We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cranberry Hill a hidden gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cranberry Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cranberry Hill Inn
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cranberry Hill a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family of four had a wonderful stay with Patti & Jerry at Cranberry Hill Inn! From the start, we knew it would be lovely, as they truly think of everything. Speaking with Patti over the phone prior to arrival was a huge help as well. She ensured we had all the comforts of home for our 20-month-old. A pack & play was set up in our room upon arrival, a high chair with a place-setting was out every morning for breakfast and puzzles and toys were made available to us. Our 7-year-old was able to explore the flora in the garden, including helping to pick raspberries for breakfast! We stayed 5 days and had a wonderful variety for breakfast every day. From pancakes to omelets, fruits, veggies…everything was fresh and DELICIOUS! Both hosts were a wealth of information about the island, where to go for dinner, what the best times are to visit attractions, etc. Having a full refrigerator and kitchenette was great so we could store food during our stay and have snacks when needed. There is also a table inside and outside for lunch or snack, or even dinner. While there is not a cooking range, there is a microwave and a grill outside, plus full serving utensils and plates, etc. The room itself was very clean and the atmosphere quite relaxing (including extra seating, towels and pillows). The location of the inn is perfect because we were a short drive to Acadia and parts of the National Park, but nestled in a quieter part of the island. On the same token, great restaurants, shops and cafes are just down the street (easily walkable, even for our toddler). Also a short walk through a beautiful mini forest (or main road, if you prefer) was a gravel beach and seawall where the kids could explore the tide pools. We only wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks to Patti & Jerry for a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFrancisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just returned from a fabulous week in Acadia National Park and the Cranberry Hill Inn. We picked the Cranberry Hill Inn because it seemed to be close to everything but on the quiet side of the island. The Inn, Southwest Harbor and the park were amazing! We had a perfect trip. The Cranberry Hill Inn went way beyond our expectations. The room we rented had enough room for our family of 4 comfortably and all the amenities we needed. We had our own room and the kids slept in separate room with a great pull-out sofa. All the rooms had a view of the harbor and both the bedroom and living room opened to a private deck. Each night we sat on the deck and we were able to watch the boats come into the harbor. The owners have recently made renovations which make it unique with a B&B feel but you have privacy and a small kitchen for storing snacks and leftovers. I saw a few reviews criticizing the renovations but I think they make this Inn a hidden gem. There is no where else where you get the bed and breakfast feel with the space and privacy that the Cranberry Hill Inn offers. The renovations are great and you can tell the owners keep everything at the highest standard. The inn keepers offered an optional breakfast which we added to our stay and it was a great addition. Patti is a fantastic chef!!! My kids especially loved the pancakes. We already booked another trip next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EHeironi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Apparently this B&B switched over to a straight Inn/Hotel recently. They have added a kitchen area to all the suites. There is no stove to cook on, but there is a microwave and a grill outside. With all the great restaurants nearby cooking in the room was not an option we were interested in anyways. We were disappointed with a few things: The advertised water view for one. If you want to see the water from your room you need to rent a room on the 2nd floor or hang out on the upstairs common area deck. We were in a 1st floor suite and you could not see anything. Another disappointment was the owners. They greeted us and showed us to our suite but that was pretty much the last we saw of them until we turned in our key 4 days later. There is a common area in the main house that has a lot of reference material, books etc. but it was locked up tighter than a drum the whole time we were there. We were told later that they had to leave town or something but still, not what you would expect for this type of lodging. If you are looking for a true B&B experience this Inn in not for you. The small A/C unit in the window kicked butt and kept us cool as a heat wave came thru Maine when we were there in July. What a life saver sleeping at night!! It has a great location, kind off off the beaten path and very easy to get anywhere in SW harbor or anywhere in Acadia. Check out Lake Echo only a few miles away if you're interested in taking a swim and want do something very relaxing. The beach area was nice and water was very clear and refreshing. One safety note at the this Inn, if you decide to park in the back lot be careful going up and down the brick stairs leading to the house, they get extremely slippery, especially early in the morning. A good pressure wash would remedy the situation. Bottom line - this is a great local and the suites are very comfortable. Just know that you are on your own once you check in, not a true B&B.

Room Tip: Get a room/suite up high if truly want a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandBetty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberryhill, Owner at Cranberry Hill Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are certainly not a traditional B&B, as we told this reviewer when they booked the room and as we explain on our website. Our rooms have recently been renovated as suites and we do supply a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kitchen supplies. We do greet all guests with a basket of homemade muffins and homemade cookies, but do not advertise a full breakfast. We are the perfect vacation for a family get away and we welcome children. The public room that the reviewer felt was locked up tight is a sunroom and does not have a lock on the door. The room they rented definitely has water views from both the room, the patio and the private terrace as can be attested to by many previous geusts. Guests are also invited to use the higher porches and sunroom that have amazing views of the harbor. We are very proud of the fact that we are very clear when guests book our suites that we are an inn and no longer a traditional Bed and Breakfast and have found guests enjoying the quiet of our gardens and the amenities of our rooms. The week this reviewer refers to was the birth of our grandchild and we were away, but I told all of the guests booking for that week that we would be short staffed. Our Chambermaid and assistant innkeeper were accessible by phone and around during the day. We are very sorry that these guests were not pleased with their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Are you looking for a little piece of paradise on earth? We found it: Cranberry Inn in SW Harbor (Maine)! The new suites are well decorated, easy to live in, just beautiful! The view is terrific, location great and our hosts wonderful! We enjoyed every minute of our sunny stay in June 2013, A real dream! Can't wait for next summer;-) Thanks a million!

Room Tip: Rose Garden + Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Cranberry Hill Inn is a lovely BnB on a quiet side street in Southwest Harbor. My wife and I have stayed there many times, basking in Patty's hospitality and enjoying her pleasant breakfasts (as well as her dinners during the short period of time she also ran an Italian Restaurant in town).

Unfortunately, the inn has received a cosmetic make-over, turning the once lovely rooms into quasi-suites. The rooms that used to rent in the neighborhood of $150/night with a two-night minimum are now rented by the week for $1000+. Maximizing profit, it seems, has taken precedent to cultivating long-term clients.

This is unfortunate, because the Cranberry Hill Inn was a very special place enjoyed by a great number of people who sought it out to avoid Bar Harbor. Now, it appears to be taking the lead in the "Bar Harbor-ization" of Southwest Harbor.

There are several lovely alternatives to Cranberry Hill Inn that remain in its former price range. I suggest that you explore these other options, as they now provide a much more economical (though not cheap) alternative for real-life couples and families.

Pity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyDLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberryhill, Owner at Cranberry Hill Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are very sorry that a former guest is upset with the changes we have made to the inn. The changes we made were not merely cosmetic changes but were necessitated by damage to the structure. While we were under construction we decided to make some of the changes that would make our property a special place for families to vacation. I am sorry that the reviewer has sent in a review without actually seeing the changes to our property. All of our suites are now two room suites and are designed for both couples and families. We have added true kitchenettes that provide the refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers that guests have been asking for. We have always underpriced our inn so that we could make a good value available to people traveling to our area. Contrary to the reviewers comments, our prices have not actually increased very much, 7 nights at $1000 is still only $145.00 per night and we no longer charge extra for a third or fourth person in the suite. This is one of the lowest prices available for a family of four in Southwest Harbor. Our biggest change is switching to a 5 night minimum in July and August. I know that several of our former guests wanted to be able to spend only one or two nights at the inn, but there are many lovely properties in town that provide single night rentals. I am sorry that a former guest, who enjoyed many lovely stays at our inn, would take our remodeling the inn as a personal affront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We have been coming to Cranberry Hill Inn for the last two years and it has become one of our favorite parts of our trip to Maine. Jerry and Patti are amazing hosts and always have new ideas of what we should do to explore the island. They are so kind and welcoming and they always make us feel at home. The rooms are lovely - each one is decorated uniquely and reflects quintessential Maine charm. One of our favorite things is waking up each morning to incredible breakfasts that Patti has whipped up - fresh chocolate chip muffins, eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit, and French toast. After a day of hiking or boating, we love coming back to the inn and spending happy hour on the deck. We couldn't ask for a better place to relax and unwind. This truly is a very special place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATWGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loisville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Room and private bath were very clean, warmly decorated, and spacious. Patti and Jerry were terrific hosts and gave us helpful tips to maximize our stay on the quiet side of Acadia. Breakfast was delicious--great pumpkin muffins and spinach quiche. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone, but especially to anyone who wants to avoid the busier atmosphere of Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.2 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.6 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier One Vacation Rentals
Pier One Vacation Rentals
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Hill Inn

Property: Cranberry Hill Inn
Address: 60 Clark Point Rd, PO Box 222, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4411
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cranberry Hill Inn offers unique luxury suites on the harbor in the quiet village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Minutes from Acadia National Park and two blocks from the center of town; our inn offers the peaceful atmosphere of rooms that open to our garden and look out at the harbor with the convenience of a short walk to dinner and shopping. All of our suites have private entrances,air conditioning,cable television, free WiFi and private baths, some with jacuzzi. Our kitchenettes offer a refrigerator and microwave. Each suite has private decks on the garden and guests can use our outdoor grills and bike storage areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hill Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing