We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little motel!”
Review of Boyce s Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stonington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boyce s Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice little motel!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We enjoyed this motel because it fitted our needs perfectly; during our roadtrip we wanted to stay at local mom & pop motels of the 50's and 60's. Our room was located in a side street, not far from the harbor. We could park the cart nearby, on the private parking lot of the motel. The room was small, but clean and had a real 60's feel. The friendly owner gave us some information on local restaurants. He recommended the nearby Harbor café, where had the best fish & chips ever !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theJetsons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
56
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Boyce's Motel met all of our requirements. Clean,quiet, well appointed, at the heart of the town and good wifi (useful since cell phone connectivity has yet to reach Stonington). The well equipped kitchen was a bonus for us plus, of course, the cheery reception we got from Barratt our host.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris_Batt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We wanted a little out of the way place on the Maine coast and this is exactly what we found. A tiny little fishing village where lobster appears to be the prime livelihood of the inhabitants and most of which goes to the local restaurants. A small community that really promotes buying from themselves to ensure their livelihood. We enjoyed the quaint community. Our room was small but quaint and clean and faced the harbour where we could watch the boats and tide come in and out. They have a little patio across the street where you could sit and enjoy a glad of wine and watch the community go about their daily activities. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. We highly recommend this as a getaway for a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in room 2 of Boyce's motel for a quick getaway from the "big city" of Bath! It was Easter and my birthday and we were greeted by a little Easter basket with Lindt candies and a cheerful happy birthday banner! The proprietor couldn't be nicer - when the hot water heater failed for our part of the building (actually broke down - happens to all homeowners!) he apologized profusely and set us up in one of the apartments for our showers.

The room was immaculate, the bed was comfy and firm, and the price was something out of the last century. Plus it is 1/2 a block from a great breakfast restaurant. There were several cars in the lot when we were there, but I wasn't aware of any "neighbor noise." Not sure if that is the whole motel, or just magic room 2. It's true that Room 2 is right on the street if you don't want traffic noise, but you get a glimpse of the harbor in trade!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bathmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

-what more could you want in a motel? Super clean room, comfy beds, hot shower, friendly caring management, great location and a great price! We stayed over Christmas 2013 for two nights and were very, very pleased. Thanks Barrett for great stay and the candy filled Christmas stockings!

Room Tip: We were happy with our little room with two twin beds. Check website for room descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank appletonridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just in time to see Stonington with beautiful fall weather and to christen a brand-new mattress! Barrett was gracious, helpful and always available. The room, overlooking the harbor, was spotless and practically next door to the local cafe which serves fresh seafood right off the boat! Their deck right across the street is a great place to meditate upon the natural beauty! Definitely will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy40658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Enjoyed my fourth stay at Boyce's Motel last week. The cabin I stayed in was immaculate, thoughtfully appointed and cozy. I had a clear view of the working harbor and the granite islands, and was in the center of the village so I could walk around and enjoy the locale. The staff that take care of the rooms do an excellent job caring for the rooms and Barrett Gray leads the way as a gracious host. I left my favorite pillow behind and it arrived on my doorstep three days later. I was on a working vacation and Boyce's Motel offered a quiet, comfortable place to work in a vibrant authentic fishing community that I could explore on my breaks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gailfhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
18.9 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
310 reviews
19.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
218 reviews
20.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
22.4 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
199 reviews
19.2 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyce s Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyce s Motel

Property: Boyce s Motel
Address: 44 Main Street, Stonington, Deer Isle, ME 04681
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle > Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boyce's Motel is located in the heart of the quaint fishing village of Stonington. From our harbor side dock you can watch the lobstermen head out to sea early in the morning before the sun comes up to haul their lobster traps and then enjoy the afternoon soaking in the sun while watching the lobstermen return with their days catch. Stonington is the largest lobster port on the coast of Maine. Our beautiful island offers guests a great place to unwind and relax. There are day trips to Isle au Haut which is part of Acadia National Park, numerous hiking trails are scattered around the island, as are many beaches for beach combing. Boyce's is within walking distance of many restaurants and the Stonington Opera House. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boyce s Hotel Stonington
Boyce s Motel Stonington, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing