We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
Review of Acadia Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acadia Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Wyncote
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We are a family of 5 and stayed in #7, which had a King bed, a pullout couch and an air mattress. Our 12 year slept on the incredibly comfortable sofa, which she did not pull out, and our 4 year twins started out on the air mattress but would inevitably end up in the King sized bed with my wife and I. The location of the cabins is perfect! Every morning I would walk 5 minutes into town for a supply of danish and a paper and we would plan our day. The island is very small and it was never more than a 20 minute drive to anything. After spending a day in Bar Harbor we were glad we chose the much quieter Southwest Harbor as our base, especially after checking the prices of similar accomodations in Bar Harbor. It was truly a great value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This is the perfect cottage community if you want the "woodsy" feel while also being near a harbor on Mount Desert Island. My husband & I were awed at the welcoming feeling when we opened the door the first time. Not only had the owner already personally informed us of nearby great restaurants & activities, etc., but she had fresh baked cookies waiting for our arrival upon entering our cabin. The decor of Cabin 1 was an updated cozy & comfortable feel with an amazing view of the woods right outside our large window. Anything you think you need or want is there in the cabin, including dishes, extra blankets, toiletries & more. We strolled down the drive to see other cabins and noticed they were all well spaced apart so everyone could have peace & privacy. We also really enjoyed the challenge of the internationally used recycle/compost program we were invited to partake in. The location is great, as you can walk to great nearby restaurants as well as drive 5-10 min to the harbor or other shops/restaurants. And although the cottages are off the main road, they set back so that even if you stay in the first cabin, Cabin 1 (like us), you do not hear a single car go by. This location in Southwest Harbor gave us a chance to explore more of MDI, while not being far from attractions of Acadia. We couldn't have asked for more!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KYCoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here 3 nights early in Sept. in cottage #11-the last one on the road. It was quiet and peaceful, just what we wanted. The only downside was the mosquitos, which made it impossible to sit out on the deck in the evening. So we sat at the inside table and looked out through the windows instead. We had planned to do some cooking for ourselves but found the kitchen area a little too small, so went out instead. Our rustic queen studio had a full size refrigerator, microwave, 2 burner cooktop (no oven) and basic dishes and kitchen equipment. We took advantage of the computer in the office area to catch up on our email. They also had movies and games and books to borrow if you wanted. The drive to the national park was easy since we were there after labor day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We just came back from 6 nights in the Acadia Cabins. This was our second visit there, and this time we stayed in a king rustic cabin. The cabin was beautiful, clean and quiet. Even though it was the cabin nearest the road, traffic noise was minimal. The owners are ecologically responsible, and this sense is woven into the entire experience there. The cabins are impeccably clean, but with no chemical cleaning smells. The towels and sheets are the best we've ever encountered in years of hotel stays. Your privacy is respected -- even to the point of instructions on what to do with your trash if you don't want them emptying it. Prints of Gordon's beautiful and thought-provoking nature photographs hang on the walls. Fresh cookies greet you when you open the door. You're in walking distance of downtown Southwest Harbor, with plenty of good restaurants. Fiddlers Green right across the street offers elegant cuisine and the Dry Dock further into town has a bar and good food. Our only advice to visitors to MDI is to avoid off-season cruise to Little Cranberry Island (Islesford). The ride over was nice, but the island itself could only be described as not visitor-friendly. The Cranberry Cove Ferry leaves you there for two hours, and it's a long two hours.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed for six days and thought the cabins were great. They were clean and newly refurbished, and exactly as represented on their website. Ours was right at the back and beautifully quiet....all we could hear were the 'forest noises'! The owners were very friendly, and restaurants were within walking distance. We ate at the Fiddler's Green right across the road one night, and would recommend it too. We would definitely go back again.......and judging by the visitors book in the cabin, so would everyone who stayed there!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank J0Ge0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Acadia Cottages (formerly Acadia Cabins) is a treasure. Located within a 5 minute walk from downtown Southwest Harbor, inn keepers Lisa and Gordon are the perfect hosts. Given that it is on the “quietside” of MDI this is a very good value and quiet place to stay.

Acadia Cottages is environmentally friendly with water conservation measures and recycling practices.

Details, details, details… Lisa had anticipated all our needs and then some.
We will be back and we will enjoy another stay with great hosts. If you are coming to MDI stay on the “quietside’ and stay at Acadia Cottages.

Sounds like a commercial but we did indeed love our stay at Acadia Cottages.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayaker1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Had a fantastic stay at Acadia Cottages (was Acadia Cabins) - spent 5 nights and would have liked to have spend even more. Gordon and Lisa are great hosts - provided excellent recommendations on a variety of activities and were very accessible. Gordon's also an accomplished photographer - you can see his work on the walls of the cottages. Our cottage (#8) was large enough for a family of 4 with two young kids; the kitchen was solid - we enjoyed having a few meals here. Place is eco-friendly - we even were able to separate our compost here - a first for us on the road. Rooms are spotless, very quiet and were recently redone, with modern appliances. Wifi signal was strong, also have PC with internet in office, along with loads of info and videos/books to borrow. Laundry room is also handy. Price is very fair for what you get. Only thing missing was a gorgeous water view, but that is only a few minutes away.

Short walk into town, with lots of eating choices, and tons of great exploring to do nearby - Wonderland is a great place to walk around the coast, Bass Harbor has spectacular views, Echo Lake has good swimming, Great Long Pond has kayaking and there are loads of great hikes nearby - even without traveling to the "busy" or East side of the island. We did go rock climbing with Acadia Mountain Guides, which was great, and cycling on the carriage roads, which we really enjoyed as well. Only had one day of sun and it did not matter - we were able to get out and about and enjoyed the beauty of the views shrouded in fog (and didn't have to worry about sweating or suncreen).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanookNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Cottages

Property: Acadia Cottages
Address: 410 Main St, Mount Desert Island, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4247
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acadia Cottages is located on Mount Desert Island surrounded by Acadia National Park. Tucked away beneath a tranquil forest canopy, Acadia Cottages offers privacy yet it is within walking distance of the village of Southwest Harbor including its many charming restaurants and shops. Tom and Vickie Zacharias look forward to welcoming you and helping to provide an ideal base from which to explore Acadia National Park, nearby Bar Harbor and other island attractions and activities. Stay for two nights or two weeks. Your choice! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acadia Cottages Hotel Southwest Harbor
Acadia Cottages Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing