We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Inn Nuffield - CLOSED

The Crown Inn Nuffield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The couple have only recently taken over and are doing a great job.
The kitchen is producing some great food and behind the bar the sevice is also great

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WA1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional food including for veggies and children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch - vegetarian meze, a huge and varied plate. Child had a burger, beautifully presented, a small version of an adult portion - much nicer than usual children's fare. Very impressed with the menu including solid yet not dull vegetarian choices plus the smaller, not patronising, children's meals. Had a quick chat with the chef who was irrepressibly enthusiastic about what he wanted to do to delight his diners. Perfect service too. The pub is only 15 mins from Henley - you could be waiting that long for someone to take your order elsewhere - just drive over here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chilternette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eat at the Crown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Crown has come to life again! It looks amazing and we had a most delicious Sunday meal. The roast pork was the best I have had - melt in your mouth pork with apple sauce and the most divine crispy crackling. The lemon curd creme brulee was stunning too. All the food served was top quality and well presented.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerikeri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, nice beer garden.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

As part of our Ridgeway walk, we came to the Crown looking for some late morning respite. What was supposed to be a quick pit stop for our first beer of the day turned into a longer sojourn than first anticipated.

Why? Well the atmosphere of the place, especially the relaxed and peaceful feel of the beer garden, encouraged us to stay longer than that first pint. Good ales were on offer. The food menu was well put together, not over ambitious (which I mean very much as a compliment) but appropriate to the kind of place I think the Crown is trying to be - so little touches like home made tartar sauce were well received.

Add to that friendly staff and you've got yourselves a winner. The one challenge they must overcome is its location however with all the plus points going for it, they are not insurmountable. It's just up to us consumers to make sure worthwhile places like the Crown are supported and become a success!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hengis2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
1 review
“An excellent pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Driving back to Ampney Crucis from Henley we stopped in for lunch at The Crown. How fortunate that we did. The Crown is one of the best country pubs we've been in and that's saying a lot as we live in the Cotswolds. The food was excellent (the burger got 10 out of 10 from our American friend) as was the presentation and service. Two walking parties were in the garden when we arrived making for a nice buzz. We'll definitely return and have already recommended it to friends. Sam and Rich have done an amazing job in a short time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajgws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing