We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A knockout” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Birches Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A knockout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Birches has it all. A knockout view, a beautiful garden setting, great breakfasts, a comfortable bed and Susi and Mike. Susi has been in the area for a long time and knows all the local history and places to see. Mike is quick with a joke and ever-helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for either of them. Mike took me for a round of golf at the nearby course.

Room Tip: We had the garden room. Quite nice. But the front rooms have the best outlook over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The whole experience from beginning to end was wonderful. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and provided us with fantastic breakfasts. Their knowledge about nature and hiking trails in Acadia NP added an invaluable service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Friends highly recommended this place when we told them we were going to visit Acadia NP. It turned out to be right on the money. Great location on a secluded lane in Bar Harbor's sleepy cousin. The innkeeper, Susi, was very knowledgeable and helpful in restaurant suggestions and in what to do in our limited time at Acadia. She even directed us to a nice place to walk from the inn on to shake off the road rust from our long drive. She asked what kind of food we wanted, and I told her our main interest was a quiet restaurant with good food. She scored with both recommendations -- neither restaurant played recorded music, and we could actually converse over our dinners.

Our friends had hoped that by using their names we would be served the lobster omelet for breakfast, and their hopes were realized. The next morning's breakfast wasn't too shabby either. Overall, everything we could have asked for in a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week stay at The Birches and had a wonderful time. The property is beautiful, the location is great (we were so happy we stayed at Southwest Harbor), and Suzie and Michael are wonderful hosts. They know the island really well, offer great suggestions, take an interest in their guests, and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is pleasant. Breakfast is great, too. Our stay at The Birches really added to our vacation and we hope to get back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our stay at the birches was wonderful. The rooms themselves were lovely and extremely comfortable, and the location was great - easy walk to Southwest Harbor and close to a lot of great spots in Acadia. However, the proprietors made the entire experience - Susie and Mike treated us like family, made sure we had everything we needed, and kept us happy and extremely well fed. They also helped us get the most out of our stay by recommending some awesome day trips. Their knowledge of the area can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

There is very little we can say that hasn't been said in these many 5 star reviews. Susi's breakfasts alone are worth the visit! And she will spend as much time with you as you wish discussing restaurants, day trips, points of interest...or just chatting! There are several houses on the property and we and our friends stayed in one of them, an architectural gem with great views of forest and ocean, lovely gardens, a large deck, comfortable amenities, 2 comfortable bedrooms & a bunkroom, study, and a living/dining/kitchen well furnished...could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TZBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just got home from a New England tour that culminated in a stay at The Birches. It's an open and comfortable home in a quiet location away from vacation traffic but close to all you want to do. Susie and Mike are gracious, helpful, funny as can be, and very knowledgeable about every nook and cranny of Mount Desert Island. So go stay with them and do what they say! You won't regret it! We will visit again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
1.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
8.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
8.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
8.6 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46 Fernald Point Rd, PO Box 178, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homer family proudly wants to invite interested visitors to stay at their family homestead, which consists of 6 acres of panoramic ocean frontage in beautiful Southwest Harbor, Maine. Enjoy large airy rooms, private baths, ocean views, gardens, and the croquet court. We have 6 acres of grounds, no traffic noise, and it is just 350 yards to the first tee at the golf course. Along with The Birches Bed and Breakfast is The Cottage at The Birches, located a few hundred feet away which is available for weekly rentals. Acadia National Park is beside us and it is a short walk to the start of the trails to Valley Cove and the mountains. We are open year-round, accepting reservations for a two night minimum. When you come to our beautiful bed and breakfast you will not want to leave after seeing what we have to offer. Located in Southwest Harbor, Maine we are right next to mountains, as well as on the waterfront. We have a private beach for our guests to enjoy on the waterfront and you can come by water or land to get to us. If you are coming from farther away and you have a boat, you can bring that along also as we have a dock available. At our bed and breakfast, some specialties of ours are accommodating family reunions and intimate weddings. We also want you to come to relax, enjoy, and unwind, no matter what the occasion is. You will not be disappointed with your choice, as we have a lovely property with extraordinary gardens that have been featured on garden tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Birches Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birches Bed And Breakfast Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing