We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful retreat on the quiet side of the island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acadia Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat on the quiet side of the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Acadia Cottages during our anniversary trip to Acadia National Park. The cottages were perfect--located within a short walk to Southwest Harbor and tucked away in the woods. The cabin itself was clean and well appointed, with a small kitchen that had everything we needed. Also, the cabins were very environmentally friendly, with options for composting, recycling and general waste-reduction available, which my husband and I really enjoyed. There was also an office available for all guests to borrow books, games, travel information and a computer if necessary. I would highly recommend staying at Acadia Cottages if you are looking for a peaceful place to re-charge. A great value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MplsTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at one of these delightful cottages for 5 nights. The cottage was recently remodeled and very well maintained. We used the little kitchen to cook several nights. The location of the cottages was wooded and so beautiful. No view of the ocean. Our cottage had a little pond near it. We did not use the small deck due to the weather being a little cool and there were some mosquitoes present due to the pond.

We enjoyed staying in the Southwest Harbor area. The “quiet side”, as it is called was very nice. Not crowded. Still had nearby restaurants. Bar Harbor was about 30 minutes from the cottage. If you enjoy less crowded areas, you will enjoy Acadia Cottages. The owners were very helpful. There is wifi and if you don’t have your computer with you, they have one located in the check-in office for your use.

There is a laundry cottage conveniently located on the property.

I would highly recommend this lodging to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravellingTLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at Acadia Cottages. While our cottage was not luxurious -- and was not represented to be such -- it was clean, quiet and comfortably equipped. My son and I enjoyed walking to Southwest Harbor's quaint downtown, browsing in the various stores, and visiting the bakery and ice cream shop. Of note, and a welcome touch not usually found in lodging of this sort, the owners provide daily maid service.

Would not hesitate to stay again at Acadia Cottages on our next trip to Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMS2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

First of all, we were really concerned about our choice to stay in SW Harbor. Wow! Were we delighted! It was super quiet with a few really fabulous restaurants and shops. I was so happy that we didn't stay in the far crazier Bar Harbor.

The cottages seemed to be really new and in beautiful condition. They were small but very efficiently designed you there was a ton of space inside. Our cabin had a great deck that we could sit in the sunshine in the woods. Of course, one really cool part is how environmentally friendly they were.

Gordon & Lisa, the owners, were really kind. They even offered us their cell phone to call at anytime. Basically, they weren't pushy, but definitely available for anything.

We are already wanting to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We are a family of 5 and stayed in #7, which had a King bed, a pullout couch and an air mattress. Our 12 year slept on the incredibly comfortable sofa, which she did not pull out, and our 4 year twins started out on the air mattress but would inevitably end up in the King sized bed with my wife and I. The location of the cabins is perfect! Every morning I would walk 5 minutes into town for a supply of danish and a paper and we would plan our day. The island is very small and it was never more than a 20 minute drive to anything. After spending a day in Bar Harbor we were glad we chose the much quieter Southwest Harbor as our base, especially after checking the prices of similar accomodations in Bar Harbor. It was truly a great value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

This is the perfect cottage community if you want the "woodsy" feel while also being near a harbor on Mount Desert Island. My husband & I were awed at the welcoming feeling when we opened the door the first time. Not only had the owner already personally informed us of nearby great restaurants & activities, etc., but she had fresh baked cookies waiting for our arrival upon entering our cabin. The decor of Cabin 1 was an updated cozy & comfortable feel with an amazing view of the woods right outside our large window. Anything you think you need or want is there in the cabin, including dishes, extra blankets, toiletries & more. We strolled down the drive to see other cabins and noticed they were all well spaced apart so everyone could have peace & privacy. We also really enjoyed the challenge of the internationally used recycle/compost program we were invited to partake in. The location is great, as you can walk to great nearby restaurants as well as drive 5-10 min to the harbor or other shops/restaurants. And although the cottages are off the main road, they set back so that even if you stay in the first cabin, Cabin 1 (like us), you do not hear a single car go by. This location in Southwest Harbor gave us a chance to explore more of MDI, while not being far from attractions of Acadia. We couldn't have asked for more!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KYCoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here 3 nights early in Sept. in cottage #11-the last one on the road. It was quiet and peaceful, just what we wanted. The only downside was the mosquitos, which made it impossible to sit out on the deck in the evening. So we sat at the inside table and looked out through the windows instead. We had planned to do some cooking for ourselves but found the kitchen area a little too small, so went out instead. Our rustic queen studio had a full size refrigerator, microwave, 2 burner cooktop (no oven) and basic dishes and kitchen equipment. We took advantage of the computer in the office area to catch up on our email. They also had movies and games and books to borrow if you wanted. The drive to the national park was easy since we were there after labor day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
9.6 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Cottages

Property: Acadia Cottages
Address: 410 Main St, Mount Desert Island, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4247
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acadia Cottages is located on Mount Desert Island surrounded by Acadia National Park. Tucked away beneath a tranquil forest canopy, Acadia Cottages offers privacy yet it is within walking distance of the village of Southwest Harbor including its many charming restaurants and shops. Tom and Vickie Zacharias look forward to welcoming you and helping to provide an ideal base from which to explore Acadia National Park, nearby Bar Harbor and other island attractions and activities. Stay for two nights or two weeks. Your choice! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acadia Cottages Hotel Southwest Harbor
Acadia Cottages Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing