We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“quiet, confortable, well located”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Seacroft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
PICT0008.JPG
PICT0015.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stockton Springs, Maine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda J
New Knoxville, Ohio
1 review
“Feels like vacation”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a vacation in Maine. We stayed at Seacroft and it was delightful. The interior is mostly cedar paneling, which makes the place smell wonderful. Margaret and David, the owners, provided everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. I brought some kitchen tools, but didn't really need to...the kitchen is well stocked already. You even have a view of a slice of the bay from the kitchen window. I loved waking up to a view of green leaves from the bedroom window.
The place was quite clean and comfortable and we felt very at home there. It's a perfectly private setting. The front porch (covered) was a nice place to sit in the evening. On the cooler nights, we had a wood stove and all the firewood we needed.
During the day, there were plenty of places within driving distance for sightseeing. Two places we enjoyed most were Acadia National Park about an hour away (must see!) and Stonington, where we had an inexpensive and delicious lobster dinner that we ate while watching the lobstermen coming into the harbor with their hauls. It was foggy the day we were there, but I'm told it has spectacular views across the bay when it's clear.
We would definitely stay at Seacroft again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin itself
Liked least: TV reception was in and out, but we don't watch much TV anyway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugy1942
Sinks Grove, WV
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere and very convenient to many attractions.”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a relatively small, rustic cottage at the back of a heavily wooded lot. Although it is in town, the surrounding trees and shrubbery give it a much more rural impression - don't be surprised if raccoons visit during the night! We found its location very convenient for visiting many attractions of interest to us, including Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, Baxter State Park, the coastal towns of Searsport and Belfast, Deer Island, (saw Nervous Nellies Jams and Jellies), Owls Head Motor Museum, etc. etc. We even managed a day trip to New Brunswick with no problems. The hosts, David and Margaret Laing, could hardly have been more gracious and accommodating. WiFi connection can be variable; we usually had good connectivity by setting up on the outside porch table.
Just one note of caution - the directions we got from an internet search (not from Seacroft itself) were misleading in that they located the cottage about 1.5 miles south of its actual location. When you turn onto Cape Jellison Road from Stockton Spring's Main Street, he owners house is the second one on the left, and the driveway to the cottage is located just before you reach the house - I'll try to attach a photo.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Off the main tourist trail, but still convenient to everything.
Liked least: Overly friendly mosquitoes...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed 28 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maryland
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TruthL
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic and relaxing in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 2 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin is basic but has everything you need. Bed was comfortable and hosts were friendly and accommodating. Just don't expect much from the TV-and bring your own soap! There are no sidewalks so it's not easy to walk anywhere from the cottage but there are lots of nice walks within a short drive. The grounds are beautiful and a lovely place to sit and read.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not being able to walk anywhere from the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2012
Stockton Springs is a quintessential Maine town where one finds cabins in the woods and people walk the quiet roads to the parks - enjoying the gardens , meadows and pastures on their way to the Bay; a town where friends and non-friends greet each other as they walk/bike/hike/drive by with a smile and the lift of the hand. Where everyone knows the other one and they chat together when they meet in the General Store, they look out for and help each other.

Seacroft is a cabin in the woods. Sidewalks are found in Maine in shopping areas of the larger towns where one doesn't find cabins.
We provide everything one needs, but we do expect our guests to provide their own personal items as many folks are allergic to different soaps; want specific hand lotions , toothpastes etc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairless Hills Pa
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing