We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding ceremony location and honeymoon spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wedding ceremony location and honeymoon spot”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I got married at the Birches last fall. Susi went above and beyond coordinating and accommodating our large wedding ceremony. The location breath taking with an ocean and island view in front of you and her beautiful estate behind you. She provided wonderful rooms for my bridesmaids and I to get ready in and as it was a rainy day celebration,she had our guests well accommodated for inside as there was a rain delay. She also had tents that provided shelter for our guests during the ceremony less it start up again with the rain. We rented out most of the rooms for our guests so they got to enjoy the experience too! She had a delicious breakfast that she made for us when we finally emerged from our rooms! She also scooped up my wedding
dress and dropped it off at the dry cleaners for me! I strongly recommend the Birches Bed and Breakfast for your wedding destination!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
81
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

One of the great B&B's we have stayed at. Nice quiet place to stay. Great food and very knowledgeable of the area. Suzi is like your own Tour Coordinator. We really liked the Southwest Harbor area to stay at ....away from all the people. Great restaurants in the area--
and Suzi even made reservations for us! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room would be good to sleep in. Spend your time in the living room on first floor to read and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Photo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Birches is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. The place is well maintained, clean and has beautiful surroundings. We felt welcomed and at home as soon as we entered the place. Our room had beautiful views of the Somes sound. Susie and Mike are wonderful people, very helpful and knowledgeable, their inputs made our trip even better. They have amazing stories to share. The breakfast was awesome, Susie is an amazing cook! They were very accommodating - they were fine with us coming late and were kind enough to make us some veggie breakfast :) We felt like we were visiting some old friends of ours. This is the best B&B ever, we will definitely visit them again

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the Somes sound for wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2yatris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Birches is the B&B that you imagine every time you think of a B&B. It's tucked down a quite road yet easy to get to; it's surrounded by woods but has a lovely unobstructed view of the water; it's architecturally a beautiful building inside and out; and upon arrival you are greeted with such warmth that it is like going home again. All the bedrooms are colorful, well lit, comfortable beds and lovely views; they have character, books, space for your things and best of all the bathrooms have hooks for your towels and tabletops for your toiletries.

We have visited Acadia and stayed at Northeast Harbor many times but that B&B is no longer there, so finding a new place was important. The Birches was a wonderful find. Susi is a wealth of knowledge about the park, the island and the history; Mike makes the best breakfasts you can imagine and all with fresh ingredients; then together they will send you on your way or sit and have intelligent conversation.

The Birches B&B is an ideal place to stay again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I took a long awaited trip to BH with my son's best friend Peach late last month; we stayed 5 nights here and man what a bonus it was for our trip. The place is beautiful, well maintained and Suzi and Mike are extremely knowledgeable and most accommodating. Why would any one consider staying anywhere else is a wonder to me! Agreed, totally, that Suzi is a wealth of knowledge and she knows everybody to get you the best experience in any list of activities that you might consider. We were witness to her managing a wedding on our weekend and she masterfully executed a wonderful and dry wedding experience for all thanks to her savvy weather insights and computer know-how in being able to watch some quickly moving squalls that could have caused major wedding mayhem. Her caretaker Mike is also a unique character and makes enjoying the to-die-for breakfasts all the better with his insights, stories and general know how. We became good friends with both Suzi and Mike and I find myself thinking often about our fabulous trip to The Birches B&B and my thoughts always return to a mental image of the two of them sitting with us in the breakfast room or greeting us in the kitchen at night after returning from a long day in the park. One just doesn't have such a wonderful experience without folks like this taking you in. By the way, the lobster omelette was totally gourmet and yummy, but the bacon was the talk of a good part of our first day's hike....bacon cooked with such evenness and crispiness just doesn't happen like this. The location in this part of BH is quiet and more upscale but still has great access to the airport, Acadia NP and other important spots and activities. I am headed back asap with the rest of the family and a few others for sure. In addition to the main house, Suzi has a separate house on the property that sleeps up to 12 with kitchen, multiple bedrooms and living areas and fireplace...I have my eye on this place for round two!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was our third stay and as always it was like coming home. Suzie and Mike are helpful hosts, the property is down home Maine, and we learned a lot from Suzie, making our trip even better. We had stayed there when her parents, Rocky and Dick, were hosts and like her parents Suzie has stories galore to share. Suzie should really write a book about her experiences and life in Acadia. Suzie and Mike were very accommodating when some of our party had to leave very early. A hearty breakfast was on the table giving them a good sendoff. Ask for her blueberry pancakes with home made apple syrup...wonderful. She knows the best places to eat and willingly shares her information with her guests.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the ocean room and the garden room, and liked them both. The Garden room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTraveler1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This B & B, so close to Acadia National Park is owned and hosted by Suzie who should be a history professor. Suzie is a wealth of knowledge regarding Acadia and New England as a whole.
Her breakfasts are gourmet, i.e. lobster omelette, and the spacious room she gave us, the "Turret," provided views of the Atlantic Ocean and a wedding garden. If you go to visit Acadia National Park, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
1.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
187 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
623 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
8.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46 Fernald Point Rd, PO Box 178, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homer family proudly wants to invite interested visitors to stay at their family homestead, which consists of 6 acres of panoramic ocean frontage in beautiful Southwest Harbor, Maine. Enjoy large airy rooms, private baths, ocean views, gardens, and the croquet court. We have 6 acres of grounds, no traffic noise, and it is just 350 yards to the first tee at the golf course. Along with The Birches Bed and Breakfast is The Cottage at The Birches, located a few hundred feet away which is available for weekly rentals. Acadia National Park is beside us and it is a short walk to the start of the trails to Valley Cove and the mountains. We are open year-round, accepting reservations for a two night minimum. When you come to our beautiful bed and breakfast you will not want to leave after seeing what we have to offer. Located in Southwest Harbor, Maine we are right next to mountains, as well as on the waterfront. We have a private beach for our guests to enjoy on the waterfront and you can come by water or land to get to us. If you are coming from farther away and you have a boat, you can bring that along also as we have a dock available. At our bed and breakfast, some specialties of ours are accommodating family reunions and intimate weddings. We also want you to come to relax, enjoy, and unwind, no matter what the occasion is. You will not be disappointed with your choice, as we have a lovely property with extraordinary gardens that have been featured on garden tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Birches Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birches Bed And Breakfast Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing