invited to sign up for a workshop. Classes from 2 hours to 10 weeks in duration are part of our year-round schedule. Casual visitors often become life-long members, so by all means, come see us again next time you are in Southwest Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Museum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We almost didn't stop here, thinking it would probably be boring. But, for only a $5 entrance fee, we went in to look around. After we looked for about 15 minutes, we watched a video about
Wendall Gilley's life and how he got started in bird carvings. It is so amazing what he could do
with a piece of wood! After the video, we enjoyed looking at his work even more and marveled at his talent. It's worth a stop if you're in Southwest Harbor on Mount Desert Island, ME.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wendell Gilley Museum also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Wendell Gilley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing