We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B & B near Acadia National Park”
Review of Kingsleigh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingsleigh Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Kingsleigh Inn for one night after hiking in Acadia National Park and will return again as it was a lovely B & B. We stayed in the Hawthorne room which had a nice porch where we enjoyed a glass of port, courtesy of the inn. The bed was comfortable and the room was well decorated room with nice little touches such as a pair of binoculars for bird watching. While the bathroom had only a shower, it was nonetheless clean and well appointed. The proprietors were friendly, helpful and had a good eye for detail. The afternoon cake was delightful and they put out snacks and wine for cocktail hour, all on the house. The common rooms were nicely decorated with a variety of options for rainy day activities. We had the choice of having breakfast inside or on their wrap-around porch and it was delicious. The owners have a good sense of humour and are fans of Fawlty Towers, always a good sign!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueSueT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Kingsleigh Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent 12 glorious days at the Kingsleigh Inn. Pamela and Bryan were wonderful hosts, providing unique, creative, and delicious homemade three-course breaksfasts, along with wonderful homemade sweets (cakes/cookies) for afternoon snack, wine and hors d'ouevres in the evening, and port and chocolates in our room. The inn is charming, the town has many excellent restaurants, and the area provides easy access to hiking, biking, and kayaking. We plan to return. Hats off to Pamela and Bryan!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Because the proprietors have installed hurricane windows on the sides of the inn where needed, the inn was a haven of quiet. We especially appreciated this as we looked out at other b and b's nearby and saw their windows open. ( Main Street can be very busy.)The breakfast was exceptionally good. The building has been maintained beautifully. The location was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We just got back today from Maine where we spent 3 days in Bar Harbor and one in Southwest Harbor at the Kingsleigh Inn. I wished we had stayed longer at The Kingsleigh Inn. It was such a pleasant stay. The Inn is beautiful, we had the Chelsea room which is very nicely decorated and has a deck with a great view of the harbor. This was so relaxing that we decided to spend the late afternoon on our deck contemplating the view and resting under the sun. The room was impeccable and the service was fantastic. My compliments to Pamela and Bryan who are masters of hospitality. This morning's 3 course breakfast was quite remarkable. I had the smoked salmon risotto, it was delicious.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Stay more than one night. Get a room with a deck and a view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardPlamondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Wonderful getaway! Right in the heart of town with lots of old world charm. Friendly hostesses that made you feel like family who could easily point you in the best direction for what ever you wanted to do. Delightful breakfasts with a little extra treat each morning. Rooms spacious and well appointed and modern where needed - bathrooms and AC! (We were in Maine for the hottest week of the summer!). Would definitely recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Cannot say enough great things about Bryan and Pamela and their cozy Inn in Southwest Harbor. My husband and I spent a week in Maine, and after a night in Portland, headed up to explore Acadia National Park. We were looking for a quiet and comfortable Inn as a launching point for our outdoor activities, and could not have been more pleased with the Kingsleigh Inn. We stayed in the Abbott room, which was clean, quiet, comfy and had a great balcony overlooking Southwest Harbor. The little touches like the heated bathroom floor, chocolates and port in the room, and afternoon snacks were wonderful. The Inn itself is very clean with all of the comforts of home -- tons of books to read, games to play, hot and cold beverages out all day, etc. Bryan and Pamela are incredible hosts. We loved chatting with them both during breakfast and before heading out for the day. And speaking of breakfast -- it was delicious every morning. We appreciated having a choice of two "main dishes" and loved that after an awesome two course meal dessert was served. Thank you Bryan and Pamela for providing us with such a comfortable place to stay while we took in the incredible park. We cannot wait to return to MDI and your Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Abbott, which is on the 2nd floor and has a large balcony with small side table and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

What a fantastic B and B!!! The owners have decades of experience and this is their 3rd B&B. Fresh baked goods out always, complimentary wine and cheese each night, an AMAZING breakfast(we had a Lobster quiche that was soooo good!). Great bike shop literally across the street, the Kingsliegh is a 3 minute walk to lots of good restaurants and funky shops.

And th eprice - better than any we checked out on MDI. STAY THERE!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgrove263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
91 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,367 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsleigh Inn

Address: 373 Main St, PO Box 1426, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: £103 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsleigh Inn sits high on a hill, overlooking the harbor in the heart of Southwest Harbor catering to couples seeking the comfort and charm of an historic home, myriad amenities of a boutique hotel and welcoming hosts to ensure a memorable stay on Mount Desert Island. Our rates include a 3 course breakfast with choice of a different sweet or savory entree each day, in-room Port wine with homemade chocolates, afternoon cookies, early evening wine and hors d'oeuvres and all day coffee, tea and fresh ground espresso. We have private off-street parking, free WIFI, guest refrigerator with complimentary soda and bottled water, free guest phone (US and Canada), hiking sticks, books, trail guides and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingsleigh Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing