We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Day was certainly not Enough!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorings Inn Waterfront
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our visit to The Moorings Inn was way too short, but sweet. For starters, we were upgraded to a great room looking over the bay. The manager, Nicole, and Vicky were very helpful when we had a personal business crisis and had to scan/print/fax documents right there. Perhaps the icing was the staff sharing great hikes - usually only known to locals - as the National Park was closed when we were there in early October. A longer stay is definitely on the To Do list.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to help connect the dots for both business & pleasure. Hope you have the opportunity to return and relax even longer. Happy vacationing to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We only spent one day/night at the Moorings Inn with weather that was rainy and dismal, which was unfortunate as the location and view would have been perfect for our final night in beautiful Maine.
We had the Red Jacket room which was comfortable with a nice screened porch attached.
The staff at the desk both in the evening and morning were friendly and helpful. We asked for suggestions for dinner-- and were given numerous menus for restaurants in the area.
We did need to ask for towels -- fortunately someone was still on the premises to get some for us and we also appreciated knowing Security was available if needed.
A continental breakfast was available in the morning -- and while that was appreciated it would have been nice to have something related to Maine (warm blueberry muffin with jam) -- and a table to sit at (we sat on the couch) but overall we really had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryTom2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Red Jacket guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Moorings Inn. We do our best to serve and meet the needs of our guests. We want all to relax and enjoy their stay. On a more picturesque day our ocean view lawn with lounging furniture does serve as our dining room. On the other weather days we encourage our guests to utilize our communal living room, or their own accommodations. We are proud to provide a continental breakfast. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I had a great time at Moorings Inn while traveling for work. The manager is super sweet, and the rooms are great (and affordable!). It is not far from many of the popular trails in Acadia, and much more inexpensive than staying in Bar Harbor. and there are some very good restaurants nearby. I definitely plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyFromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We would love to have you back. Thank you for being our guests, and embracing the treasures of the Quietside. Yes, plenty of Acadia in any direction from here. We are lucky to have such a wide variety of restaurants in this little local area. As our cottages are available all year round I've been organizing the restaurant lists for this off-season. There is plenty of yummy food to be enjoyed in our upcoming cozy wood fire season.
Best to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

For an 18th century Captain's Home, I think this is doing pretty well.
We stayed in Spindrift, and we had a lovely picture window to welcome the day each morning, and watch the sunset each night. The only thing I didn't really like about the room was that the bathroom was not private (no door). Next year, we're shooting for the Dauntless Suite.

Because the home is so old, it has noise leaks - you can really hear people moving about in the other rooms. This was not a problem for us, because all of the guests were courteous about their voice level and heaviness of feet down the hall. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows could use replacement. There were plenty of blankets to keep us warm.
The staff was lovely, and helped us navigate to the best places all around - parking, food, hiking. Having hot/cold drinking water was really nice.

The breakfast was just what I expected and wanted - some fruit, cheese, hard boiled eggs. (the coffee is not good, so we passed on that - but we're snobs about coffee).

We paid for the view and to be on the (very) Quietside. We were comfortable enough, and this is a great base of operation. We did not go to ME in October to be pampered to death, we just wanted some peace and quiet, good views, and rest. This fit the bill. See you next year.

Room Tip: Download the white noise App to use at night - cuts down on other guest noise. Spindrift does not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMWDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We enjoyed being your hosts. Your appreciation of our relaxed yet comfortable setting is what we stride for. Thank you for your thoughts.

Yes, Spindrift suite does have a unique layout. There is a door from the bedroom to enter the bathroom/sitting room, which provides privacy. This sitting room is also the travel way to enter your private deck.

We are happy the breakfast met your expectations. We have worked hard to accommodate a full breakfast (taking today’s common health concerns into consideration) without having a full kitchen or dining room in the main house. We serve Folgers coffee. I have ensured that we keep this brand name. Yes, not an organic blend (which many of us do prefer) but a tasty crowd pleasing option just the same. Most days I feel I am in a coffee commercial. Managing the desk of this Oceanside inn, with our guests sipping our coffee saying; “uhm, this is good”.

A loving write up we received in a 1988 print edition of “America’s Wonderful Little Hotels & Inns East” describes this inn owned by the King family as a no-frills inn; “Neither fancy, nor precious, it is one of the homiest, least fussy places we have ever stayed in…..Sitting up in the bed in our great big suite, we could almost convince ourselves we were on a boat: our huge picture window showed us nothing but the sound and neighboring yachts. We’ve been thinking about the Moorings since the day we left, and we can’t wait to go back again.”

We truly enjoyed your stay and review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights on our honeymoon, Sep 29-Oct 1. After a leisurely ride up the Maine coast we were very excited when we reached the Moorings Inn. After alot of time researching Mt. Desert Island, I decided on the Pilot Cottage and couldn't have been more happy. I talked to the manager, Nichole, on the phone a few times and was convinced this is where we wanted spend our honeymoon. When we arrived early Sunday evening, the front desk was very accomodating and answered any questions we had. They gave us great suggestions for dinner and had menus to look at of surrounding restaurants. The cottage was incredible. There was so many different, interesting decorations and pictures. The two person jacuzzi tub was a treat. We had a screened in porch with a view of the harbor. We also had a working fireplace we used one evening, the Inn provided the wood. There was a pier where I was able to view the most incredible sunrises!! Definetely get up to see it!! There was a satisfying continental breakfast each morning and always coffee available in the main house. I look forward to coming back and staying in the Pilot Cottage again!!! The Moorings Inn made my honeymoon the best ever!! Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaily215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Congratulations to you both! We could not be more touched that your momentous celebration was so fulfilling. Love your photos; especially the sunrises, and the one with the crows on the arbor. What a lovely "Mainer" eye you have. We look forward to being a retreat/anniversary home away from home for you. Best to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed there 1 night. I wished we had stayed there all of our 4 nights because the Moorings Inn is a total delight. It is very quaint, quiet and peaceful. It is situated right on the harbor. You are very close to Bass Harbor Light, Seawall and other Acadia points of interest. We stayed in “Port” -- a very charming cottage on the second floor. It had a little kitchen and woodstove The continental breakfast is yummy. I highly recommend this inn. The staff is absolutely wonderful.
Eating Place not to miss:
Common Good Café – scrumptious popovers (Southwest Harbor)
Captain Nemo – local bar with billiards and delicious sweet potatoes fries (Southwest Harbor)
Amigo del Diablo - Mexican food: great tacos and burritos at a reasonable price (Bar Harbor)

Room Tip: They have some rooms that are hard to get to because of stairs. "Port" Cottage has a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

What a pleasure to have you come and stay. Mansell Port is one of our accommodations that is open year round. A great place to sit back and have a wood fire in the even quiter season. So happy you enjoyed a variety of local favorites. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This inn was wonderful. Away from the hussle of Bar Harbor, view of the real fishermen's harbor on one side and bay to ocean on the other. Right on the water, lovely lawn and pier.
I could have my well behaved dog with me. Very welcoming, serene, real Maine .
And at once close to everything on Mt Desert Island. I will stay here when i come again.

Room Tip: So many choices, all great ,unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We are so happy that we were a great fit for you. We are proud to be pet friendly, and encourage our guests to relax and breathe in this serenity. We embrace that the Moorings Inn represents a simpler time. When life was calmer. We too enjoy that we are a 3 minute car ride to stand in Acadia, while our view looks out to every mountain peak in the National Park. You are always welcome back at the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.8 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
9.8 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
301 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Inn Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Inn Waterfront

Address: 133 Shore Rd., Route 102-102A, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic waterfront inn located at the base of Somes Sound , the only natural fjord on the east coast. Relax and try to hear the "somes sound" as you unwind and breathe in the salt air. Cottages, suites, and rooms await you. Boating facilites on site with captains eagerly awaiting to transport you to one of the outter islands to explore or to simply admire the scenery from a boat of your choosing-sail or motor. Cottages have wood burning fireplaces and whirlpool tubs with ocean side porches. We inn vite you to drop your anchor here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moorings Inn Waterfront Hotel Manset
The Moorings Inn Waterfront Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing