We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Wish I Could Keep This Place A Secret!”
Review of Inn on the Harbor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on the Harbor
Ranked #1 of 4 Stonington B&B and Inns
Westwood,MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I Wish I Could Keep This Place A Secret!”
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The Inn on the Harbor in Stonington, Maine on Deer Harbor is one of those places you absolutely love to tell people about, but are afraid that if too many people know about it, it will become just another tourist trap. The Inn is comprised of mulitple connected Victorian buildings located directly in a working fishing village. Most of the rooms are on the waterfront with access to decks displaying colorfull flowers and comfortable seating.
The rooms are decorated to represent various Schooners. We stayed in the American Eagle, a two bedroom unit on the second floor with its own private deck overlooking the Harbor. Recently renovated it was clean, confortable and large enough to host the gathering of four copules who traveled together in their sports cars to discover downeast Maine's great coastal roads. The room rates are great for it's location on the water, the comfort of the place and the continental breakfast that is served. The staff and inn keeper truly make you feel rilght at home. It's a great place to relax and explore an area not inundated with tourists. I know my husband and I are plannilng on returning next year for the Lupine Festival uusually held in June.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LillianO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    33
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
80
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We spent two nights in this great inn. Breakfast was excellent, staff friendly and very helpful. The rooms all have wondeful views over the harbor and the deck is literally over the water. Stonington is a charming working fishing village not overly touristy. Nearby restaurants were good and there is a great craft co-op nearby. Can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The Inn on the Harbor is right on the Harbor. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The Inn has a great deck on the harbor even though the weather wasn't good enough for us to enjoy the deck. The breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly, interesting.

We attended a first run movie at The Opera House in town. Great experience.

Due to weather we weren't able to go out on a boat for a tour but will look forward to that on next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likestotravel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed in the Heritage Room, a large, comfortable room overlooking the Harbor. With a working fireplace, comfortable chairs and chaise lounges, and a large expanse of windows this is the place to be to watch maritime activity and lobstering. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Our host, Christina is delightful, friendly and helpful. She loves Stonington, Deer Isle and Maine, having left the frenetic life of Manhattan some years ago. I would heartily recommend Inn on the Harbor to any travelers in the region.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lewiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We stayed at the Inn on the Harbor this summer during a trip to New England to celebrate my 50th birthday. We stayed in the American Eagle room, which is actually more like a two-bedroom apartment. We arrived early that day and had no problem checking in early. When we got to the room they had a Happy Birthday balloon waiting for me! It was such a nice touch, and so thoughtful! The American Eagle room had a living room with dining area, a complete kitchen, a large bathroom, and two bedrooms. It was so comfortable! We also had our own private deck, and spent quite a bit of time out there just watching the activities of the harbor. This was one of the nicest accommodations on our trip, and I happily recommend it to other travelers. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer . . .

  • Liked — The views!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFool58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. The room was a little small but the view more than makes up for it. The breakfast was very good lovely home made cake, muffins and the cheese and bacon bread was lovely toasted. There are two good restaurants nearby the fishermans friend was lovely and had a super waitress called Dolly and there was the Harbor Cafe just round the corner from the Inn. The views from the rooms are all good and it was great that I could pick up the internet which was a real plus. For a couple of days its a lovely place to relax and unwind.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — The room was a little small
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lstansbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2008

This was our favorite stay on a recent pleasure trip of four different places in the NE, all of which were more than acceptable, thanks to the good advice from this site. The Inn retains a fishing village look on the outside while the rooms are decorated with style and contemporary fixtures. Ours overlooked the deck (as do most), which is literally on the water at high tide. Our room had two beds instead of a queen or king which we preferred but were unavailable on those dates, but the location was so great and rooms were so comfortable and relaxing it did not matter to us. Each room has a information book explaining not only the services provided but also the the origin of the names of each room, and the history of the area, which we knew nothing about. Interesting. We watched the boats go out in the morning and return to unload their lobsters and fish in the evening. Even with a tropical storm offshore, the barrier islands kept the waters around Stonington calm and serene -- at least when we were there. Moreover, we detected none of the fish and other fragrances that sometimes permeate the air at fishing areas on the ocean. The breakfast at the Inn was excellent with tasty homemade breads and granola and good coffee which you can eat inside or on the deck. The managers (and owner when we were there) are friendly, professional and informative. There are several good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Liked — great location on the water, lovely rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing important but perhaps a sugarless cereal would be a good choice to add to breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loganmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
18.9 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
302 reviews
19.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
195 reviews
20.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
184 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
543 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbor

Property: Inn on the Harbor
Address: 45 Main Street, Stonington, Deer Isle, ME 04681
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle > Stonington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN YEAR ROUND Known for its unique charm and spectacular view of the Penobscot Bay islands, the Inn on the Harbor on Deer Isle offers a perfect romantic waterfront retreat. Built in the 1880s and perched right on the edge of picturesque Stonington Harbor, this bed and breakfast captures the very essence of Maine's Downeast island life. Ten of the thirteen individually decorated guestrooms face the sea and enjoy gorgeous views of Isle au Haut, the Windjammers and the island's fishing fleet. Guests can relax on the spacious flower-covered deck extending out into the harbor and enjoy the tide rising and falling beneath the Inn. They can fall asleep to the sound of nearby Mark Island Light's foghorn and wake up to the lobstermen heading out to sea. Several of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces and/or private decks. Our accommodations are relaxed and comfortable, all with private baths and sitting areas. The coastal atmosphere, with fresh salt air and brilliant sunny skies, encourages many of our guests to simply put their feet up and relax while watching Stonington's bustling waterfront. This is Maine's Downeast island life at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Harbor Stonington, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing