We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Country Pub”
Review of Five Horseshoes

Five Horseshoes
Reserve with OpenTable
Five Horseshoes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The food is simply fantastic. Plenty of parking across the street. Fare ranges from burgers to roasts and all is wonderful. You can sit in the area that is cozy warm and dark like most old pubs, or sit towards the back of the pub which is open and light. If you are lucky enough to sit facing the open fields behind the pub, with any luck you can watch the sheep graze in the field as you enjoy a very well prepared meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lee510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey T, Owner at Five Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We were very happy to read your review and to hear that you enjoyed the food and lovely location. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience, it really is motivating to the team here. Kind regards, TraceyTaverner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Five Horseshoes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Welcoming and efficient staff.
Interesting menu and the food did not disappoint. Good flavours and presentation.
very satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hopefulSouthHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey T, Owner at Five Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and do hope to see you again. Kind regards, Tracey Taverner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our friends from Henley-on-Thames took us the the 5 Horseshoes for Sunday lunch: Rare Roast beef and all the trimmings, topped off with wonderful desserts of eaton mess and the apple cinnamon crumble. Forgot: The sticky toffee pudding:)

Do not forget the smart collection of walking sticks available for 30 pounds each. You will not find better ones elsewhere.

The view from the Chiltern Hills adds to the experience. Rolling green landscape with sheep and beautiful beach trees. And just down the lane is the "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Pond" where the car became stuck, aka Russell's Water.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim31944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey T, Owner at Five Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a great pleasure to host your Sunday lunch here and I am so glad that you are taking home a happy memory to the US. Please be assured that I have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team. Thanks again for taking the time and trouble to share your experience and I will let the artisan stick maker now of your appreciation too. Best wishes, Tracey Taverner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Everything that has been said is true - a great local pub in a stunning location with superb views over the Thames valley.
However - they serve the VERY BEST rare beef that I have ever tasted. My colleague had haunch of venison and declared it just as delicious.
Apparently the Sunday roast is from the same "well-hung" (30 days) butchered beef and I intend to return to try it.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank risatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey T, Owner at Five Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for coming to lunch with us and for taking the trouble to review your experience, It was a pleasure to have you here and my husband is most pleased that you enjoyed the beef (a passion of his!).
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards, Tracey Taverner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We came up here on a chilly spring night. The food was absolutely first class. Service a bit slow but who cares we weren't in a hurry. We sat in the conservatory for the views over the Chilterns. The staff had thoughtfully put an extra heater right at our backs so we didn't feel too cold. Wouldn't say they had a great choice of ales as one of the reviewers did, but over all a great evening with attentive and friendly staff. Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rodgehenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey T, Owner at Five Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable evening. Our chefs work very hard to produce fresh, high standard food from the best local ingredients and it is hugely encouraging to all of us to know that it is appreciated by someone who obviously knows his stuff! It makes all the hard work worthwhile. Hope to see you again. Kind regards. Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Horseshoes also viewed

Pishill, Oxfordshire
Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames
 
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Turville, Buckinghamshire
 
Lower Assendon, Oxfordshire
Watlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Five Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing