We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solitude that is close to the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Craignair Inn is a lovely place built in 1930 and located right at the water's edge. It is a comfortable and charming place to stay in a serene and quiet environment. Yet in less than an hour, you are a short drive to Campden which was recently named one of the most beautiful villages in Maine. There you will find shops, great restaurants and lots to do. There are other nice spots and a state park nearby to visit as well. Then at night, you return to the solitude of the Inn and have gourmet dinners such as crab stuffed haddock or steak filet with shrimp in a lemon buerre blanc. On one morning, the breakfast (included with the stay), featured one of the best omelets we have ever had. (I think it was Julie Child who said the test of a true chef is the making of an omelet!). We throughly enjoyed our stay and the gracious hospitality of Michael and Joanne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We made this reservation through the internet and relied on the website and B&B searches. We were very disappointed. There were only 4-6 guests and they put us on the third floor with no elevator. I am 73 w/arthritic knees and the stairs were steep. At no time was a lower floor offered.
We had planned on enjoying a glass of OUR wine in OUR glasses and were told by the innkeeper that we could only drink OUR wine in our room due to the type of license the Inn holds. I find that highly suspect as they sell wine there. The walk to an adjacent island was nice but, with the tide out, your view is a mud flat.
The restaurant at the Inn was very nice and the food was excellent. The seafood chowder and the haddock chowder were mouthwatering and the crab cakes and crab stuffed haddock very tasty. The included breakfast was very adequate-fresh blueberry pancakes and scrambled eggs. The food experience was great, the inn experience less so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19mikath39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We looked forward to a night at the Craignair by the seaside. However, service was so-so and breakfast was disappointing. It really takes more than two people to operate a good inn with twenty-eight rooms!!!

Two things really spark my comments. We got there 1.5 hours before dinner, and wanted a glass of wine outside to enjoy the view. We were told (by one of the owners) to have a seat on the deck and she would be out to take our order, and then... everyone forgot we were out there! After 30 min, I finally went in and inquired! Very poor service. The evening meal was really good. However, breakfast was very disappointing for a "good" inn. Coffee was not available until 7:30, and it wasn't hot and it had no flavor. I expect better coffee than that!! There was no choice of menu for breakfast, and it consisted of pan fried potatoes, and a very uninspired omelette... that's it. We certainly won't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We just returned from two nights at Craignair. Joane and Michael are very gracious hosts and their adorable dog Mimi was most entertaining. The views are spectacular and we enjoyed a number of walks along the beach during low tide and on Clark Island where we explored the old quarry sites. It is a very peaceful spot where you can just relax and soak in a bit of quintessential Maine. We were in Room 20, on the third floor of the main building. On a corner and with a shared bath, we got a nice cross breeze and views of the sunrise and moonrise. The room was immaculate and had some lovely details with hand embroidered valances on the windows and bed shams. The bed was very firm and I would have loved a pillow top mattress pad to soften it a bit. We really appreciated the cieling fan and the reading lights over the bed.
Breakfast was imaginative and delicious both mornings. Seats overlooking the water and cheerful chatter shared with host and guests was a pleasant start to our day, though we would have appreciated stronger coffee to compliment the excellent food. It is a very special place and we will look forward to a return visit in the future. If Miller's Lobster Pound is open be sure to have a meal there right on the wharf. It is a short drive from the Inn and a fantastic place to enjoy a lobster, chowder, or homemade pie with another spectacular view.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if they have any available. Number 2 and 20 are both in the corner of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJSMedfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This week we celebrated our daughter's anniversary, back at the Craignair where they were married a year ago. Once again Joanne and Michael outdid themselves with their hospitality and friendliness. This time we ate at the restaurant for dinner - what a great dining experience. The food at dinner and again at breakfast was superb! We skipped the appetizers in order to have dessert - cheesecake and hot chocolate pudding cakes- yummy! Can't wait to go again this winter for one of their famous burger Fridays.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor of the vestry - good views and quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geolahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I was there 5 years ago with my wife and mother. We had 2 rooms with a full bath shared. Had a wonderful time. My mother and the owner at the time wrote letters back and forth describing trips they had taken to Europe.

There are two newer owners now. Michael and Joanne. I was afraid the place would have lost its alure but to the contrary we had another wonderful time. The hosts are very helpful and attentive as well as educated in the area. Breakfast presentation and taste of some local flavor was great. My wife is vegitarian and all were friendly. Dinner was also great to the taste of our whole party of 6 in the alcove. Staff was friendly and local. Our waitress lived 3 doors down.

Adirondack chairs to read on and swing for cuddle out back over looking the Island and ocean. Free WiFi was good too. I cant be disconnected from the world for too long. I will miss MiMi the little pup who was the quietest and most well behaved Jackapoo I have ever met. What a cutie.

Thanks Joanne, Michael, their helpfull son (forgot name) and MiMi for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Room facing ocean to enjoy sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Craignair is located on the water and is quiet and comfortable. Dinner there was delicious as was the breakfast. It was so nice to be in a B&B with fabulous dining so we did not need to drive or walk anywhere for dinner. The restaurant offers top quality gourmet cuisine. Our room was quiet and comfortable. We also enjoyed our walk the following morning over to the granite quarry. Many thanks Joanne and Michael (le chef).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andiamo_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
8.7 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
241 reviews
8.4 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
129 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,374 reviews
10.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
2.2 mi away
The East Wind Inn
The East Wind Inn
#1 of 3 in Tenants Harbor
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignair Inn at Clark Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Address: 5 3rd St, Spruce Head, ME 04859-4241
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Spruce Head
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Head
Price Range: £77 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craignair Inn at Clark Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craignair Inn and Restaurant is walking distance from beautiful Clark Island via the causeway. We're at the end of a peninsula with relaxing rooms, unmatched food and gorgeous views. Craignair is just minutes to Rockland, 40 minutes to Camden and about an hour to Portland. Come enjoy the peace and serenity of Craignair Inn at Clark Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Craignair Inn at Clark Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Hotel Spruce Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing