We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect nest to rest and enjoy Acadia NP” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acadia Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect nest to rest and enjoy Acadia NP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in one of the studio cottages and loved our time there. It is so peaceful and in a great location. The cottage is clean, functional and the surroundings add plenty of charm. From southwest harbor, we were a short drive to Bass Habor lighthouse and some easy trails to the ocean. We enjoyed super fresh lobster at Thurston in Bernard, only a few miles away. Definitely worth the visit, it was our best dinner of lobster in Maine. Even though Avadia NP was shut, we were still able to access all the hiking trails from the main roads. We parked at the end of Schooner Head road one one day to hike Beehive and the ocean path and the next day we left the car at Otter creek to ascend Mt Cadillac from the south trail. Bar Harbor is only a 20min drive from Acadia Cottage so very easy access. Lisa and Gordon who own the cottages are very friendly hosts and have tons of advice for hikes, bike rides and restaurants. They have maps of the area and the trails as well as guide books. We would not hesitate in recommending this place and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YseultPonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here before heading to the busier Bar Harbor area. I'm so glad we had the opportunity to explore the quieter south west side of the island too.

The cottages are perfect - secluded, clean and contain everything you need. They are within walking distance of breakfast, dinner and a good bike hire shop (you can do a nice road ride right from the cottage).

We were supplied with clear instructions and directions prior to check in as well as lots of useful info upon check in. The owners are environmentally responsible - encouraging recycling, re-use of towels etc.

What I liked best about the cottages is the fact that we could well have been in the woods yet were within walking distance of everything that we needed.

We would recommend these cottages and Acadia!

Ps The best lobster we tried was Thurston's Lobster Pound in Bernard.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tubbs_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Lisa and Gordon are friendly hosts, eager to be helpful. Their cabins are spread out on a wooded property so that each has maximal privacy. They are well planned, down to the smallest detail, and well maintained. Their are additional amenties such as a laundry room and bike shed. The cabin we were in (#7) was comfortably roomy. Gordon's photos, which adorn the walls and are also on sale, add a nice twist: you feel his love for the area you're visiting. The location is excellent. We spent five nights here, and would have gladly stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaacov L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
274 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and really loved the place. We stayed in a deluxe cabin (#15) and were really impressed with how comfortable the cabin was. The bed/bedroom was amazing. The small kitchen was very utilitarian and really helped us to avoid eating out for every meal-wish gets expensive and potentially unhealthy. The living room was comfy and really made us feel at home.

We did some laundry while there and while we didn't use the grills that were provided we could see us doing that on a less busy trip. The one downside is my girlfriend loves baths and would have preferred that to a shower...and the shower is definitely on the small side but other than that it's hard to find fault with the place. The owners definitely have put a lot of thought into the place. I also think their environmental efforts are very commendable...while you are by no means forced to recycle (something we do everywhere we go anyway) that is strongly encouraged and their is some info gently nudging patrons to compost, conserve energy and this was all fine with us. While I don't think we would give ourselves and A+ I would give ourselves a B+ to A- and while it was a tiny bit of extra effort I wish more lodging would think like that. We did notice on our 9 night trip to Maine every place had recycling of some sort and I think that is Excellent, but I would be the first to acknowledge that traveling isn't the greenest thing we as people do and more efforts could be done by the hospitality industry and I think Acadia Cottages is one of the more forward thinking lodgings offered on the island. While that wasn't a deciding factor, it is one that would increase the odds that we would come back.

Room Tip: We loved the Deluxe Cabin!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troy mcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked 5 days in September (sadly, business shortened the trip to three). It's quiet, comfortable, really clean, and convenient to just about everywhere. We were able to cook comfortably, and there is a nice deck (if it's sunny).

We'd come back here. . . and spend much more time. Great location, cosy cottage.

Room Tip: We would go for the larger cottage. . . just to stretch a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Three nights here gave us an opportunity to explore Mt. Desert Island's seas, shores and sights, from Bass Island to Bar Harbor, with Acadian National Park as a Maine attraction. The cottages are nicely placed and appointed. The only indication we had of others being around was the occasional sound of a car on gravel. There may well be other places that are as convenient, comfortable and quiet as Acadia Cottages, but we are glad we found this one and look forward to coming back when we win a free week in the recycling sweepstakes the owners run.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucejudyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

After a rather decadent stay in Moosehead Lake, we chilled out at these perfect cottages. They are small and rather spartan (we chose a studio), but spanking clean and in a great location. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sink, etc. Heat worked great too. Service fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subal428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
9.6 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Cottages

Property: Acadia Cottages
Address: 410 Main St, Mount Desert Island, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4247
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acadia Cottages is located on Mount Desert Island surrounded by Acadia National Park. Tucked away beneath a tranquil forest canopy, Acadia Cottages offers privacy yet it is within walking distance of the village of Southwest Harbor including its many charming restaurants and shops. Tom and Vickie Zacharias look forward to welcoming you and helping to provide an ideal base from which to explore Acadia National Park, nearby Bar Harbor and other island attractions and activities. Stay for two nights or two weeks. Your choice! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acadia Cottages Hotel Southwest Harbor
Acadia Cottages Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing