We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant pub lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lazy Toad Inn

The Lazy Toad Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant pub lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Friends arranged a nice Saturday pub lunch out at this traditional country pub. Great service, welcoming landlord. Good introduction to the local ales on tap, and a varied menu made this a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsionthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    88
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had Sunday Lunch - as we have in the past. There are loads of cheap carvery places in the world, then there are restaurants who do a proper Sunday lunch. Both have their price point and place. But I just love having what feels like something rather special that quietens all your diners. We shared a stunning pressed lamb starter with cold crushed minted peas and asparagus. Presented an a slate, befitting of the ingredients, and sumptuously fulfilling. It looked a little like anything you would see in the later stages of Masterchef. Beef - we both had the roast - and it is not ordinary. Devon Ruby Red, locally sourced, medium rare (as it should be!), with all the bits you would expect. We shard a baked cheesecake for pudding, and finished ith some excellent coffee. We will return very so only! As long as not everyone finds out about the place. I don't want you all taking up the reservations!
Phil Hawthorn

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

decided to go for evening meal,last minute decision no problem getting a table realised why
twice after eating and when the bill arrived

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank john F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelazytoadinn, Owner at The Lazy Toad Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Suspicious review!!! Have contacted above reviewer through tripadvisor to see what, if anything they had and what was wrong. No reply. Genuine people tend to put you in the picture and give you feedback through our management page.Have recently had two other suspicious reviews which tripadvisor told us violated their guidelines and removed....any connection???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just spent an absolutely super weekend here. One of the nicest meals I have ever enjoyed anywhere. Very comfortable spacious room and no UHT milk in sight. ( My sort of place). Lovely touches; home baked biscuits; thermos of fresh milk. Will definitely visit again. Thanks so much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 489MaryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Lazy Toad is quite close to Exeter but travel along the country lanes and you are in the country. Peace and quiet. Today was our first visit and we had pre booked for Mothers Day lunch. We were greeted like old friends and shown to our table. The menu is very interesting and full of temptation. We opted for the Devon Ruby Sunday roast. The beef was perfect. Beautifully pink and melt in the mouth. Vegetables were just right and the Yorkshire puddings were the best I've had. I was able to have a small portion which was perfect. There were some wonderful desserts. I couldn't manage more than ice cream but it was wonderful ice cream served with a perfect crisp biscuit. Excellent wine choice. The sofa and rocking chair by the log fire looked so tempting. The large toad on the bar is FAB. There is a delightful courtyard. I honestly cannot think of anything that would have made our first visit to The Lazy Toad any more enjoyable. Can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lazy Toad Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Toad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing