We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet setting on beautiful island.”
Review of Cranberry Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cranberry Hill Inn
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at The Cranberry Hill Inn. Our room had the view of harbor. (when the fog wasn't in). The inn-owner Patti, was wonderful. She cooked a great breakfast each morning. She gave us great advice on local hiking sites that turned out wonderful. Room was clean and bright. We would strongly recommend this B&B if you planning a stay in the Bar Harbor area. Very quiet and we slept great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinDua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

This is the 2nd summer in arow that we've stayed here. This place might be a bit cheaper than some other B&Bs in the area, but it is every bit as nice. We've stayed at B&Bs in Bar Harbor and another, more expensive one in Southwest Harbor, but we like this one best. Breakfasts are very filling and healthy. Patty and Jerry (hope I got their spelling right) seem very comfortable with guests and spend more time with guests than other B&Bs I've stayed at. The exterior rooms are nice, because you can come and go without going into the main house. I like that. Walking distance to great lobster restaurant, Cranberry Island ferry, and the little downtown area. Restaurant whose name escapes me has the most incredible pies. Bike Shop is there also if you want to rent bikes and go the carriage trails (highly recommended)! There also is a TV in every room, which is usual for B&Bs. Will always stay here as long as Patty/Jerry own this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOnestABE18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Patty catered to our every need. Her breakfasts were wonderful. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Only 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor. The harbor views are great and the garden area is so beautiful. Definitely will be back and will stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhutto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The Cranberry Hill Inn was a great choice and a value location to see Acadia National Park. Breakfast was fantastic and hosts made every attempt to make us feel comfortable. The location was fantastic, close to the Acadia bus service, restaurants, and Cranberry Island Ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittman_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We recently stayed at the Cranberry Hill Inn for a few days. We were a little bit nervous about the rooms based on the photos on the website, but the room (and whole inn, really) was fantastic. Our room was bright and cheery, so clean, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Nice views of the water from the Harbor View room, which also has a jacuzzi tub and a skylight in the bathroom.

Patti the innkeeper is SO nice, and an amazing baker. Breakfasts were very tasty, and everyday included just-baked muffins. She also has a screened in porch with a mini-fridge where guests can keep a bottle of wine. Wine glasses, corkscrews, napkins, knives, and all the things needed for a little pre-dinner cocktail/wine and cheese are also always available.

It's located in Southwest Harbor, a cute little town which we liked because it was a little less touristy than nearby Bar Harbor. It's walking distance to the center of town, which has a few restaurants, a wine and cheese shop, a little grocery store, a bike rental place, and some other cute stores. It was about a 20-25 minute drive to Bar Harbor/Acadia with some parts of the park being even closer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

I recently spent two nights at Cranberry Hill in the Captain Mayo Suite on the garden level. It was a wonderful room, very comfortable and clean. Patty made us feel right at home. Her breakfast was delicious and she was very hospitable. She was able to recommend good places to hike and see the real Acadia National Park. Our only regret was having to leave so soon. Two nights was not enough to see all the sights of this beautiful area!!

Our room had a king size bed and was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. The bathroom had a shower with plenty of hot water. We also had a sitting room that overlooked Patty's beautiful garden. Our room had a private entrance, as I believe all the rooms do.

Patty served afternoon tea with fresh baked goodies. She is an excellent cook. Her blueberry pancakes were the best I've ever had. Also the coconut muffins were outstanding. I hope I can return again in the future. It was a very memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_in_my_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

This is a charming little B&B with a nice view of the harbor. Our room (Harbor View) was clean and spacious, and I loved the bathroom with it's open skylight. The flowers surrounding the property were particularly pretty. Patty is a great cook and serves a wonderful breakfast, and was very helpful in suggesting locations to visit. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BabsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.3 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
99 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Hill Inn

Address: 60 Clark Point Rd, PO Box 222, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4411
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: £76 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cranberry Hill Inn offers unique luxury suites on the harbor in the quiet village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Minutes from Acadia National Park and two blocks from the center of town; our inn offers the peaceful atmosphere of rooms that open to our garden and look out at the harbor with the convenience of a short walk to dinner and shopping. All of our suites have private entrances,air conditioning,cable television, free WiFi and private baths, some with jacuzzi. Our kitchenettes offer a refrigerator and microwave. Each suite has private decks on the garden and guests can use our outdoor grills and bike storage areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hill Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing