We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pub in a fantastic location.”
Review of The Bull & Butcher

The Bull & Butcher
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Turville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £1 - £68
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Bull and Butcher is a quintessentially English pub, nestled between the Chiltern Hills, in the quaint village of Turville in the Hambleden Valley, 6 miles from Henley-On-Thames. Delicious gastro pub food, excellent wines and fantastic real ales including Brakspear Ordinary and Oxford Gold Organic, along with regular guests ales from the area. Inside there are two main areas, The Well Bar and The Windmill Lounge, both with large open fires, original beams, and a relaxed pub atmosphere. There is a large sunny garden, and patio areas, ideal for a relaxing summer’s day. A further addition is our fantastic Function Room, ‘The Bull Room – Private Dining in the Country’. Seating up to 24, with glass barn doors out on to the lawn, it is perfect for your private celebration. We have finished are garden cocktail bar and have a fully qualified mixologist ready to help quench your cocktail thirst!
Reviewed 25 October 2022 via mobile

Lovely pub in a lovely location. stopped just for drinks but dining area was rammed and food looked lush. First week back post COVID to 7 days a week didn’t take long for the custom to return. Will defo be going back

Date of visit: October 2022
1  Thank Fordie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2022 via mobile

Worst food we have seen ir attempted to
eat
Very disheveled and run down
Very sad used to be a charm in this lovely valley

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank bridgetmI8336MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2022

We had about 45 guests at my 60th and the team at the Bull & Butcher made it a real special day. Fabulous BBQ, the Porchetta and Focaccia is still being talked about! What a team and fabulous location - we love coming here as one of our local pubs but you outdid yourselves on Saturday! Thank you James t and all your team for making it a great day.

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mazbob1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2022

I've lost count of how many times I've been and it never disappoints (apart from when there's no steak and kidney pudding on the menu).
Service was excellent (Charley was on fire). Food was good and we were grateful to have been able to eat without a booking.

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AmandaB1572
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2022

Fabulous pub had the 4 Roast Sunday Lunch very well cooked and tasty.The Brakspear Oxford Gold was very well kept and went down a treat we will return.

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pagriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Bull & Butcher also viewed

Fingest, Buckinghamshire
Skirmett, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Bull & Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.