We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep coming back”
Review of The Bull & Butcher

The Bull & Butcher
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Turville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £1 - £68
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Bull and Butcher is a quintessentially English pub, nestled between the Chiltern Hills, in the quaint village of Turville in the Hambleden Valley, 6 miles from Henley-On-Thames. Delicious gastro pub food, excellent wines and fantastic real ales including Brakspear Ordinary and Oxford Gold Organic, along with regular guests ales from the area. Inside there are two main areas, The Well Bar and The Windmill Lounge, both with large open fires, original beams, and a relaxed pub atmosphere. There is a large sunny garden, and patio areas, ideal for a relaxing summer’s day. A further addition is our fantastic Function Room, ‘The Bull Room – Private Dining in the Country’. Seating up to 24, with glass barn doors out on to the lawn, it is perfect for your private celebration. We have finished are garden cocktail bar and have a fully qualified mixologist ready to help quench your cocktail thirst!
Reviewed 18 September 2022

I've lost count of how many times I've been and it never disappoints (apart from when there's no steak and kidney pudding on the menu).
Service was excellent (Charley was on fire). Food was good and we were grateful to have been able to eat without a booking.

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AmandaB1572
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2022

Fabulous pub had the 4 Roast Sunday Lunch very well cooked and tasty.The Brakspear Oxford Gold was very well kept and went down a treat we will return.

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pagriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2022

Went in there 2 weeks ago and could not stay for the meal we had booked.
Dogs allowed to roam free over the tables and chairs and there was pet faeces in the garden which had been left while we were sitting on a bench.
Felt sick.

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Service
Thank WarmingerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2022 via mobile

All you’d want in a British country pub. Friendly, welcoming, relaxed, with truly magnificent pies, which come with the correct amount of gravy ie lots. Set in the lovely village of Turville, it’s unpretentious and very reasonable. We shared our table with one of the pub dogs and some others wandered over to say hi. It’s that sort of place.

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank GillsBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

Perfect Sunday Roast. Can’t wait to go back and try the pies!!! Thanks to all the staff for making our visit so comfortable and tasty.

Date of visit: August 2022
1  Thank scottdI3503KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Bull & Butcher also viewed

Fingest, Buckinghamshire
Skirmett, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Bull & Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.