We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Boyce s Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stonington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boyce s Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is the best place for the money as far as I am concerned. They allow my service dogs, and it is right downtown Stonington. It is small, but cute, easy parking, I recommend this place to all of my friends who come to town, and I stay with them. I am handicapped and cannot climb stairs, so this is easy for me to get into. Some places do not allow dogs and are not supposed to refuse you if you have service dogs.---This place is highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: some rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Three of us just spent a weekend at Boyce's Motel. We stayed in Rm 109, which is really a little cottage with 2 BR, a galley kitchen, and a living area and Bath.
We were very comfortable and warm, which is saying something since it was 1 below zero when we wokenup on Sunday morning. There is wifi and cable and free phone calls with a landline, which was good, since the cell service was non-existent.
The owner, Barrett was very accomodating and friendly.
I look forward to going back sometime.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whistlerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband and I traveled up to Stonington from Boston this past week to celebrate Thanksgiving with my parents. My parents were staying right across the street at the Inn on the Harbor, which we would've stayed at--it's gorgeous and the owner is terrific--except they do not accept dogs there. Boyce's does accept dogs, however, which worked out perfectly. The owner, Barrett, was very accommodating and said that so long as both dogs were crated when we left (ours were crate-trained so no problem there) we could leave them alone in the room to join our family for dinner. We chose room #8 which is actually a small, separate cottage with a galley-style kitchen, two-seater dining table and a small living room with two winged-back sitting chairs and a small flatscreen. There is also a full bath and a small separate bedroom with two full-size beds, a dresser and a small closet. It was snowing when we arrived and fairly cold throughout our stay, otherwise we would have made use of the slider and deck. We could sit at the little table and eat our eggs and bacon in the morning (they provide a coffee machine, small toaster and pans, plates, etc. so just bring your food) and watch the harbor through the slider. Our dogs curled up at our feet and watched whatever traffic there was go by. The cottage was perfect for us, though it would definitely be cramped for more than 2 adults (think pets or no more than 2 kids). The furnishings are dated--think Maine cabin-style--however the place was absolutely spotless. Very clean and well-maintained, and the tub was so clean and clear (a sticking point with me) that you could've eaten out of it. High points on my scale! The only down side for my husband (who is 6'2") is that the beds were small, he complained his feet hung off the ends. A loveseat might have been cozier than two separate chairs, but really this is just getting nit-picky now. Barrett was very kind and attentive, his rates are appropriate, and his rooms are clean (we arrived during a minor power outage so we were placed in room #6 first, which did have power, until the power returned to room #8--some speed-demon hit a pole during the storm and knocked out power to the village apparently) and so we can also attest that while small, room #6 was also completely spotless (and had a very nice, large queen-size bed). His location also cannot be beat--walk five steps and you're at the Harbor Cafe, walk two more and you're dining quite nicely at the Wine-Spectator award-winning Seasons. All in all, a great stay in a great little gem in Maine.

Room Tip: Call and speak with Barrett or check out his website, he has several different styles of rooms to su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I came into Stonington for the evening with my three children to attend an arts event at the opera house. I had booked a two bedroom "cottage" room at Boyce's in advance for a VERY reasonable price sight unseen...When we arrived it was an almost magical experience. The location was beautiful and peaceful. The cottage was equipped with anything we might nees including a washer/dryer, pots and pans, cable tv...There was a sweet deck with full table and umbrella for eating outside and the most lovely flower boxes. We could see the ocean from our own deck, plus Boyce's has the cutest little private deck across the street for guests. I would so come back, especially in the off season for peace and solitude.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rushmore45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I just had our first visit to Stonington but it won't be our last. I was a little skeptical when we first pulled up because the place looked a bit dive-y. Upon check-in, we were told we were being upgraded because our original reserved room had a non-working heater. So we ended up in Room 9 and for $100 we got 2 bedrooms, a full kitchen, washer & dryer, and living room, plus space for our dogs. Everything was clean and working. Dinner was at the Harbor Cafe two doors away, which seems to be a popular local hangout. Lobster is big business in Stonington and the Harbor Cafe had twin soft shell lobsters for $20 which includes 2 sides. Beat that!
Stonington is not a touristy place but if you're looking for a reasonably- priced motel across the street from the water, with a very accommodating innkeeper, Boyce's is it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank z3mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We ended up in Stonington and decided we would spend the night if we could find a room. We checked across the street from Boyce first at a bed and breakfast and a room was$250. I asked at Boyce Motel and he had one room left for $60. We looked at it and it was super clean and decided to stay. The manager gave me a list of things to do around the small island and the last thing said " please support our local fisherman and buy seafood from them". It said if you buy lobster and would like to have pans to cook them (for rooms with kitchens) or like for him to cook it he would. We took him up on it!! We picked out 2 two pound lobsters and he cooked them and brought them to us, with drawn butter, to our room! He has a private dock on the water where we planned to eat, but it was a little too cold so we ate in our room. It was great and this kind manager went out of his way to make us happy! It was a neat experience!

Room Tip: I didn't mean to choose terrible for restaurant. There was not one with the motel . There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The innkeeper is great. Very hospitable and goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable.

Our daughter lives close by and this was the perfect choice for a couple of nights.

The rooms are very clean and have everything you could want. We are not used to sleeping in a queen bed any more.

The bathroom had a shower, fluffy towels, soap, cups and shampoo. The office has a hair dryer - bring your own conditioner.

There is a small table and chairs, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker with coffee and teas, a tv, small sofa etc.

The best thing is that you are directly across from the ocean and can smell the sea salt air.

You can't get any closer to the ocean for less than $100 a night anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aml3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
20.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
388 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
320 reviews
20.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
132 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,387 reviews
21.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyce s Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyce s Motel

Address: 44 Main Street, Stonington, Deer Isle, ME 04681
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle > Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boyce's Motel is located in the heart of the quaint fishing village of Stonington. From our harbor side dock you can watch the lobstermen head out to sea early in the morning before the sun comes up to haul their lobster traps and then enjoy the afternoon soaking in the sun while watching the lobstermen return with their days catch. Stonington is the largest lobster port on the coast of Maine. Our beautiful island offers guests a great place to unwind and relax. There are day trips to Isle au Haut which is part of Acadia National Park, numerous hiking trails are scattered around the island, as are many beaches for beach combing. Boyce's is within walking distance of many restaurants and the Stonington Opera House. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boyce s Hotel Stonington
Boyce s Motel Stonington, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing