We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute hidden jewel!”

Tranquillity Lodge Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquillity Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stratton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An absolute hidden jewel!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I were in the Carrabassett Valley for he weekend, and decided to roll further up the road to extend our weekend. We found the Tranquality Lodge. And we're we glad we found it. I was amazed at how his 1850s barn was totally transformed into a bed and breakfast. The post and beams were all fantastically left open, and all the old tools from the barn are tastefully hung throughout the lodge. An old horse drawn buggy is actually suspended from the ceiling. The original barn floors are spectacular! And the decor is most definitely country comfortable. And the lake.....ahhh the lake. You walk right out of the lodge, across a well maintained lawn, right down to a set of stairs into the lake. With the mountains all around it is a sight you really have to experiance. And I can not leave out the lodge owner, Melody. She was awesome! Couldn't do enough for us. She sat in the common area with us and told us many interesting stories about the lake. The only negative is that the town is small, and there isn't really anything to do. But, if your looking for a beautiful unique lodge, with a beautiful lake side location, this is most definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Squiggy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the Tranquility in for 3 nights. Our plan was to find a place to stay so we could hike the Bigelow Mountains and kayak in Flagstaff Lake, and the Tranquility Lodge ended up to be the perfect place. The lodge is right on the lake and you have the ability to put your kayak in right at the lodge. This was very convenient. Hiking was just a few miles away. Our host Melody was very nice and accommodating. The main room and the bedrooms were spotless. Coffee and tea were served in the morning. We were able to bring our grill down to the picnic tables near the lake and enjoy our dinner at the lake. The lake and the grounds were beautiful. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen03038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We spent two nights at Tranquility Lodge, one on each end of a backpacking trip. The Lodge, a restored barn, is full of charm, overlooking Flagstaff Lake. Melody, the proprietor, is very friendly and welcomed us warmly, including the kids. She gave us a tour of the Lodge, which has several common areas for guests, and related its history. She also gave us the low down on eating options in Stratton, which was particularly useful as they are rather limited. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. My husband and I shared one room with a view of the lake, while our teenage children shared another very nice room that had twin beds. The beds are very comfortable (a real treat after backpacking), the Lodge is quiet (TV watching is thankfully relegated to a common room downstairs) and we all slept well. Coffee/tea/hot cocoa are provided in the morning, although it would be nice to have the option for breakfast as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank backpackingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We located this inn on the internet at the last minute and were thrilled with what we found - a post and beam barn that had been converted to a lovely eight room inn with frontage on Flagstaff Lake. Our room was spacious(as was the common area), faced the lake, had a great view, and was nicely decorated, and the innkeepers were warm and friendly. The inn was only 10 minutes from Sugarloaf (where we skied in a foot of new snow, yay!). In the summer/fall, it looked like there would be some great canoeing and hiking in the area. We ate one night at the nearby White Wolf Inn and thought the food was very good (try the cream of fiddlehead soup).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostonwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

Stayed a few days at the Tranquillity Inn while my husband was section hiking on the Appalachian trail. It's just outside of the small town of Stratton, Maine. Overlooks Flagstaff Lake. Inn was immaculately clean, in part because you have to remove your shoes when you go inside! Rooms were small, but niceley decorated, and beds were comfortable. Rates were very reasonable, and breakfast was available. (which we did not take advantage of) Several good places to eat in Stratton, including the Stratton Diner. Trails End, which is a few miles outside of town was excellent. Would definately recommend the Tranquillity Inn, and will stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank JTDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratton
18.3 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
7.3 mi away
Nestlewood Inn
Nestlewood Inn
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Inn on Winter' Hill
The Inn on Winter' Hill
#1 of 2 in Kingfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquillity Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquillity Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tranquillity Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: RT 27, Stratton, ME 04982
Region: United States > Maine > Stratton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stratton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 150 year old barn on Flagstaff Lake and the Northern Forest Canoe Trail. Continental plus breakfast. Eight rooms with private baths. Lake access to snowmobile trails. FREE WI-FI ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquillity Lodge Bed And Breakfast Maine/Stratton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing