We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love to get away from it all, this is Heaven on earth.”
Review of Boyce s Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stonington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boyce s Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We have stayed at Boyce's every year when we go to Maine. Not fancy, but it doesn't need to be..everything you could possibly need is there. Adorable ,homey rooms, absolutely spotless. This year ,because more and more family want to come every year, we had the largest apt with 2 BR,LR, fully stocked kitchen for our lobster feasts( Barrett will even bring you large pots for cooking the lobster,), washer and dryer and front deck. Everything is within walking distance, a few cute shops, the fantastic Harbor Cafe 2 doors up and the harbor view and scenery is stunning. Barrett Gray, the inn keeper, is wonderful, very friendly and helpful and goes out of his way to make sure everything is running smoothly. He really makes you feel like his "guest". Can't wait til next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Boyce s Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

Don't hesitate to book a stay at Boyce's in Stonington, Maine. This exceptionally clean, friendly motel had all the ammenities without the frills. The price is unbelievable for the coast of Maine (not expensive). Our little apartment had everything we needed in the kitchen and a nice deck full of flowers overlooking the harbor across the street. The owner, Barrett Gray, was warm and friendly with accurate information of the area/places to go. Stonington is a beautiful working harbor town with a few art galleries and interesting shops. There are three excellent restaurants in town and a great Farmer's Market on Friday mornings. We will definitely stay at Boyce's again on our next trip to Maine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marriedinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

If you want a place to just kick back and relax, then Stonington is the place. And Boyce's is the place to stay. First of all, Stonington is almost at the end of the world -- it's on the tip of Deer Isle on Penobscot Bay, about 10 miles (the way the crow flies) south of Bar Harbor. It's a small lobster and artsy village. Boyce's is a throwback motel -- beds are comfortable without being 3 feet off the floor, closets may have a curtain rather than a door. There are a variety of rooms, some very small, others with a bedroom, living room, and kitchen. Every room is immaculate. Flower boxes brimming with well-kept flowers are outside each door. There's a private "dock" right on the water for Boyce's guests.

And it's in the center of town. Two doors down, the Harbor Cafe makes what I consider the best lobsta rolls I've ever eaten. A new upscale restaurant, Seasons, is across the street. And the "Opera House" is two blocks away. We watched the annual Shakespeare play there last week. A block the other way is the library, another restaurant, a grocery store and an ice cream shop. Art galleries and a couple of other shops complete the block.

Across the street is the lively harbor. Lobster boats and 2-masted sailboats come and go. What's best, you don't have to move your car to enjoy all this!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My family of 6 (3 teenage girls,my parents in their 70's, and myself) had 4 rooms for 1 night. We really like Stonington for the real Maine lobster fishing village feel and are repeat visitors. The Boyces Motel is a family owned small no frills motel of 12 or so rooms. The rooms are small but very, very clean and comfortable. They do have several rooms with kitchens and an apartment for families and longer stays. Off street parking right at the motel. The location can't be beat, right on the main street across the street from the harbor with viewing deck for guests. Barrett, the owner is great guy, he and his staff make you feel right at at home. Several good places to eat nearby like "The Fisherman's Friend" for seafood and lobsters . I would stay here again and recommend to anyone looking for that true Maine fishing village experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_nut_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Great value, great views of the harbour from our deck on Room 10 and service that wasn't expected for the price and in a Motel. Little things like both providing and refreshing complimentary coffee and bottled water aren't expected of a Motel in this price range. Couldn't be better located centrally in beautiful Stonington village. If you stay in one of the cheaper rooms without a private deck, you can still sit and watch the boats go by on the shared deck on the harbour shoreline across the road.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisetaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Just like most of the reviews said, this is a great find. We often stay in luxury hotels so we are picky. this small hotel had everything we needed and more that you'd expect for $80 per night. Bed was very comfortable. Room had TV, wireless internet, little coffee set up, fridge, etc. Booked room with queen bed, not facing main street - - - so nice a quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesdeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Stayed at this Boyce's on September 1st. Barrett, the owner, couldn't have been nicer and the place, although not "fancy", was just great! We had a 2-bedroom apartment with a living room and small kitchen. All the details were taken care of in the kitchen and we felt very comfortable. Would highly recommend Boyce's.

Note that Stonington is a very pretty harbor town - worth the long drive down the peninsula to get there!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarSeaLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
18.9 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
313 reviews
18.9 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
233 reviews
22.4 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
457 reviews
24.2 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
17.4 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyce s Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyce s Motel

Address: 44 Main Street, Stonington, Deer Isle, ME 04681
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle > Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boyce's Motel is located in the heart of the quaint fishing village of Stonington. From our harbor side dock you can watch the lobstermen head out to sea early in the morning before the sun comes up to haul their lobster traps and then enjoy the afternoon soaking in the sun while watching the lobstermen return with their days catch. Stonington is the largest lobster port on the coast of Maine. Our beautiful island offers guests a great place to unwind and relax. There are day trips to Isle au Haut which is part of Acadia National Park, numerous hiking trails are scattered around the island, as are many beaches for beach combing. Boyce's is within walking distance of many restaurants and the Stonington Opera House. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boyce s Hotel Stonington
Boyce s Motel Stonington, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing