We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all pub food was this good!”
Review of The Lazy Toad Inn

The Lazy Toad Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Guildford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If only all pub food was this good!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Never fails to impress lovely food and atmosphere. Proper local food and daily changing specials, good choice of wines.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chornayakoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    91
    28
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We eat here quite often, 4 or 5 times a year. The welcome, service and food is always excellent and we always have a good meal. It is really so close to Exeter that it is very convenient and taxi's do not cost the earth unless you are on the other side of Exeter (this is NW of Exeter).
We nearly always choose here for special meals out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a wonderful evening at The Lazy Toad last Saturday. Booked Friday lunchtime and they only very early evening or after 8.30 times available so recommend you plan and book as early as possible. The food was very good and there was a busy, lively country pub atmosphere, especially welcome on a bleak wet night. One member of our party said it was the best belly pork he had ever had! Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnonExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food and overnight stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a lovely inn just 10 minutes out of Exeter. Although there was limited vegetarian options, the food we had was delicious, with generous sized portions. Desserts were fab! We stayed overnight at the inn -accommodation was very nice and the breakfast delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Night Out”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

There was four in our party who have visited this restaurant several times. The owners take great pains to ensure that everyone is address by their first name in order to ensure a very friendly welcome throughout the whole duration of the visit. It is strongly recommended that a booking is made beforehand as the tables are very quickly snapped up due to the locally sourced menu. The service is very good, the food excellent and well presented.

Having dined there several times we have now tried all the menu selection and perhaps if any criticism were made it would be to vary the menu periodically. Having said that, a throroughly recommended restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lazy Toad Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Toad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing