We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How is it that Perfect just keeps getting better and better?”
Review of Aragosta

Aragosta
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Aragosta, meaning "lobster" in Italian, is presented by Chef Devin Finigan of Brooklin. Her farm-to-table cuisine features only the freshest and best quality meat, seafood and produce from local purveyors. Her love of Mediterranean and Italian cooking and the Maine coast come together for a beautiful menu of delicious food that is simply good. Guests will enjoy dishes like Chef Devin's specialty, butter-poached lobster ravioli, while overlooking the breathtaking views of Stonington Harbor. The kind, knowledgable staff will guide guests through the menu and thoughtful wine list to create a memorable dining experience. Join us for lunch on our beautiful deck as well, where Chef Devin has created a menu that puts an elegant twist on classic pub fare.
Blue Hill, Maine
1 review
“How is it that Perfect just keeps getting better and better?”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We are fortunate to have enjoyed Chef Devin Finigan's fabulous food upon several occasions; first at The Blue Hill Inn and now at Aragosta. Chef Devin's skill, creativity and commitment to excellence makes every visit to Aragosta a delightful adventure. There is always a dependably delicious and thoughtfully prepared wine list complete with suggested pairings for the night's exquisite food offerings. From the scrumptious freshly baked house Baguette with butter and hand-made herbed salt, (tonight it was leek salt), to a delectable amuse bouche, to the extensive menu of extremely fresh and locally sourced vegetables, fruits, meats, seafood, cheeses and charcuterie, to wonderfully tempting desserts and coffees, all expertly and lovingly prepared in uniquely creative ways, the night was just one sublime culinary experience to relish after another; a treat for all the senses. Devin is not only a world-class chef, she is also a marvelous human being: Always kind, calm and joyful in spite of the inevitable pressures of running a restaurant of Aragosta's caliber. Her gracious, considerate, knowledgeable and helpful staff have been with her for over a half dozen years, which is remarkably rare. I highly recommend indulging in the pleasure of an evening in the lovely atmosphere of this precious seaside restaurant, to savor an extraordinary and memorable meal, the value of which is priceless, yet, each and every bite is worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MainePike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    34
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine, United States
1 review
“Best restaurant in Maine!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

For my birthday last month my son and daughter treated me to a wonderful dinner at "Aragosta" restaurant in Stonington, Maine. It was definitely a birthday to remember. While we sat comfortably in the restaurant, we overlooked Stonington Harbor with its fishing boats and variety of other seafaring vessels, etc. The surrounding atmosphere inside as well as out was very inviting. The staff was very friendly and the food, not to say the least, was outstanding. Beautifully served, it was a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. From the several courses that came out I savored every bite. Stonington is a "very Maine" fishing village. If you like Maine, you will want to visit Stonington and enjoy the locally grown vegetables and fresh seafood at "Aragosta"

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fine dining with a fabulous view”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant - a birthday treat for my wife - but certainly won't be the last. Devin has created a wonderful dining experience, with an imaginative menu featuring locally-sourced ingredients, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. Our window-view table looked out over the harbor towards Isle au Haut, and it was picture-perfect. My venison loin chops were cooked to my request of doneness, served on a bed of squash puree which blended with the meat juices to become a tasty sauce. My wife's duck breast was also done to her order and featured a confit of leg meat as the garnish. The accompanying fall vegetables were delicious. The menu also features seafood choices (lobster ravioli, fresh local oysters & mussels) as well. The wine list is lengthy and imaginative, but with reasonable pricing. The desserts were excellent - we had homemade sorbet and a creme brulee with pumpkin-spiced whipped cream. Table settings match the upscale menu and setting and the servcie was absolutely professional. From start to finish a very memorable experience. Even at season's end, the place was filled from a reservation list. Call ahead for a wonderful evening. Congratulations, Devin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Jewel at the tip of the peninsula!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It's an incredible combination of location,a beautiful environment (interior and exterior), and exceptional cuisine! The staff was accommodating and professional. Considering the quality of the offerings, the pricing was reasonable. It was a real dining experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy40658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lobster ravioli--incredible. Soup of the day--leek with wild mushrooms--best soup we've ever had. All in a beautiful setting in a charming town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aragosta also viewed

Stonington, Deer Isle
Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Stonington, Deer Isle
Stonington, Deer Isle
 

Been to Aragosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing