We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We had a surprise party for my husband's birthday at The Craignair and many of our friends and family stayed there as well. Michael and Joanne really impressed me with their knowledge of the area and local resources we could use for seafood, beer and wine. The food was absolutely amazing and the inn was decorated beautifully, both with our party decor as well as for Christmas. Joanne went above and beyond to set up tables and arrange our photos, favors etc. She also gave our guests a fantastic rate. I know everyone wants to go back again as they felt so much at home. Port Clyde and the St. George Peninsula is my husband's favorite place on earth - and Joanne and Michael helped us share that with all of our guests. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katydid32162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

We had an absolute blast hosting your husband's birthday party here!! What a treat to be a part of it! I'm still surprised you were able to keep such a big party a secret but you did a fantastic job! We enjoyed customizing the menu for your party--lobster stew in home-made bread boules and a dessert bar. It was great! Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

The Craignair Inn is a quaint old inn in a lovely, peaceful setting offering wonderful food, attentive service, and personable hosts...and all at a reasonable price. Joanne and Michael have put their hearts and souls into this place, and you will sense that when you stay here.

We stayed three nights recently, with several friends old and new, and attended a private party that was held in the spacious dining room overlooking the ocean. Although there were about 50 people at the party Joanne, Michael, and their staff handled the multi-course meal with ease.

And The drinks in front of the fire on a cold, snowy afternoon were most appreciated.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private bath and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grob1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The Craignair is such a special place. You arrive and feel as if the cares of the world are a million miles away! What a treat to read on the lawn, hike around the old quarry, enjoy a delicious dinner, and a delightful breakfast. It's terrific that the new young innkeepers can update the Inn as necessary and keep it's essential old coastal Maine feel. Very special!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bviwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We would love to return to Criagnair. It's a beautiful location, the inn was great, and the price reasonable. It was clean and comfortable, and the Inn Keepers, Michael and Joann were very welcoming and helpful. The locale and scenery were gorgeous, a great place for a hike, and relaxation.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful view facing the water. We were in the main house which I would certainly over st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was our second trip in a row to the Craignair. The Inn Keepers Michael and Joann got us quickly settled and informed us of our dinner arrangemnts. Dinner at the Craignair is so amazing that words can simply not describe the gourmet cuisine that they offer at such reasonable prices. Only the freshest seafood is served and the desserts, especially the blueberry cheesecake, are just incredible. You will be more than full, but please remember to save room for the cheesecake!! Our room was clean, spacious, and all amenities were properly stocked for the weekend. Breakfast is beyond what you expect at a typical B&B. Only fresh handmade choices are offered and again, you will leave with a full tummy!!
We have stayed here twice but will continue to make it our annual fall weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Joanne and Michael O'Shea were wonderful hosts, providing great service, outstanding food, and beautiful views. even going so far as announcing the bride and groom and keeping my flowers safe and sound...

Room Tip: upstairs was quieter if you don't mind stairs. it was well worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarleneH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Got married in Portland on August 18th and my wife and I shot up to Tenants Harbor for a few days of R&R. Perfect place, especially for us with our english bulldog. Great breakfast. Also had dinner there, which was lovely. And the walk to and around "the island" was quiet and pristine. Exactly what we were looking for. Oh and come to find out, friends who were at the wedding, had stayed there the week previous. Perfect spot for a quiet and quaint getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
11.3 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
8.4 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
132 reviews
8.7 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,387 reviews
10.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
8.5 mi away
Trade Winds Inn
Trade Winds Inn
#3 of 3 in Rockland
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignair Inn at Clark Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Address: 5 3rd St, Spruce Head, ME 04859-4241
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Spruce Head
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Head
Price Range: £78 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craignair Inn at Clark Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craignair Inn and Restaurant is walking distance from beautiful Clark Island via the causeway. We're at the end of a peninsula with relaxing rooms, unmatched food and gorgeous views. Craignair is just minutes to Rockland, 40 minutes to Camden and about an hour to Portland. Come enjoy the peace and serenity of Craignair Inn at Clark Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Craignair Inn at Clark Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Hotel Spruce Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing