We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're going back - again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsleigh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingsleigh Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We're going back - again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went back to the Kingsleigh Inn for our fourth time in August of 2013. We already have reservations for August of 2014. Pamela and Bryan are great hosts. Breakfasts are always phenomenal and I've traded recipes with Pamela over the last couple of years. There's always something to do in Southwest Harbor and they have been very helpful in giving us tips on where to go and things that we might enjoy doing. The rooms are very nicely decorated and appointed and on cool mornings the radiant heat floors in the bathrooms are a great touch. The wine and homemade snacks at 5 PM are worth coming back for as well as Pamela's cookies which magically appear during the afternoon. The last couple of years we've had a room with a little deck and a view of Somes Sound. Just wonderful!

Room Tip: Go to their website. There are pictures and descriptions of all the rooms. You can see which ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTWRUBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
194
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Kingsleigh Inn is absolutely adorable and definitely the place to stay on MDI if you're looking for something on the quieter side. The Inn is run by Pam and Ryan who are the nicest, most welcoming couple - they really make you feel at home! They make a three course breakfast for you every morning and the food is delightful! With a good, healthy and hearty breakfast to start the day you are ready to go hike all over Acadia! At 5 o'clock everyday Pam and Ryan set out a happy hour - wine and a snack. It was so nice to come back after a full day of activities to a glass of wine waiting for you! The Inn has great views of the water and is only a minute walk to the downtown area of Southwest Harbor which has some great little restaurants for dinner. It was so nice to stay somewhere so clean and friendly, away from all the touristy stuff in Bar Harbor but still in a great location to do all the activities that MDI has to offer! I would definitely recommend staying at the Kingsleigh Inn and I can't wait to book my return trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I had such a wonderful time at the Kingsleigh Inn last June that we decided to visit again. The Turret Suite welcomed us as old friends. The bed was refreshingly comfortable as we smelled the salt air from the harbor. We have stayed at many B&B's through the years, but none of them have served breakfasts that can compare to the selections that Pamela and Bryan prepared on our two visits. Their meals, and their willingness to do anything to make our week special, allowed us to begin each day knowing that their recommendations for sightseeing, kayaking, and dinner selections were the best the island could offer. I find Pamela and Bryan to be sincere, charming, and teeming with integrity. The suite is beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. Now that we have made two enjoyable visits to the Kingsleigh Inn, a third visit will be forthcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have had two wonderful stays at Kingsleigh. Pamela and Brian were warm and welcoming. We really enjoyed Brian's sense of humor! They were knowledgeable about area activities and their recommendations were spot on. We especially enjoyed their gourmet breakfasts. Guessing the juice of the day each morning facilitated enjoyable conversations with other guests. Every morning there were two options for each course. Both were so yummy that my husband and I quickly learned to each get one option and share! When we happened to be around during the day, there were always delicious baked goods to snack on. The Turret Suite was spacious and luxurious and the view of the harbor was just lovely. Sunrise over the harbor was amazing! We have now stayed there twice and hope to go back again this Fall.

Room Tip: The Turret Suite is wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just made our third visit to the Kingsleigh Inn, and again had a wonderful stay with Pam and Bryan. This time we stayed in the Turret Suite, and found everything we've come to expect and like at the Kingsleigh - friendly and excellent service, welcoming and comfortable rooms, varied and delicious breakfasts; just what we like before heading out for our long walks in Acadia!

As we left the Mount Desert's quiet side last week, we planned our upcoming fourth visit to Southwest Harbor and the Kingsleigh.

Ignore the stars for the fitness center and swimming pool. I accidently filled them in and Trip Advisor will not allow me to edit this mistake. But, there is no mistaking how much we enjoyed our stays at the Kingsleigh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okpik2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This B&B is just odd. Also, the website alludes to the place being right on the water or very near - it is SO not - It's in the middle of a bunch of houses! Also, if you do not finish the "gourmet breakfast" that the owners cook for you, be prepared. They are so sensitive to what you eat and do not eat and will question you rudely, "What was wrong with your ___, why did you not eat it?" It made our family feel violated. We did not say this, but the answer to their question would've been "It tastes AWFUL." Thank heavens the portions were tiny, because after a few days of having no explanation as to why we weren't eating our food, we began to wrap it in napkins to bring it up to our room to discard. We stayed in the suite upstairs only to find out as checked out that a back staircase led up to it. We had forgotten the key in our room and the lady running it said "Oh I'll go and get it! She went up a staircase that led DIRECTLY TO A DOOR IN OUR ROOM THAT WAS LOCKED FROM HER SIDE. The whole time we had thought it was a locked closet with cleaning supplies. Wow. Later my daughter told me she had seen the light on and off at different times and sounds coming from the "closet." Perhaps the owners were listening in our breakfast feedback? ;) Do NOT stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlgreysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsleighInn, Owner at Kingsleigh Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We have been mourning the loss of our beloved dog, Webster, and a response to this "review" has not been a priority. We so thank the many friends and guests that have sent us words of encouragement as well as sharing memories of their time with Webster over the years.
We would like any return guest or potential guest to note that there are no "secret" stairs at Kingsleigh Inn. All guest rooms and the Suite are accessed via common hallways. Also, our website, sometimes maybe too verbose in certain sections, but we want to describe the guest experience as precisely as possible, states that we are "waterview", not directly on the harbor. We are located on Main Street with easy walking to all our harbor town shops, activities and restaurants. We sit high on a hill just 100 yards from the shoreline with a gentle slope which affords panoramic views above the low level residential homes leading down to the shore. We invite all potential guests to e-mail or phone the Inn with any questions they might have to ensure a memorable vacation experience on Mount Desert Island and the jewel which is Acadia National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We Had a friendly and accommodating experience. The room was quaint and old world. The three course breakfast (including deasert) was Proportioned perfectly. The inn is located on the Southwest side of the National Park, away from the busy downtown Bar Harbor section. If you stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suffertheclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsleigh Inn

Property: Kingsleigh Inn
Address: 373 Main St, PO Box 1426, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsleigh Inn sits high on a hill, overlooking the harbor in the heart of Southwest Harbor catering to couples seeking the comfort and charm of an historic home, myriad amenities of a boutique hotel and welcoming hosts to ensure a memorable stay on Mount Desert Island. Our rates include a 3 course breakfast with choice of a different sweet or savory entree each day, in-room Port wine with homemade chocolates, afternoon cookies, early evening wine and hors d'oeuvres and all day coffee, tea and fresh ground espresso. We have private off-street parking, free WIFI, guest refrigerator with complimentary soda and bottled water, free guest phone (US and Canada), hiking sticks, books, trail guides and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingsleigh Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing