We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic pub with awesome food and atmosphere”
Review of The Bull & Butcher

The Bull & Butcher
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Turville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £1 - £68
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Bull and Butcher is a quintessentially English pub, nestled between the Chiltern Hills, in the quaint village of Turville in the Hambleden Valley, 6 miles from Henley-On-Thames. Delicious gastro pub food, excellent wines and fantastic real ales including Brakspear Ordinary and Oxford Gold Organic, along with regular guests ales from the area. Inside there are two main areas, The Well Bar and The Windmill Lounge, both with large open fires, original beams, and a relaxed pub atmosphere. There is a large sunny garden, and patio areas, ideal for a relaxing summer’s day. A further addition is our fantastic Function Room, ‘The Bull Room – Private Dining in the Country’. Seating up to 24, with glass barn doors out on to the lawn, it is perfect for your private celebration. We have finished are garden cocktail bar and have a fully qualified mixologist ready to help quench your cocktail thirst!
Reviewed 22 August 2022

this is a wonderful pub, and the food is fabulous. it is well worth a trip to visit. the staff are all very attentive and the dogs provided great entertainment as well

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2022 via mobile

Poor quality food but expensive
Forgot to bring main courses and when they came forgot the vegetables- another 20min delay. Table booked for 3pm. Ate about 430pm in a rush. Led to family bickering s everyone stressed. Not a good experience.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Journey47458722740
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

The ambience is gorgeous and cute. The food is good and honest, but the service is outstanding!
The lovely and friendly lady who attended our table managed to convince to eat an adult portion of a starter and main my little son, who did not eat out in years due to his allergies and food anxiety. An incredible task and an incredible achievement.
Thank you so much!
Btw, also our dog felt extremely welcomed here as well with about 10 other companions running up and down happily and freely.
100% recommended and we will be back

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank pincop490
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

We were recommended by friends to visit this pub. We ordered the pie, as it is award winning. Unfortunately the pie was so salty I was struggling to finish it. My husband ordered a Peroni and a pie too. His Pie was equally salty and the Peroni was cloudy. Unfortunately we would not look to visit again.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank vickywhiteuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

Went back to the Bull and Butcher after about 20+ years having lived in Abu Dhabi for many years. We arranged to meet some friends from our abu dhabi life as Turville was a good halfway point, on the basis of some great memories. We were greeted with a welcoming smile offered drinks very quickly. The host and his team delivered in every area with great traditional menu. We need to go back to sample the award wining pies at some point, but today is was big sunday roast really great dont overlook the Bull and Butcher

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank NeilH96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Bull & Butcher also viewed

Fingest, Buckinghamshire
Skirmett, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Bull & Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.