We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming pub that has it all”
Review of The Lazy Toad Inn

The Lazy Toad Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming pub that has it all”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Went for lunch after reading other reviews and was not dissapointed. The owners seem to have got it just right.Worked up an appetite down by the river before lunch. The friendly staff, ambiance and setting put us in a good mood. We had some great Ruby Red Devon beef with homegrown vegetables presented beautifully followed by gorgeous puds, hazlenut meringue with chocolate mousse and lavender panacotta all washed down with some local wine. Shame we've only just discovered it, we will certainly be back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank brunoise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    88
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales,Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very nice to eat”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had lovely meals. A nice table was ready for us but the propietor said I had cancelled my booking according to his wife. This of course was not the case and these lovely people looked after us wonderfully. Plenty of parking at the rear, situated in a nice little village. Truely a great place to eat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in pub with friendly service”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Although a pub this place tends to concentrate on the food with the bar being a minor part.

Excellent food - even for vegetarians - in a friendly setting

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really really nice food”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We visited the Lazy Toad on a Saturday night and we hadn't been before (went on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews - seems to be how I make my eating out decisions these days!). We got a taxi to Brampford Speke from Exeter and it took 15 mins and cost £8. Staff were exceptionally friendly, made an effort to find out first names and remembered them. Service was prompt and efficient except towards the end of the evening when we had to wait a while for coffee orders. Food was delicious (mushroom pate to start was particularly fine) and the prices reflect the high quality of the food presented, although this place is still not restrictingly expensive by any means. My only small issue with the menu is the same issue I have with a number of restaurants - if you are a vegetarian the main course is often limited to risotto and/or some sort of pasta ( tho thankfully not a nut roast in sight wohooo).

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank PhysioDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“June Lunch”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Read lots about this pub. Good food and great atmosphere and made to feel very welcome - will def be back

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaeldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lazy Toad Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Toad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing