We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smuggler's Den Campground
Nearby Hotels
The Harbour Cottage Inn(Southwest Harbor)
US$228
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe Drydock & Inn(Southwest Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindenwood Inn(Southwest Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimball Terrace Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asticou Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wonder View Inn(Bar Harbor)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Ridge(Southwest Harbor)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pier One Vacation Rentals(Southwest Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
56
24
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
24
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated poolecho lakerustic cabinoffice staffcleaned dailynice playgroundgood sizehuge plusworked flawlesslyacadia national parkfire pitfree shuttledowntown bar harborscreened porchhiking trailcrackersvisiting the area
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I am not sure where you can register upon arriving and be greeted with a big smile and by name and with a welcome back, how was your year. That has been our experience at Smugglers Den. They have put in a pool and a very nice playground, have added rustic as well as deluxe cabins and yet have maintained all the people skills necessary to keep the guests returning. This is a family run campground for families as small children and pets are welcome. They are very knowledgeable about the area as it is their home also. When we visit, it is like a second home for us.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep late choose a wooded site as the sun is very bright in the mornings. Also, children will appreciate a site near the playground.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackcat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Very friendly,nice camp site. This was our second time staying here and we are highly impressed. Would recommend! Family friendly and very clean. Found the large open space for tent camping was wonderful...playground nice and slide at pool a hit with the kids!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allietiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

we chose a campground because i needed to be eased into the idea of camping so i wanted the amenity of plumbing and we wanted to be near acadia national park. there are definitely trails and sights for the national park within a few minutes drive of this campground, but we didn't realize that we'd be spending so much time closer to bar harbor which is about 25 mins away. not a big deal, just something we didn't realize.

the tent sites are pretty close together so it didn't really feel like camping. our tent site also happened to be next to one of the main roads in southwest harbor so vehicle noise was always present. what almost ruined our first night was the wet firewood we were sold. almost every single piece in the two bundles ended up steaming in the fire pit for 30 mins before catching fire. made grilling very difficult.

on the plus side, i could see this being a fun campground for families. there's a basketball court, big playground, a pool, a huge field, and i think there was a trail to the ocean. the bathrooms are cleaned daily and the main office is open until 10pm so you can buy those marshmallows or sparklers at the last minute if you need to.

overall, we wouldn't book again unless we were going to spend more time on that side of mt.desert island and the tent site would have to be farther away from the main road.

Room Tip: if you're booking a tent site, make sure it's farther from the main road. choose a site across from the basketball court.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lc913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from Acadia National Park and spent 3 nights at Smugglers Den. We didn't make reservations months or even weeks in advance, and the campgrounds inside the park were already booked. We decided on Smugglers Den and were so pleased once we arrived and set up camp. They had everything we needed from hot and free showers, clean bathrooms, good size camp sites, firewood for sale, camp store, and close distance to all that Acadia has to offer. This was on the quiet side of the island which we preferred as we were there during the peak season, but didn't see mobs of people. We stayed at #64 (tent site) on the field which seemed to have more privacy and space inbetween sites. After reading other reviews/comments about the cost of showers at Blackwoods/Seawall ($2 for a few minutes), we were happy that we didnt have to worry about rolls of quarters and driving back & forth to bathrooms. Overall wonderful experience. Would recommend to other families, groups, etc. TIP: drive down the road to Sea Biscuits for breakfast - Amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in our motorhome in July 2012. Our site was nicely shaded but not all were. The staff was friendly. Lobsters and lobster boiling equipment were available at the camp store. The location was great, convenient to Southwest Harbor, Bar Harbor, and Acadia Nat. Park. The campground was on the bus route if you did not want to drive around the island. Everything was clean and well maintained. We found this campground to be quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 76Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews