We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the New Management!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The East Wind Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenants Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The East Wind Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the New Management!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Loved the old management for all the years we have traveled to this sweet old inn, but this year we experienced absolutely DELICIOUS complimentary breakfasts including Lobster Benedict (I'm not kidding) and lovely refurbished rooms.

Everything has been beautifully improved without losing the incredible magic of this picturesque and quaint, old inn. A marvelous push off point for the trip to Mohegan.

Room Tip: I took the lower priced room and was delighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisF48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here in June and enjoyed a really wonderful weekend there
the owner was very accommodating and assisted us- we had made a booking error on line and he was more than willing to work with us to ensure that all was right.

The hotel has been complete remodeled key words would be light and clean

Breakfast in the dining room was awesome, perfect sunday morning breakfast where we lingered over coffee and the paper.
Our visit was very restful and easy- key for our vacation

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBC-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Beautiful Tenant's Harbor location has always made us return to this inn, but the newly renovated rooms make the East Wind Inn's rooms as lovely as her views. Wonderful breakfast and friendly staff made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormymidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

EWI is under new ownership, and has undergone extensive renovations that have only improved Maine perfection! The porch chairs still overlook lovely Tenants Harbor, while the inside has been brought up to 21st century, with its Maine flavor. Inn rooms and bathrooms have been nicely renovated. Where else can you gaze on the harbor with your head resting on the pillow? The breakfasts were delicious and fresh from scratch. The new exec chef,Colin, is doing wonderful things in the Inn's dining room. His dinners are excellent and well prepared. No need to visit other premier restaurants in the area when EWI Wan-E-Set is in the Inn! My husband and I are long time guests and will continue to stay here whenever we can.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

A group of four of us found ourselves, unexpectedly, in Tenants Harbor. We came in by boat and did not have accommodations. We were very pleasantly surprised by what we found.

The owner / manager of the Inn found us accommodations, recommended an appropriately casual place within walking distance for dinner (after 12 hours on the water the restaurant, while lovely looking, appeared a little more formal than what we were prepared for). The rooms were simple, immaculately clean, and very comfortable. Our rooms included breakfast, which we enjoyed the next morning-- the food was delicious. It also gave us an opportunity to enjoy the spectacular harbor views from the porch and dining room.

If you are looking for an Inn, from which to enjoy beautiful Tenants Harbor, with great food and warm hospitality, this is your spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

...and loved every bite! We did not stay at the inn but if the food is any indication of the quality of the hotel, this place is a winner. Chef Colin Hatfield, a young chef on the way up, plated a wonderful dining experience for all 4 of us. I recommend the lobster cakes to start - they were light and tasty. The simple but nicely done entrees that we had were all wonderful. Enjoyed his chocolate mousse for dessert. Randy Deutsch, the new owner was gracious and informative about his plans, particularly regarding the new tavern he will open soon - it sounds like a fun place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenants Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

An exciting transformation is taking place at the East Wind Inn in Tenants Harbor, Maine! The Inn and restaurant has been updated and redecorated. Rooms expanded, new furniture, new restaurant plus an expanded tavern in the basement is under construction. Through all the renovations the Inn still maintains an authentic Maine feel in this wonderful fishing village. My family loves the place! Awesome breakfast, a new chef and the Inn is now serving dinner again. The new staff and owner are gracious, friendly and wonderful hosts. We were friends with the former owner Tim Watts who passed away and I know he would be pleased with the passion and commitment of the new owner Randy Deutsch. The East Wind Inn is our favorite inn along the coast of Maine and a great place to experience the real Maine! Lots to do in the area or just sit on the porch and take in the most incredible view in all of Maine!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainDave1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenants Harbor
10.5 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
13.4 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
17.2 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.1 mi away
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The East Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The East Wind Inn

Property: The East Wind Inn
Address: 21 Mechanic Street, Tenants Harbor, ME 04860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Tenants Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tenants Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wind Inn consists of two historical buildings, the main inn building, built in 1860 and the Meeting House building built in the late 1800s as a sea captain's mansion. The main inn building houses 8 suites, our reception area, living room, restaurant and tavern. The Inn is located on the waterfront in beautiful Tenants Harbor, an authentic rural Maine fishing harbor. The inn has a large lawn area available for group events or just sitting and enjoying the view or painting the landscape. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing